This is the "Organizing your Library & Attaching Files" page of the "Citation Management using Zotero" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Citation Management using Zotero   Tags: citation_management, collaboration, learn, research, research_methods, tools, zotero  

"Zotero [zoh-TAIR-oh] is a free, easy-to-use Firefox extension to help you collect, manage, and cite your research sources. It lives right where you do your work—in the web browser itself."
Last Updated: Jan 27, 2017 URL: http://libguides.ug.edu.gh/zotero Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Organizing your Library & Attaching Files Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Organize your Library

To open your library, click the Zotero button at the bottom righthand side of your browser.

At the top left is a folder button with a green plus sign. Click this to create a new "collection."

Create collections to organize your references just like iTunes.

    Collections are similar to file folders on your computer; however, in Zotero a reference can be in more than one collection at a time. For example, an article about Virginia Woolf could be filed in your "Women and Writing" collection, your "British Authors" collection, and your "Woolf" collection without having to make multiple copies.

     

    Info, Notes, Tags, and Related

    The far right hand side of your Zotero library is where you can see the bibliographic information Zotero has collected.

     

    If you click on <Info> you will see all the bibliographic information Zotero has automatically downloaded.

     

    By clicking on any field you can change the information or add to it.

     

     

    Notes allows you to attach notes to your records, how the reference seemed important to your research.

     

    Tags allow you to tag records throughout your Zotero Library with key words that allow you to find what you need in your Zotero Library.

     

    Related allows you to link items in your collection. (FOR EXSAMPLE: a screen shot with an added record)

     

    Screen Shot

    Screen Shots are a great way to anotate your bibliography.

    When you have slected the Info of your record you have an option to <View Snapshot> or <Locate>:

    <Locate> will locate the original web page that your citation was dowloaded from.

    * This does not alwasy work if you have dowloaded the citation from a library database and you are not logged into the library proxy.

    <View Snapshot> will open up a screen shot of the web page.

    The address bar will read "Zotero attatchment" explaining that the doument you are viewing is a Zotero generated document. You can then highlight and make notes on this document with the tools that will appear in the right hand corner of the Zotero document.

     

    How to Attach Files

    To attach items in your zotero library you must change your Zotero settings.

    The gear button will open up your settings:

    Make sure the "Automatically attach PDF's" button is checked.

    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip