This is the "UG Titles" page of the "Marine and Fisheries Sciences" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Marine and Fisheries Sciences   Tags: endnote web, marine science, ocean science, oceonography, research  

A guide to resources in Marine and Fisheries Sciences, to aid teaching, learning and research
Last Updated: Nov 12, 2014 URL: http://libguides.ug.edu.gh/content.php?pid=422262 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

UG Titles Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Selected Books on Marine and Fisheries Sciences

All titles are available in the University of Ghana Library System. Look them up in the UGCat for location and call no.

Cover Art
Introduction to Physical Oceanography - John A. Knauss
Call Number: GC11 .K72
ISBN: 1577664299
Publication Date: 2005-11-01
"Physical oceanography" encompasses a broad range of subjects, from heat transfer to sound and optics. Knauss brings all these disparate fields together in this comprehensive text. He strikes a balance between purely descriptive texts and mathematically rigorous ones, assuming readers only have knowledge of elementary calculus and physics. This results in a straightforward, readable book that makes the material accessible both to readers specializing in physical oceanography and those from other disciplines who need to understand the fundamental principles of physical oceanography.

Cover Art
Fisheries Ecology and Management - Carl J. Walters; Steven J. D. Martell
Call Number: SH328 .F53
ISBN: 0691115451
Publication Date: 2004-11-07
Quantitative modeling methods have become a central tool in the management of harvested fish populations. This book examines how these modeling methods work, why they sometimes fail, and how they might be improved by incorporating larger ecological interactions. Fisheries Ecology and Management provides a broad introduction to the concepts and quantitative models needed to successfully manage fisheries.

Walters and Martell develop models that account for key ecological dynamics such as trophic interactions, food webs, multi-species dynamics, risk-avoidance behavior, habitat selection and density-dependence. They treat fisheries policy development as a two-stage process, first identifying strategies for varying harvest in relation to changes in abundance, then finding ways to implement such strategies in terms of monitoring and regulatory procedures. This book provides a general framework for developing assessment models in terms of state-observation dynamics hypotheses, and points out that most fisheries assessment failures have been due to inappropriate observation model hypotheses rather than faulty models for ecological dynamics.

Intended as a text in upper division and graduate classes on fisheries assessment and management, this useful guide will also be widely read by ecologists and fisheries scientists.

Cover Art
Marine Fisheries Ecology - Simon Jennings; John D. Reynolds; Michel J. Kaiser
Call Number: SH328 .J44
ISBN: 0632050985
Publication Date: 2001-03-30
This topical and exciting textbook describes fisheries exploitation, biology, conservation and management, and reflects many recent and important changes in fisheries science. These include growing concerns about the environmental impacts of fisheries, the role of ecological interactions in determining population dynamics, and the incorporation of uncertainty and precautionary principles into management advice. The book draws upon examples from tropical, temperate and polar environments, and provides readers with a broad understanding of the biological, economic and social aspects of fisheries ecology and the interplay between them. As well as covering 'classical' fisheries science, the book focuses on contemporary issues such as industrial fishing, poverty and conflict in fishing communities, marine reserves, the effects of fishing on coral reefs and by-catches of mammals, seabirds and reptiles. The book is primarily written for students of fisheries science and marine ecology, but should also appeal to practicing fisheries scientists and those interested in conservation and the impacts of humans on the marine environment.

* particularly useful are the modelling chapters which explain the difficult maths involved in a user-friendly manner
* describes fisheries exploitation, conservation and management in tropical, temperate and polar environments
* broad coverage of 'classical' fisheries science
* emphasis on new approaches to fisheries science and the ecosystem effects of fishing
* examples based on the latest research and drawn from authors' international experience
* comprehensively referenced throughout
* extensively illustrated with photographs and line drawings

Biology of Freshwater Pollution - C. F. Mason
Call Number: QH545.W3 M38
ISBN: 0470216980
Publication Date: 1991-08-01
The pollution of rivers and lakes is of concern because of the threat to public water supplied and because of the damage caused to natural ecosystems. Waterborne diseases remain rife in the Third World, while in developed countries there has been a decline in the quality of water. It has also become apparent that pollutants may destroy ecosystems hundreds of miles from their source. Some of these toxic materials such as lead and PCBs also pose threats to public health. This text describes the sources of various types of pollutants, their effects on aquatic organisms, ecosystems and man, using case histories where appropriate. Ways of mitigating the effects of pollutants by control and ecosystem manipulation are described. Techniques for assessing the effects of pollution, both in field and laboratory, are introduced. The role of the biologist in pollution assessment and control and in the wider sphere of mangement of acquatic resources is also examined.

Cover Art
Freshwater Ecology - Walter K. Dodds; Matt R. Whiles
Call Number: QH541.5.F7 D66
ISBN: 9780123747242
Publication Date: 2010-09-23
The Second Edition of Freshwater Ecology is broad, up-to-date treatment of everything from the basic chemical and physical properties of water to advanced unifying concepts of the community ecology and ecosystem relationships as found in continental waters. With 40% new and expanded coverage, this text covers applied and basic aspects of limnology, now with more emphasis on wetlands and reservoirs than in the previous edition. The authors take a synthetic approach to ecological problems, teaching students how to handle the challenges faced by contemporary aquatic scientists. New to this edition: 80 new and updated figures, including a section of color plates 2 new chapters and expanded coverage throughout 500 new and updated references Expanded revision of Dodds' successful text. New boxed sections provide more advanced material within the introductory, modular format of the first edition. Basic scientific concepts and environmental applications featured throughout. Added coverage of climate change, ecosystem function, hypertrophic habitats and secondary production. Expanded coverage of physical limnology, groundwater and wetland habitats.  Expanded coverage of the toxic effects of pharmaceuticals and endocrine disrupters as freshwater pollutants More on aquatic invertebrates, with more images and pictures of a broader range of organisms Expanded coverage of the functional roles of filterer feeding, scraping, and shredding organisms, and a new section on omnivores. Expanded appendix on standard statistical techniques. Supporting website with figures and tables - http://www.elsevierdirect.com/companion.jsp?ISBN=9780123747242

Cover Art
Fish Nutrition in Aquaculture - Sena S. De Silva; Trevor A. Anderson
Call Number: SH156 .D46
ISBN: 041255030X
Publication Date: 1994-11-30
Aquaculture is a growing industry. A vital component of the subject is feeding the organisms under cultivation. This book provides a thorough review of the scientific basis and applied aspects of fish nutrition in a user-friendly format. It will be of great use to individuals working or training in the industry, and to fish feed manufacturing personnel.

Cover Art
Marine Biology - Jeffrey S. Levinton
Call Number: QH91 .L57
ISBN: 9780195141726
Publication Date: 2001-03-01
This new and revised second edition of Jeffrey S. Levinton's Marine Biology: Function, Biodiversity, Ecology promises to be as fascinating and informative as the first, with additions that bring it up-to-date on current research issues. Designed for one-semester junior/senior courses, thisestablished volume stands as one of the most current and thorough resources for students in the multidisciplinary field of marine biology. The new edition includes significantly expanded coverage of marine mammals and hypothesis testing and offers entirely new sections on subtidal rocky reefs,metapopulations, marine invasions, marine protected areas and no-take fishery zones, and molecular approaches to marine biology and fisheries. It emphasizes the relationship of the functional ecology of organisms to higher levels of organization, including major marine habitats and ecosystems. Iteffectively describes a variety of current research areas, conveying the dynamic range of activity in the field, and uses "Hot Topics" Essays to teach students that scientific study is an active and ongoing process. Complementing the text are a wealth of pedagogical features including: * 32 full-color plates * Expanded text boxes that highlight important and current research topics * A self-test keyed to the chapters and bound into the back of the book * The CD-ROM, "Marine Biology Explorations." This in-text CD takes students on a guided tour of marine environments and animals with approximately 450 full-color photographs and illustrations, annotated with informative descriptions. Images are from both the Atlantic and Pacific coasts of NorthAmerica, Europe, Australia, and Antarctica. Each subject area allows students to wander in new environments and encounter new organisms and ecological features. * A Website maintained by the author: http://life.bio.sunysb.edu/marinebio/mbweb.html. This useful website provides links to other sites such as college marine biology programs, careers and jobs in marine biology and oceanography, reference sites, organism pages, marine biology researchliterature, and worldwide marine laboratories. * Ancillary PowerPointRG Overheads. These elaborate overheads include most of the pictures from the text and are available free to adopters on a CD-ROM (call 1-800-280-0280) or from the Internet: http://www.oup-usa.org/isbn/0195141725.html. * An associated laboratory manual: Exploring Marine Biology by Paul Haefner. This book is the only manual of its kind with exercises that apply to all of the diverse marine habitats of North America. It meets the needs of any beginning marine biology student with little to no background in thebiological sciences. Each unit includes a broad range of exercises, allowing instructors to select those that best match their needs. The manual is also unique in providing extensively illustrated identification keys for three of the major marine lifeforms: invertebrates, plankton, and fishes. 1996 272pp.; 101 illus. 0-19-51417-7 paper APS HAEFN

Biological Oceanography - Carol M. Lalli (Contribution by)
Call Number: QH91 .L15
ISBN: 0750627425
Publication Date: 1993-01-01
The comprehensive coverage of this book encompasses the properties of seawater which affect life in the ocean, classification of marine environments and organisms, phytoplankton and zooplankton, marine food webs, larger marine animals (marine mammals, seabirds and fish), life on the seafloor, and the way in which humans affect marine ecosystems. The second edition has been thoroughly updated, including much data available for the first time in a book at this level. There is also a new chapter on human impacts - from harvesting vast amounts of fish, pollution, and deliberately or accidentally transferring marine organisms to new environments. This book complements the Open University Oceanography Series, also published by Butterworth-Heinemann, and is a set text for the Open University third level course, S330. A leading undergraduate textNew chapter on human impacts - a highly topical subjectExpanded colour plate section

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Theodosia Adanu
Contact Info
Senior Assistant Librarian, Electronic Resources
1st Floor, East Wing
Balme Library
University of Ghana
Legon

IP Phone: 3136
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip