Your guide to research databases
- African Journal Archive
Provides access to a multi-disciplinary, multi-country digital archive of Africa’s research and cultural heritage contained in its journal literature.
- African Journals Online (AJOL)
A collection of peer-reviewed, African-published scholarly journals. Open Access Journals offer access to full text articles.
- BioMed Central
Publishes 248 peer-reviewed open access journals.
- Database of African thesis and dissertations (DATAD)
Contains citations and abstracts for theses and dissertations completed in African universities.
- Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB)
The Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB) is a discovery service for peer reviewed books published under an open access licence. DOAB provides a searchable index to the information about these books, with links to the full texts of the publications at the publisher's website or repository.
- Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)
Free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals, covering all subjects and many languages.
- Directory of Open Access Resources (OpenDOAR)
The Directory of Open Access Resources (OpenDOAR) aims to provide a comprehensive and authoritative list of academic open access repositories for end-users who wish to find particular archives or who wish to break down repositories by locale, content or other measures. Users can search for repositories by the following regions: Africa, Asia, Australasia, Caribbean, Central America, Europe, North America, and South America.
- Google Scholar
Free citation database. Begin your research from here if you do not have a subscription to Scopus.
- HighWire Press
A content integration platform meant to support a wide range of scientific and scholarly publications covering a wide range of subjects.
Full text books and journals in the Health Sciences, Life Sciences, Physical Sciences, Engineering & Technology, Social Sciences and Humanities.
A bibliographic database of the world's reproductive health literature.
- Topics in Development
A World Bank initiative
There are many free and Open access (OA) research databases. Some of which are full text and others bibliographic. OA literature is digital, online, free of charge, and free of most copyright and licensing restrictions.
This guide will to list a few OA databases. It will be updated periodically.
I would be happy to receive suggestions of free/OA research databases (full text or bibliographic) from you by email to add to this list.
- Academic Journals
It is a project of Sabinet Gateway, a non-profit organisation promoting and supporting library and information services in Africa.Provides free access to research information to the international community without financial, legal or technical barriers. It is a multi-disciplinary resource. Provides access to full-text articles in the Medical Sciences, Social Sciences, Biological Sciences, Agricultural Sciences, Physical Sciences, Engineering, Arts & Education and Legal Studies .
- African Journal Archive
A retrospective digitisation project of full-text journal articles published in Africa in the Sciences, Social Sciences and Humanities, providing access to a multi-disciplinary, multi-country digital archive of Africa’s research and cultural heritage contained in its journal literature. The website comprises over 700 issues and 150,000 pages of journal archives of academic, scholarly, institutional, museums, and professional research organizations in Africa. Online access to the archive is free of charge to Africa and the world.
- AgEcon Search
AgEcon Search is a free, open access repository of full-text scholarly literature in agricultural and applied economics. It includes working papers, conference papers and journal articles.
An online index to the agricultural literature created by the National Agricultural Library, United States Department of Agriculture (USDA)
- Directory of Open Access Books
It is a discovery service for peer reviewed books published under an Open Access license. DOAB provides a searchable index to the information about these books, with links to the full texts of the publications at the publisher's website or repository.
- Farmland Information Center
A site from the American Farmland Trust and the USDA Natural Resources Conservation Service devoted to farmland protection and land use.
- Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations
Worldwide coverage of agricultural topics. Includes factfile archive, databases & guides.
over 80 million free scientific publications in the Life Sciences, Health Sciences, Physics Sciences, Mathematics, Social Sciences and Humanities.
- PLOS (Public Library Of Science)
A nonprofit publisher and advocacy organization with a mission of leading a transformation in scientific and medical research communication. Every article published is open-access – freely available online for anyone to use.
- The World Bank Open Data
Free and open access to data about development in countries around the globe. Provides download access to over 8,000 indicators from World Bank data sets.
WorldWideScience.org is a global science gateway, providing one-stop searching of over 90 national and international scientific databases and portals from more than 70 countries. Users can search and translate 400 million pages of science and technology information. Resources available via WorldWideScience include DOAJ and all the Journals Online projects (JOLs).
Senior Assistant Librarian, Electronic Resources
1st Floor, East Wing
University of Ghana