This is the "Research Issues" page of the "Population Studies" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Population Studies   Tags: demographics, gender, population, statistics  

Research resources for The Regional Institute for Population Studies (RIPS)
Last Updated: Apr 20, 2016 URL: http://libguides.ug.edu.gh/content.php?pid=435057 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Research Issues Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Some Selected Research Methodology Books

Cover Art
The Practice of Social Research - Earl R. Babbie
Call Number: H62 .B11
ISBN: 1133049796
Publication Date: 2012-01-01
A straightforward, comprehensive, and approachable guide to research as practiced by social scientists, the Thirteenth Edition of Babbie's 'gold-standard' text gives you the tools you need to apply research concepts practically, as both a researcher and a consumer. Babbie emphasizes the process by showing you how to design and construct projects, introducing the various observation modes in use today, and answering critical questions about research methods--such as how to conduct online surveys and analyze both qualitative and quantitative data.

Cover Art
Introduction to Social Research - Keith F. Punch
Call Number: H62 .P96
ISBN: 9781446240939
Publication Date: 2013-11-19
In the new edition of Introduction to Social Research, Keith Punch takes a fresh look at the entire research process, from formulating a research question to writing up your research. Covering qualitative, quantitative and mixed methods, the book focuses on matching research questions to appropriate methods. Offering concise, balanced coverage, this book clearly explains the underlying principles of social research and shows you how to put this understanding into practice.nbsp;nbsp; The third edition includes: A new chapter on literature searching and reviewing Expanded coverage of ethics A new section on using the internet in research A range of additional student learning features A brand new companion website including full-text journal articles, additional case studies and video tutorials. Using a range of examples from student research and published work, the book is an ideal introduction for any social science student taking a research methods course or embarking on their own undergraduate or postgraduate research project.

Cover Art
How to Do Your Case Study - Gary Thomas
Call Number: H62 .T36
ISBN: 0857025627
Publication Date: 2011-01-19
This accessible text introduces students and researchers to the basics of case study research, using a wide range of real-life examples. It deals with the core issues and methods that anyone new to case study will need to understand: What is a case study? When and why should case study methods be used? How are case studies designed? What methods can be used? How do we analyze our data and write up our case?

Cover Art
Combating Student Plagiarism - Lynn D. Lampert
Call Number: Z675.U5 L19
ISBN: 9781843342830
Publication Date: 2008-07-31
This practical book introduces readers to the current issues facing todays academic reference and instruction librarians grappling with the growing problem of student plagiarism. The book provides up-to-date overviews of student plagiarism, examples of ways in which librarians can educate students through proven instructional techniques, collaboration approaches and outreach methods, and discusses common problems and questions librarians may encounter when incorporating current anti-plagiarism instruction into their instructional services. Topics include: role of the academic librarian in combating student plagiarism, discipline-based approaches to combating student plagiarism, information literacy techniques and faculty/librarian collaboration. Investigates the issues surrounding the growth of instances of student plagiarism Discusses the academic librarian's role in combating student plagiarism Recommends effective outreach techniques and instructional methods for preventing plagiarism

Cover Art
The Complete Guide to Referencing and Avoiding Plagarism - Colin Neville
Call Number: PN171.F56 N41
ISBN: 0335220908
Publication Date: 2007-07-01
Why is there so much emphasis on citing sources in some written work? How can I be sure I am referencing sources correctly? What is plagiarism and how do I avoid it? There is a great deal of emphasis on accurate referencing in written work for university students, and those writing for professional purposes, but little information on the 'when', the 'why', as well as the 'how' of referencing. This book fills that gap, giving clear guidelines on how to correctly cite from external sources, what constitutes plagiarism and how it can be avoided. A unique feature of the book is the comparisons it makes between different referencing styles - such as Harvard, APA, MLA and Numerical referencing styles - which are shown side-by-side. This provides a useful guide for students as they progress through higher education, and particularly for those on combined studies courses - who may be expected to use two, and sometimes three, different referencing styles. Other special features in the book include: Essays demonstrating referencing in action, Exercises on when to reference, and on what is, and what is not, plagiarism, A 'Frequently Asked Questions' section on the referencing issues most often puzzle people, A detailed guide to referencing electronic sources, and advice on how to choose reliable Internet sites. The Complete Guide to Referencing and Avoiding Plagiarism is essential reading for all students and professionals who need to use referencing to accurately reflect the work of others and avoid plagiarism. Book jacket.

Current Research Projects for RIPS

What is Plagiarism

 

APA Referencing Style

APA FAQs - Frequently Asked Questions About the APA Style, 6th edition.

APA Style blog - The APA Style Blog is the official companion to the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, Sixth Edition. It's run by a group of experts who work with APA Style every day. We publish weekly posts to talk about what we love—writing, publishing, and APA Style. We explore what APA Style is and how it works in a variety of areas, including reference citations of every sort, grammar and usage, the publication process, and social media.

Learning APA Style - online resources from the APA.

A Guide to referencing with examples in the APA & Harvard Styles (2010) (6th ed.). Canberra, Australia: University of Canberra Library and Academic Skills Program.
 -- extensive Guide to APA & Harvard Styles.

University of Maryland University College, Information and Library Services, APA Citation Examples
 -- An easy to use site with many good examples included.

Woodhouse, M., & Couacaud, M. (Eds.). (2010). Referencing Guide (12th ed.). Joondalup, Western Australia: Edith Cowan University.
 -- detailed 29 page Guide to APA 6th ed.

 

Publication Manual: APA

Cover Art
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association - American Psychological Associaition
Call Number: BF76.7 P96
ISBN: 9781557987907
Publication Date: 2001
xxviii, 439 p. : 26 cm.
Commonly sited as: APA publications manual. Reprint corrections available online in PDF format.
Bibliography. Includes bibliographical references and index.

 

UG Guidelines for using APA Publication Manual

Subject Librarian

Profile Image
Olivia Akosua Kpodoe
Contact Info
The Balme Library
Bindery Section
University of Ghana, Legon
(+233)242-901990
(+233)201-336530
IP Phone: 7920
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip