This is the "UG Titles" page of the "Engineering" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Engineering  

Academic and Research Resources for Engineering
Last Updated: Jan 13, 2016 URL: http://libguides.ug.edu.gh/engineering Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

UG Titles Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Some Selected Books in Engineering

Cover Art
Advanced Engineering Mathematics - Peter V. O'Neil
Call Number: TA330 .On2
ISBN: 0534067921
Publication Date: 1986-10-01

Cover Art
Principles of Sequence Stratigraphy - O. Catuneanu
Call Number: QE651 .C29
ISBN: 0444515682
Publication Date: 2006-05-19
Principles of Sequence Stratigraphy provides an in-depth coverage and impartial assessment of all current ideas and models in the field of sequence stratigraphy. Even though widely popular among all groups interested in the analysis of sedimentary basin fills, both in academia and in the industry, sequence stratigraphy is yet a difficult undertaking due to an overwhelming jargon and the persistence of conflicting approaches as to how the sequence stratigraphic method should be applied to the rock record. This textbook examines the relationship between such conflicting approaches from the perspective of a unifying platform, demonstrating that sufficient common ground exists to eliminate terminology barriers and to facilitate communication between all practitioners of sequence stratigraphy. This work is not only a review of past and current literature, but also includes key original viewpoints and is illustrated with new graphic material and numerous field examples of outcrop, core, well log and 3D seismic data in full colour. The book is addressed to anyone interested in understanding and applying the method of sequence stratigraphic analysis, from students to geologists, geophysicists and reservoir engineers. Sequence stratigraphy remains the most recent paradigm in the broad field of sedimentary geology, with tremendous potential to deciphering the record of global change and to improving the success of economic exploration. * Offers theoretical guidelines of how the facies and time relationships are expected to be under specific circumstances such as subsidence patterns, sediment supply, topographic gradients, etc. * Contains numerous high-quality and full-color diagrams, photographs and illustrations, virtually on every aid in comprehension of the subject * Features a dedicated chapter on discussions and conclusions incorporating all previous chapters with references, basic principles and strategies * Provides an extensive list of references for further reading, as well as an author and subject index for quick information access

Cover Art
The MAK-Collection for Occupational Health and Safety - Harun Parlar (Editor)
Call Number: TD890. Ai 7
ISBN: 9783527328185
Publication Date: 2011-04-26
This volume provides detailed, ready-to-use protocols for air monitoring methods, developed to monitor concentrations of occupational toxicants at the workplace, while they can also be used for environmental monitoring. All the methods are reliable, reproducible, adhere to quality assurance standards and cover all the required steps from sampling to the interpretation of results. This includes data on precision, accuracy, and detection limit, calibration procedures as well as potential sources of systematic errors. In addition, the advantages and disadvantages of each method are clearly outlined.

Cover Art
Organic Reactions - Scott E. Denmark (Editor)
Call Number: QD251 .Or3
ISBN: 9780470638439
Publication Date: 2011-12-20
Volume 76 in the venerable Organic Reactions series comprises three chapters that cover the ever-increasing emphasis of transition metal catalysis in organic synthesis. These three chapters represent some of the most important transformations that enable the construction of carbon-carbon bonds, heterocycles and carbon-heteratom bonds. This volume features a comprehensive treatment of transition metal (palladium, nickel, copper) catalyzed a-arylation of enolates derived from many common functional groups such as ketones, aldehydes, esters and nitriles (Prim, Marque, Gaucher, Campagne) including enantioselective variants; palladium catalyzed cyclization to form indoles (Cacchi, Fabrizi, Goggiamani) one of the most prevalent and important classes of heterocycles in natural products and pharmaceutical agents; and an overview of a newly developed dihydroxylation reaction of alkenes (Donohoe, Bataille, Innocenti) that uses hydrogen bonding interactions to direct the delivery of an osmium catalyst with high selectivity. As with all Organic Reactions chapters, these reviews emphasize the preparative aspects of the featured transformation and contain comprehensive compilations of all known examples in the tables.

Cover Art
Mathematical Methods for Physics and Engineering - K. F. Riley; M. P. Hobson; S. J. Bence
Call Number: QA401 .R4
ISBN: 9780521679718
Publication Date: 2006-03-13
The third edition of this highly acclaimed undergraduate textbook is suitable for teaching all the mathematics for an undergraduate course in any of the physical sciences. As well as lucid descriptions of all the topics and many worked examples, it contains over 800 exercises. New stand-alone chapters give a systematic account of the 'special functions' of physical science, cover an extended range of practical applications of complex variables, and give an introduction to quantum operators. Further tabulations, of relevance in statistics and numerical integration, have been added. In this edition, half of the exercises are provided with hints and answers and, in a separate manual available to both students and their teachers, complete worked solutions. The remaining exercises have no hints, answers or worked solutions and can be used for unaided homework; full solutions are available to instructors on a password-protected web site, www.cambridge.org/9780521679718.

Cover Art
Unit Operations of Chemical Engineering - Warren L. McCabe; Julian C. Smith; Peter Harriott
Call Number: TP155.7M13
ISBN: 0072848235
Publication Date: 2004-10-27
******Recently Published!******Unit Operations of Chemical Engineering, 7th editioncontinues its lengthy, successful tradition of being one of McGraw-Hill's oldest texts in the Chemical Engineering Series. Since 1956, this text has been the most comprehensive of the introductory, undergraduate, chemical engineering titles available. Separate chapters are devoted to each of the principle unit operations, grouped into four sections: fluid mechanics, heat transfer, mass transfer and equilibrium stages, and operations involving particulate solids. Now in its seventh edition, the text still contains its balanced treatment of theory and engineering practice, with many practical, illustrative examples included. Almost 30% of the problems have been revised or are new, some of which cover modern topics such as food processing and biotechnology. Other unique topics of this text include diafiltration, adsorption and membrane operations.

Cover Art
Introduction to Membrane Science and Technology - Heinrich Strathmann
Call Number: QA401 .R43
ISBN: 9783527324514
Publication Date: 2011-10-25
Written by a dedicated lecturer and leading membrane scientist, who has worked both in academia and industry, this advanced textbook provides an impressive overview of all aspects of membranes and their applications. Together with numerous industrial case studies, practical examples and questions, the book provides an excellent and comprehensive introduction to the topic. Advanced students as well as process and chemical engineers working in industry will profit from this resource. A significant feature of the book is the treatment of more recently developed membranes and their applications in energy conversion, biomedical components, controlled release devices and environmental engineering with an indication of the present and future commercial impact. The solutions to the questions in the book cdan be found under http://www.wiley-vch.de/publish/en/books/ISBN3-537-32451-8/ From the Contents: * Introduction * Fundamentals * Membrane Preparation and Characterization * Principles of Membrane Separation Processes * Membrane Modules and Concentration Polarization * Membrane Process Design and Operation

Cover Art
Modern Engineering Mathematics - Glyn James
Call Number: TA330 .M72
ISBN: 9780273734130
Publication Date: 2010-12-10
This book provides a complete course for first-year engineering mathematics. Whichever field of engineering you are studying, you will be most likely to require knowledge of the mathematics presented in this textbook. Taking a thorough approach, the authors put the concepts into an engineering context, so you can understand the relevance of mathematical techniques presented and gain a fuller appreciation of how to draw upon them throughout your studies. This MyMathLab edition comes with student access to MyMathLab GlobalĀ®, a powerful online homework, tutorial and self study system to enrich your learning. Containing hundreds of extra practice questions to support your study of each topic in the book - MyMathLab Global provides automatic, instant feedback and support tools to help you better understand the mathematical concepts.

 

Some useful reference resources in Engineering

Cover Art
Electromechanical Design Handbook - Ronald A. Walsh
Call Number: TJ163 .W16
ISBN: 9780071348126
Publication Date: 2000-01-04
A-Z guide to electrical/electronic and mechanical engineering design data. The ultimate sourcebook of electro-mechanical engineering design data is now better than ever, with thoroughly updated material, new discussions of engineering economics and elastomer springs. and a bounty of new drawings. Electro-Mechanical Design Handbook, Third Edition, byRonald A. Walsh, gives you the know-how you need to develop parts, mechanisms, and assemblies, with thorough explanations of:*Properties, uses, and strength of engineering materials*Machine element design and mechanisms*Basic pneumatics, hydraulics, air handling and heat*Fastener and joining techniques*Layout and fabrication practices, including castings, moldings, extrusions and powder metal technology*Finishes and plating practices*Dimensioning and tolerancing practices*Much, much more!

Cover Art
The Thesaurus of Chemical Products - Irene Ash (Editor); Michael Ash (Editor)
Call Number: TP202 .As3
ISBN: 0340583029
Publication Date: 1992-11-19
Now totally rewritten, 'The Thesaurus of Chemical Products' provides a comprehensive cross-section of every aspect of the chemical industry. The two volume set lists more than 40,000 up-to-date international tradenames by which a multitude of chemical products are sold and allows the user to locate all the chemically equivalent products that are available.

Cover Art
Concise encyclopedia of the chemical properties of materials - Martin, J.W.
Call Number: TA402 .C76
ISBN: 0080465269
Publication Date: 2007.
The Concise Encyclopedia of The Chemical Properties of Materials presents a custom collection of articles from the award-winning Encyclopedia of Materials Science and Technology (EMSAT), and includes updates and revisions not available in the original set.

 

Search UG Online Catalogue (UGCat)

The UGCat lists books and theses in the libraries.

 

Recently acquired books

List of newly acquired titles

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip