This is the "UG Titles" page of the "Nursing " guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Nursing  

Last Updated: Oct 10, 2014 URL: http://libguides.ug.edu.gh/nursing Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

UG Titles Print Page
  Search: 
 

Subject Librarian for School of Public Health

Profile Image
Angelina Lily Armah
 

Search Online Catalogue (UGCat)

The UGCat lists books and theses in the libraries.

 

Some selected books from UGCat

Cover Art
State of World Population 2009 - United Nations Population Fund Staff (Contribution by)
Call Number: Ra56.85 H83
ISBN: 0897149580
Publication Date: 2010-07-30
The whole world has been talking about carbon credits, carbon trading and emissions targets. But not enough has been said about the people whose activities contribute to those emissions or about those who will be most affected by climate change, especially women. How do population dynamics affect greenhouse gases and climate change? Will urbanization and an ageing population help or hinder efforts to adapt to a warming world? and could better reproductive health care and improved relations between women and men make a difference in the fight against climate change? the linkages between population and climate change are in most cases complex and indirect. But the nature of these linkages is becoming clear enough to arrive at the key recommendations of this report for mitigating climate change and aiding adaptation to it: elicit a new level of engagement by Governments in the areas of population and development, provide access to reproductive health and actively support gender equality.

Cover Art
Reproductive Health - Arlette Campbell-White; Thomas W. Merrick; Abdo S. Yazbeck
Call Number: RG133.W58
ISBN: 0821366130
Publication Date: 2006-06-23
While women in developing countries continue to die in large numbers in child birth, Population and Reproductive Health specialists and advocates around the world are struggling to keep the policy agenda focused on the rights and needs of poor women. The 1994 Cairo Conference and Program of Action changed how we do business, and opened many doors, but the agenda is not complete and has stalled in a number of ways. At the country level, governments and donors are making difficult choices about how and where to allocate scarce human and financial resources. Funding approaches have moved away from the implementation of narrowly directed health programs to a broader approach of health system development and reform. At the same time, countries are also centering their development agenda on the broad goal of poverty reduction.This volume addresses a large knowledge and capacity gap in the Reproductive Health community and provides tools for key actors to empower faster positive change. It is a synopsis of the materials developed for WBI's learning program on Achieving the Millennium Development Goals: Poverty Reduction, Reproductive Health and Health Sector Reform. The volume brings together knowledge about epidemiology, demography, economics, and trends in global financial assistance. The volume also introduces practical tools such as benefit incidence analysis, costing, and stakeholder analysis to strengthen the evidence base for policy and to address the political economy factors for reform.

Cover Art
Kozier and Erb's Fundamentals of Nursing - Audrey J. Berman; Shirlee Snyder; Barbara J. Kozier; Glenora Erb
Call Number: RT41 .F96
ISBN: 9780138024611
Publication Date: 2010-12-27
KOZIER & ERB'S FUNDAMENTALS OF NURSING, 9/e thoroughly addresses the key concepts of contemporary professional nursing, helping nurses grow and evolve to meet the demands of a dramatically changing health care system. The Ninth Edition’s content has been systematically revised to reflect new evidence, and a stronger emphasis on aging, wellness, safety, and home- and community-based care. Its objectives have been updated and mapped to support QSEN Competencies, AACN Essentials, the NCLEX-RN®2010 test plan, and the 2010 ANA Scope and Standards of Practice. Coverage includes: health promotion, disease prevention, holistic care, multiculturalism, nursing theories, informatics, research, ethics, advocacy, and many other topics. Designed for use with any nursing theory or conceptual framework, this edition contains several new pedagogical features, including new Safety and Self-Care alerts.Standalone book.    If you want the book and access code order:  ISBN 0132706547 / 9780132706544 Kozier & Erb's Fundamentals of Nursing & MyNursingLab -- Access Card Package   Package consists of:  0131596969 / 9780131596962 MyNursingLab -- Access Card -- for Kozier & Erb's Fundamentals of Nursing 0138024618 / 9780138024611 Kozier & Erb's Fundamentals of Nursing  

Cover Art
Nursing Process and Practice in the Community - Joan M. Cookfair
Call Number: RT89.N93
ISBN: 0801625815
Publication Date: 1990-11-01
vii, 635, 22, 24 p. : ill. ; 24 cm.
Includes bibliographical references and index.
Community health nursing.

Cover Art
Community Health Nursing - Barbara W. Spradley
Call Number: RT98.Sp7
ISBN: 0673398056
Publication Date: 1990-01-01

Cover Art
Comprehensive Community Health Nursing - Susan Clemen-Stone; Sandra L. McGuire; Diane Gerber Eigsti
Call Number: RT98.C73
ISBN: 0323013457
Publication Date: 2002-03-08
The latest edition of COMPREHENSIVE COMMUNITY HEALTH NURSING continues to offer complete coverage of the major topics in the field, from epidemiology and communicable disease to chronic illness and home health nursing. Written from a population-focused perspective, this edition thoroughly describes the theoretical foundations of community-oriented health promotion and health education. Aggregates at heightened risk are considered in a chapter on contemporary health issues including those experiencing poverty and homelessness, substance abuse, and violence. The text insightfully reports the impact of managed care on the health care delivery system. The changing roles and responsibilities of community health nurses within clinics, homes, and hospice centers - as well as nontraditional care settings such as schools, businesses, and industries - are clearly depicted. Community health nursing interventions with a variety of client groups, including individuals, families, groups, populations, and communities, are emphasized throughout, including group work and health advocacy for populations at risk.

Cover Art
Epidemiology - Kenneth J. Rothman
Call Number: RA651.R74
ISBN: 0195135539
Publication Date: 2002-03-07
In the past thirty years epidemiology has matured from a fledging scientific field into a vibrant discipline that brings together the biological and social sciences, and in doing so draws upon disciplines ranging from statistics and survey sampling to the philosophy of science. These areas of knowledge have converged into a modern theory of epidemiology that has been slow to penetrate into textbooks, particularly at the introductory level. Epidemiology: An Introduction closes the gap. It begins with a brief, lucid discussion of causal thinking and causal inference and then takes the reader through the elements of epidemiology, focusing on measures of disease occurrence and causal effects. With these building blocks in place, the reader learns how to design, analyze and interpret epidemiologic research studies, and how to deal with the fundamental problems that epidemiologists face, including confounding, the role of chance, and the exploration of interactions. All these topics are layered on the foundation of basic principles presented in simple language, with numerous examples and questions for further thought.

Cover Art
Community Health Nursing - Mary Jo Clark
Call Number: RT98.N93
ISBN: 0130941492
Publication Date: 2002-03-11
Community Health Nursing Caring for Populations Fourth Edition Now more than ever - locally, nationally, globally - society is in need of community health services. The Fourth Edition of Community Health Nursing continues to emphasize the application of community health nursing as it relates to specific populations, settings, and community health problems. Using an easy-to-follow organizing framework, the text assists readers in applying nursing process and nursing interventions to the care of the individual, families, and population groups. Theoretically and scientifically sound, as well as practical and applicable, this resource is a thorough introduction to the specialty. Features: bull; bull;New ~ Cultural Considerations highlight cultural factors that influence health, health care delivery, and community health nursing practice. bull;New ~ Ethical Awareness feature introduces readers to ethical dilemmas faced by community health nurses and assists them in applying principles of ethical decision making. bull;New Chapter ~ Care of Clients in Official and Voluntary Agencies includes detailed discussion of parish nursing and its roles and functions as well as local health agencies and standards, functions and services of community/public health nursing. bull;Assessment Tips detail key considerations in nursing assessment in specific populations, settings, and health problems. bull;Comprehensive technology package that includes a Companion Website, corresponding student CD-ROM, and online course management systems in WebCT, Black Board and Course Compass platforms.

Cover Art
Advanced practice nursing : essentials for role development. - Joel, Lucille A.
Call Number: RT82.8 J59
ISBN: 0803611196
Publication Date: 2004
xxi, 681 p. : ill. ; 23 cm.
Bibliography Comprend des réf. bibliogr. et un index.
Comprend des réf. bibliogr.
Summary Tracing the evolution of the APN role over time and including the non-clinical knowledge necessary to perform successfully in that role, Dr. Joel and her expert contributors succinctly explore the environment in which APNs practice, APN core competencies, evolving issues, challenges, and basic organizational and business skills. This book, with content closely linked to the AACN/NONPF core curriculum recommendations, tackles such topics as evidence-based practice, ethical decision-making, basic teaching skills, starting a practice and practice management, court cases involving the APN, and much more. This text provides the foundational content essential for all advanced practice nursing students to thrive in their professional role development. (Midwest).

Cover Art
Application of nursing process and nursing diagnosis : an interactive text for diagnostic reasoning . - Marilynn E. Doenges, Mary Frances Moorhouse
Call Number: RT41. D67
ISBN: 9780803610668
Publication Date: 2003-05-27
xi, 320 p. ; 23 cm.
Bibliography Includes bibliographical references and index.
Contents The nursing process, delivering quality care -- Assessment step, developing the client database -- Diagnosis or need identification step, analyzing the data -- Planning step, creating the plan of care -- Implementation step, putting the plan of care into action -- Evaluation step, determining whether desired outcomes have been met -- Documenting the nursing process -- Interactive care planning, from assessment to client response -- Appendixes: North American Nursing Diagnosis Association (NANDA) nursing diagnoses with definitions, related/risk factors, and defining characteristics; NANDA taxonomy II, definitions of axes; Assessment tools; NANDA nursing diagnoses organized according to Maslow's hierarchy of needs and nursing framework, a health outcome classification for nursing diagnosis; Code for nurses; Lunney's ordinal scale for degrees of accuracy of a nursing diagnosis; Self-monitoring of accuracy using the integrated model, a guide; Clinical (critical) pathways, a sample; Common medical abbreviations; Glossary; Nursing outcomes classification; Keys to practice activities; Keys to chapter work pages.

Cover Art
Brunner and Suddarth's Textbook of Medical-Surgical Nursing - Suzanne C. O'Connell Smeltzer; Brenda G. Bare; Kerry H. Cheever; Janice L. Hinkle
Call Number: RT41.T29
ISBN: 0781759781
Publication Date: 2006-12-01
The best-selling textbook of medical-surgical nursing is now in its Eleventh Edition—with updated content throughout and enhanced, state-of-the-art ancillaries. Highlights include a stronger focus on health promotion, more extensive coverage of patients with chronic illness and disabilities, a Watch and Learn feature linked to audiovisuals on the free bound-in CD-ROM, and Evidence-Based Practice questions in each chapter linked to journal articles on the book's companion Website. A new, more engaging design features photographs of nurses interacting with patients. This edition's thoroughly revamped CD-ROM includes over 3,500 NCLEX®-style questions and numerous three-dimensional animations that demonstrate disease processes. The companion Website atthePointincludes over 99 free journal articles.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip