This is the "UG Titles" page of the "Nutrition and Food Science " guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Nutrition and Food Science   Tags: faculty and students, research_methods, sciences  

Last Updated: Aug 19, 2016 URL: http://libguides.ug.edu.gh/nutrition/food Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

UG Titles Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Previous Research Topics

 

Some selected books Nutrition and Food Science

Cover Art
Chocolate Science and Technology - Emmanuel Ohene Afoakwa
Call Number: TP640 .Af 6
ISBN: 9781405199063
Publication Date: 2010-04-26
This book provides an overview of the science and technology of chocolate manufacture from cocoa production, through the manufacturing processes, to the sensory, nutrition and health aspects of chocolate consumption. It covers cocoa cultivation and production with special attention paid to cocoa bean composition, genotypic variations in the bean, post-harvest pre-treatments, fermentation and drying processes, and the biochemical basis of these operations. The scientific principles behind industrial chocolate manufacture are outlined with detailed explanations of the various stages of chocolate manufacturing including mixing, refining, conching and tempering. Other topics covered include the chemistry of flavour formation and development during cocoa processing and chocolate manufacture; volatile flavour compounds and their characteristics and identification; sensory descriptions and character; and flavour release and perception in chocolate. The nutritional and health benefits of cocoa and chocolate consumption are also addressed. There is a focus throughout on those factors that influence the flavour and quality characteristics of the finished chocolate and that provide scope for process optimization and improvement. The book is designed to be a desk reference for all those engaged in the business of making and using chocolate worldwide; confectionery and chocolate scientists in industry and academia; students and practising food scientists and technologists; nutritionists and other health professionals; and libraries of institutions where food science is studied and researched. an overview of the science behind chocolate manufacture covers the whole process from cocoa production, through manufacturing, to the nutrition and health aspects of chocolate consumption focuses on factors that influence chocolate flavour and quality, and that provide scope for process optimization and improvement.

Cover Art
Cocoa Production and Processing Technology - Emmanuel Ohene Afoakwa
Call Number: TP640 .Af6
ISBN: 9781466598232
Publication Date: 2014-02-21
One of the largest food commodities exported from the developing countries to the rest of the world, cocoa has gained increasing attention on the global market--raising many questions about its quality, sustainability and traceability. Cocoa Production and Processing Technologypresents detailed explanations of the technologies that could be employed to assure sustainable production of high-quality and safe cocoa beans for the global confectionary industry. It provides overviews of up-to-date technologies and approaches to modern cocoa production practices, global production and consumption trends as well as principles of cocoa processing and chocolate manufacture. The book covers the origin, history and taxonomy of cocoa, and examines the fairtrade and organic cocoa industries and their influence on smallholder farmers. The chapters provide in-depth coverage of cocoa cultivation, harvesting and post-harvest treatments with a focus on cocoa bean composition, genotypic variations and their influence on quality, post-harvest pre-treatments, fermentation techniques, drying, storage and transportation. The author provides details on cocoa fermentation processes as well as the biochemical and microbiological changes involved and how they influence flavour. He also addresses cocoa trading systems, bean selection and quality criteria, as well as industrial processing of fermented and dried cocoa beans into liquor, cake, butter and powder. The book examines the general principles of chocolate manufacture, detailing the various stages of the processes involved, the factors that influence the quality characteristics and strategies to avoid post-processing quality defects. This volume presents innovative techniques for sustainability and traceability in high-quality cocoa production and explores new product development with potential for cost reduction as well as improved cocoa bean and chocolate product quality.

Cover Art
Enhancing food security and nutrition policy assistance : lessons from experience - Jean BaliƩ.
Call Number: HD9018.D44 En1
ISBN: 9789251063988
Publication Date: 2009
ix, 70 p. ; 30 cm. Series Policy assistance series, 1819-4591 ; 5 Policy assistance series ; 5.

Note: freely available online.

Summary: Why is food security and nutrition (FSN) seldom a priority in national development planning? One reason is that strategies to reduce food insecurity and malnutrition are principally seen as a concern of the agricultural sector. Specific food insecurity reduction goals and targets are usually absent from most poverty reduction planning instruments. This book synthesizes lessons learned from five countries - Bhutan, Cambodia, Kenya, Mozambique and United Republic of Tanzania - in providing policy assistance to better integrate FSN concerns in national policies and planning processes. Effective FSN policies should have strong links to social investment, poverty reduction measures, development policies and above all human dignity. These lessons will inform future FSN related policy assistance to member countries striving to eradicate the plight of hunger and malnutrition.--Publisher's description.

Cover Art
Food Science, Nutrition and Health - Brian A. Fox; Allan G. Cameron
Call Number: TX545.F83
ISBN: 0340604832
Publication Date: 1995-03-17
The 6th edition of this well-established book bridges the gap between the scientific principles on which good nutrition is based and the day-to-day practice of 'healthy eating'. The basic chemical natures of the important food groups are outlined together with the changes which occur when food is cooked, processed and eaten. The relationship between good nutrition and good health is emphasised, with accurate and up-to-date information about this critically important subject. Although principally intended for students of food science and nutrition, catering and health subjects, it will be of interest and value to all those concerned about improving diet.

Cover Art
Guide to Food Laws and Regulations - Patricia A. Curtis
Call Number: KF3870.C94
ISBN: 0813819466
Publication Date: 2005-09-12
For both student food scientists and experienced professionals, a knowledge of U.S. food law is the foundation that supports an understanding of all industry regulation. Based on a popular Internet course, the Guide to Food Laws and Regulations informs students on the significance, range, and background of food laws and gives tools for finding current regulations. This compact resource outlines major U.S. food laws, factors that led to their passage, and explains the role of key agencies like the FDA and FSIS in regulation and enforcement. Students are directed to internet sites as well as to indexes and resources available from the Federal government. Other topics include religious dietary law, Occupational Safety and Health Administration regulations, environmental regulations, HACCP and GMPs, laws governing health claims, and the regulation of biotechnology.The Guide to Food Laws and Regulations is an ideal sourcebook for students and professionals in food science and technology, chemistry, biosystems engineering, food animal production and medicine, agribusiness, and other closely related fields.

Cover Art
Managing Food and Nutrition Services for the Culinary, Hospitality, and Nutrition Professions - Sari Edelstein
Call Number: TX911.3.M27 M31
ISBN: 9780763740641
Publication Date: 2007-08-16
Managing Food and Nutrition Services For The Culinary, Hospitality, and Nutrition Professions skillfully merges culinary, hospitality, and dietetics management principles into one practical resource for future nutrition professionals. This textbook prepares students to perform the daily operational tasks of foodservice by combining theory with practice. Each chapter includes hands-on assignments to encourage students to develop problem-solving and critical-thinking skills. Case studies about real-life work situations, such as chain restaurants and elementary school cafeterias, ask students to consider how they would respond to typical issues in the workplace. Respected experts within their specialized field of study have contributed chapters on topics such as foodservice industry trends, fiscal management, and long-term planning. Easy-to-understand restaurant math problems, with answers, As well as a study guide For The RD examination are included in this authoritative resource.

Cover Art
Perspectives and guidelines on food legislation, with a new model food Law - Vapnek Vapnek; Food and Agriculture Organization; Spreij Spreij
Call Number: K3626.V41
ISBN: 9251054312
Publication Date: 2005-01-01
The increasing globalization of food trade and the harmonization of food standards and food safety rules have led to significant changes in the international and national regulatory frameworks for food. There is an increasing recognition of the need to integrate and improve coordination of regulatory activities among national and international bodies for better protection of human, animal and plant life and health without creating unnecessary barriers to trade. In addition, catastrophic outbreaks of food-borne disease have sparked increasing attention to the regulatory frameworks for food safety and food trade in the global arena. These developments have given rise to new legislative needs. National regulatoryframeworks have to be adjusted to meet international and regional obligations, while the distribution of responsibilities for the food sector requires rigorous review. The present text draws on FAO's experience in providing technical assistance to governments developing new food laws and regulations, setting out and examining the many elements of the nationalsystem which should be taken into account in a comprehensive review of national regulatory frameworks for food. Towards that end, the text offers concrete recommendations for the preparation of a basic national food law, including three variants of a new model food law

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip