This is the "Journal databases" page of the "Academic Databases" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Academic Databases   Tags: articles, databases, ebooks, open access, research4life, scopus, tutorials  

Your guide to research databases
Last Updated: Oct 20, 2015 URL: http://libguides.ug.edu.gh/academic_databases Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Journal databases Print Page
  Search: 
 

Alphabetical list of databases/journals A-H

  • Academic Search Complete (Ebsco host)  
      
    Multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals.
  • ACM Digital Library
    Provides access to full text of every article ever published by ACM and bibliographic citations from major publishers in computing.
  • Aluka  
      
    An international, collaborative initiative building an online digital library of scholarly resources from and about Africa.
  • American Institute of Physics Journals  
      
    Full text access to 12 journals, two magazines, and a conference proceedings series on applied and multi-disciplinary physics.
  • American Physical Society (APS) Journals  
      
    Provides full text searching of all journals.
  • BioOne Online Journals  
      
    Provides full text access to critical, peer-reviewed research in the biological, ecological, and environmental sciences.
  • British Institute of Radiology (BIR) Publications  
      
    BIR publications is the publishing arm of the British Institute of Radiology (BIR), publishing books and journals covering all aspects of radiology, radiation oncology, medical physics and the underpinning sciences.
  • Business Source Complete (Ebsco host)  
      
    Scholarly business database, providing a collection of bibliographic and full text content.
  • Cambridge Journals Online
    A multi-disciplinary database with full text access to journal articles dating back in most cases to 2005.
  • CINAHL Complete
    The world’s most comprehensive source of full-text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 1,300 journals indexed in CINAHL. It is the definitive research tool for all areas of nursing & allied health literature.
  • Clinical Medicine
    Clinical Medicine is the journal of the Royal College of Physicians. Provides full text.
  • Cochrane Library  
      
    An internationally acclaimed database of regularly updated evidence-based medical systematic reviews.
  • Edinburgh University Press Journals
    Edinburgh University Press is the premier Scottish publisher of academic books and journals and publishes over 30 full-text electronic journals across a range of disciplines in the humanities and social sciences. Full text to articles provided.
  • Education Research Complete (Ebsco host)  
      
    Provides indexing and abstracts for more than 2,100 journals, as well as full text for more than 1,200 journals, and includes full text for nearly 500 books and monographs.
  • Emerald  
      
  • GreenFile  
      
    A.collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles covering global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. Provides indexing and abstracts for most records and Open Access full text for others.
  • Health Source: Consumer Edition  
      
    Provides information on many health topics and access to nearly 80 full text, consumer health magazines.
  • Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition  
      
    Provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines.
  • HeinOnline  
      
    Research product with more than 90 million pages of legal history available in an online, fully-searchable, image-based format.
  • Henry Stewart Talks (HST) Online Collections
    Over 2,000 online seminars by leading world experts, covering biomedicine, life sciences, management, marketing, finance and many more topics.
  • Humanities International Complete (Ebscohost)  
      
    Provides full text of hundreds of journals, books and other published sources from around the world.
 

Introduction

Academic databases are databases that consist of peer-reviewed journals and/or E-books. Content in these databases may be accessed by entering a keyword or the author's surname or the title of the item in the search box provided. You may browse these databases by title or subject/discipline/topic 

Each database listed will have a short description about subjects/topics covered by the database including whether it provides fulltext access or not.

This list of databases is limited to those that University of Ghana subscribes to. Access to these databases are available to you while you are on campus or away from campus when you register and sign up for off-campus access

If there's a database not listed that you think will be useful you may suggest it for consideration.

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Theodosia Adanu
Contact Info
Senior Assistant Librarian, Electronic Resources
1st Floor, East Wing
Balme Library
University of Ghana
Legon
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip