Research Guides: Academic Databases: Reference sources

Introduction

Reference works are publications that are not read consecutively from cover to cover but may be consulted for a specidfic piece of information. They may be dictionaries, encyclopedia, handbooks etc.

University of Ghana has access to a few online reference sources that you may consult anytime anywhere. They are listed on this page.

List of Reference Sources

Encyclopedia Britannica (academic edition) This link opens in a new window
Explore the updated online encyclopedia from Encyclopaedia Britannica with hundreds of thousands of articles, biographies, videos, images, and web sites.
Merriam-Webster This link opens in a new window
Use this site to find meanings of words you do not know and much more.
Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new window
Oxford reference Online This link opens in a new window
Dictionaries and encyclopedia in all subjects. Offers full text.
Sage Research Methods Online This link opens in a new window
A research methods tool created to help researchers, faculty and students with their research projects. Researchers can explore methods concepts to help them design research projects, understand particular methods or identify a new method, conduct their research, and write up their findings. Focuses on methodology rather than disciplines so can be used across the social sciences, health sciences, and more.

Subject Guide

Theodosia Adanu

Email Me

Contact:

College of Health Sciences Library (First Floor Room 6)
Charles Easmon Building -Korle Bu

0244659837; IP Phone; 7431