This is the "UG Titles" page of the "Public Health " guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Public Health  

The guide is to support teaching, learning and research in Public Health
Last Updated: Jul 29, 2016 URL: http://libguides.ug.edu.gh/Public_Health Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

UG Titles Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Search Online Catalogue (UGCat)

The UGCat lists books and theses in the libraries.

 

Search UGSpace

UGSpace is an open access electronic archive for the collection, preservation and distribution of digital materials.

 

Google Scholar Search

 

Selected titles in the UGCat

Cover Art
Health Program Planning and Evaluation - L. Michele Issel
Call Number: RA394.9 Is7
ISBN: 9781284021042
Publication Date: 2013-02-04
In this revision of Health Program Planning and Evaluation, author L. Michele Issel carefully walks the reader through the process for developing, implementing, and evaluating successful community health promotion programs. Featuring reader-friendly, accessible language and practical tools and concepts, this outstanding resource prepares students and professionals to become savvy consumers of evaluation reports and prudent users of evaluation consultants. The Third Edition reflects the major changes in the field of community health with updated examples and references throughout. New to this Edition:* New examples and references throughout the book; * New key references to reflect the major changes within the field.* New examples and issues related to global health planning and evaluation* New material about information systems and web-based technology as it applies throughout the planning and evaluation cycle.* New, basic review of the ACA.* Enhanced information related to financing programs and monitoring the program costs* Updated instructor's manual

Cover Art
National Health Systems of the World - Countries - Milton I. Roemer
Call Number: RA393.R62
ISBN: 0195053206
Publication Date: 1991-03-21
This pioneering work is the first comprehensive account of national health systems throughout the world today. The author analyzes the organization, financing, management, and delivery of health services in 68 countries with widely diverse levels of economic development and political ideology. Topics examined include system planning, manpower development, hospital operations, health insurance, cost containment, prevention programs, quality controls, primary care, regionalization, privatization, and more. The work clarifies the similarities and differences with which nations have responded to the health and medical needs of their people, offering historical backgrounds and explanations of the current dynamics prevailing in each country. It will enable the health problems of any single country to be understood with a fresh perspective provided by the strategies used elsewhere to cope with similar situations. This in-depth study is the product of a uniquely rich research career and represents the author's first-hand experience working in the great majority of the countries described. Volume II, scheduled for publication in 1993, will analyze health system components and issues.

Medical Systems in Ghana:A study in Medical Sociology - Twumasi, P.A.
Call Number: RA.418.3 G4 T94
Publication Date: 1975
xvii, 146 p.
Social Medicine - Ghana
Traditional Medicine - Ghana

Cover Art
A Dictionary of Health Care: understanding Health Care - Esena, R.K.
Call Number: RA8.A2 Es2
ISBN: 9789988149925
Publication Date: 2011
vii, 569 p.
Medical care, Dictionaries

Cover Art
Management - Richard L. Daft
Call Number: HD31. daf
ISBN: 0030259673
Publication Date: 2000-01-01
Richard L. Daft is the Brownlee O. Currey, Jr., Professor of Management in the Owen Graduate School of Management at Vanderbilt University.

Cover Art
Health psychology : biopsychosocial interactions - Edward P. Sarafino, Marie L. Caltabiano, Don Byrne
Call Number: R726.7 C13
ISBN: 9780470813454
Publication Date: 2008.
xviii, 758 p. : ill. ; 26 cm.
Note Previous ed.: 2002.
Authors are in different order on cover.
Bibliography:Includes bibliographical references and index.

Cover Art
Health Psychology - Jane Ogden
Call Number: R726.7 Og2
ISBN: 0335222633
Publication Date: 2007-06-01
This fourth edition incorporates a number of substantive new topics, including a new chapter on women's health, as well as opportunities for the reader to critically examine key conceptual and methodological issues within each chapter. It remains clearly written and highly accessible and still deserves its place as the number one choice of health psychology textbook. – John Weinman, King’s College, London The market leading textbook in the field,Health Psychologyby Jane Ogden is essential reading for all students and researchers of health psychology. It will also be invaluable to students of medicine, nursing and allied health.

Cover Art
Culture, Health and Illness - Cecil G. Helman
Call Number: GN296. H37
ISBN: 9780340914502
Publication Date: 2007-03-22
Culture, Health and Illness is the leading international textbook on the role of cultural and social factors in health, illness, and medical care. Since first published in 1984, it has been used in more than forty countries, in universities, medical schools, and nursing colleges. This new edition meets the ever-growing need for a clear starting point in understanding the clinical significance of cultural and social factors. Addressing the complex interactions between health, illness, and culture, this unique text sets out anthropological theory in a highly readable, jargon-free style and integrates it with the practice of health care using real-life examples and case histories. Features: * Addresses current concerns about the multicultural context of health care * Well supported by empirical examples and case studies from more than ninety countries * New coverage of poverty and inequality of health care, genetics, telemedicine, migration medicine, HIV/AIDS, obesity and malnutrition, and developments in medical technology * Features a free companion website that includes extensive additional material and printable clinical questionnaires: www.culturehealthandillness.com *


Cover Art
Basic Environmental Health - Annalee Yassi; Tord Kjellström; Theo de Kok; Tee L. Guidotti
Call Number: RA565. B29
ISBN: 019513558X
Publication Date: 2001-03-29
This comprehensive interdisciplinary text draws from the social sciences, the natural sciences and the health sciences to introduce students to the principles and methods applied in environmental health. It presents an overview of the basic sciences needed to understand environmental healthhazards, including toxicology, microbiology, health physics, injury analysis and relevant psychosocial concepts. It also presents a basic approach to risk assessment and risk management. The first part of the book concentrates on broad issues, providing frameworks for the investigation andmanagement of environmental health problems. The middle section deepens the discussion of routes of exposure (air quality, water and sanitation, food and agricultural issues). The final section addresses environmental health from sustainable development themes (settlements and urbanization, energy,industry, and global concerns). The final chapter focuses on ethical issues and action planning. Thus, the text aims to enhance knowledge, skills and attitudes in environmental health.

Cover Art
Principles and Foundations of Health Promotion and Education - Randall R. Cottrell; James T. Girvan; James F. McKenzie
Call Number: RA440.5 C82
ISBN: 032153235X
Publication Date: 2008-02-19
The Fourth Edition of Principles and Foundations connects you to research, resources and practitioners in health education while providing a solid foundation in the history, philosophy, theory, and ethics of health education. A Background for the Profession,The History of Health and Health Education, Philosophical Foundations, Theoretical Foundations, Ethics and Health Education, The Health Educator: Roles, Responsibilities, Certifications, Advanced Study, The Settings for Health Education, Gencies/Associations/ Organizations Associated with Health Education, The Literature of Health Education, Future Trends in Health Education.Intended for those interested in learning the basics of health promotion & education.

Cover Art
Social Marketing - Philip Kotler; Nancy R. Lee
Call Number: HF5414.K84
ISBN: 1412956471
Publication Date: 2007-12-17
A systematic guide for the planning and implementation of programs designed to bring about social change Social Marketing, Third Edition, is a valuable resource that uses concepts from commercial marketing to influence social action. It provides a solid foundation of fundamental marketing principles and techniques then expands on them to illustrate principles and techniques specific to practitioners and agencies with missions to enhance public health, prevent injuries, protect the environment, and motivate community involvement. New to the Third Edition Features many updated cases and includes current marketing and research highlights Increases focus on international cases and examples Provides updated theory and principles throughout Intended Audience: Recognized as the definitive textbook on Social Marketing for students majoring in public health, public administration, public affairs, environmental studies, and business, this book also serves as an ongoing reference and resource for practitioners.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip