This is the "UG Titles" page of the "Communication Studies" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Subject Guide for School of Communication Studies
Last Updated: Sep 19, 2017 URL: http://libguides.ug.edu.gh/communication-studies Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

UG Titles Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Selected Books in Communication Studies

Cover Art
Communication Theory - David Holmes
Call Number: P96.T42 H75
ISBN: 9780761970699
Publication Date: 2005-04-30
This book offers an introduction to communication theory that is appropriate to our post-broadcast, interactive media environment. The author contrasts the 'first media age' of broadcast with the 'second media age' of interactivity. Communication Theory argues that the different kinds of communication dynamics found in cyberspace demand a reassessment of the methodologies used to explore media, as well as new understandings of the concepts of interaction and community (virtual communities and broadcast communities).

Cover Art
Media of Mass Communication, Study Edition - John Vivian
Call Number: P90 .B83
ISBN: 9780205029365
Publication Date: 2012
Updated in a new 10thedition,Media of Mass Communicationbalances the principles and foundations of media literacy with lively examples, streamlined coverage, and a robust media package. It helps students see why the media are in such a tumultuous transition and provides tools for understanding the reshaping of the entire media industry. This Study Edition offers perforated chapter quizzes, chapter practice tests, and separate media literacy exercises at the end of the textbook that can be used as a study tool for students or as assigned homework.

Cover Art
Developing the Third World - Robert A. Agunga
Call Number: HD76 .Ag 9
ISBN: 9781560723646
Publication Date: 1999
Developing The Third World A Communication Approach

Cover Art
The Production of Modernization - Hemant Shah
Call Number: HM621 .Sh 1
ISBN: 9781439906248
Publication Date: 2011-03-11
Daniel Lerner's 1958 bookThe Passing of Traditional Societywas central in shaping Cold War-era ideas about the use of mass media and culture to promote social and economic progress in postcolonial nations. Based on a study of the effectiveness of propaganda in the Middle East, Lerner's book claimed that exposure to American media messages could motivate "traditional" people in the postcolonial nations to become "modern" by cultivating empathy for American ideas, goods, and ways of life.The Production of Modernizationexamines Lerner's writings to construct the intellectual trajectory of his thinking about mass media and modernization up to and beyond the publication of his famous book. Shah has written not just an intellectual biography of Lerner but also a history of the discipline he shaped.

Cover Art
Understanding Public Opinion - Clyde Wilcox
Call Number: HN90.P8 Un 2
ISBN: 9780872899810
Publication Date: 2010
Click here to preview a sample chapter!In this highly anticipated revision, editors Barbara Norrander and Clyde Wilcox expose students to the substance and process of public opinion research in an accessible way. Capturing the diversity of this research with 12 essays&BAD:—10 new to this edition and 2 fully updated&BAD:—well-respected contributors highlight the many approaches social scientists use to explore public opinion while citing actual research and teasing out the political implications of their findings.Understanding Public Opinion expands on important ideas that basic textbooks cover only briefly, such as public views of those on trial for terrorist acts, public attitudes in the aftermath of Hurricane Katrina, and the rise and fall of public support for George W. Bush. Part introductions provide important thematic context, and a statistics primer in the appendix offers students a handy reference. More relevant and thought-provoking than ever, Understanding Public Opinion is the ideal supplement for any public opinion course.

Cover Art
You Just Don't Understand - Deborah Tannen
Call Number: HQ734 .T15
ISBN: 9780060959623
Publication Date: 2001-07-24
Women and men live in different worlds...made of different words. Spending nearly four years on the New York Times bestseller list, including eight months at number one, You Just Don't Understand is a true cultural and intellectual phenomenon. This is the book that brought gender differences in ways of speaking to the forefront of public awareness. With a rare combination of scientific insight and delightful, humorous writing, Tannen shows why women and men can walk away from the same conversation with completely different impressions of what was said. Studded with lively and entertaining examples of real conversations, this book gives you the tools to understand what went wrong -- and to find a common language in which to strengthen relationships at work and at home. A classic in the field of interpersonal relations, this book will change forever the way you approach conversations.

Cover Art
Gender Communication Theories and Analyses - Charlotte Krolokke; Anne Scott Sorensen
Call Number: P96.S48 K91
ISBN: 0761929185
Publication Date: 2005-07-08
Contemporary Gender Communication Theories and Analyses surveys the field of gender and communication with a particular focus on gender and communication theories and methods. How have theories about gender and communication evolved and been influenced by first-, second-, and third-wave feminisms? And similarly, how have feminist communication scholars been inspired by existing methods and aspired to generate their own? The goal of the text is to help readers develop analytic focus and knowledge about their underlying assumptions that gender communication scholars use in their work. Features and benefits: - applies theoretical and methodological lenses to contemporary cases, allowing readers to see gender and communcation theory work in action; - presents a comprehensive introduction to particular feminist theories and methodologies; - provides effective end-of-chapter cases and sample analyses that help readers see the kinds of questions and analyses that a particular theory and method bring into play; - discusses contemporary research in gender and communication and expands on future directions for research.

Cover Art
Media, Gender and Identity - David Gauntlett
Call Number: P96.S45 G23
ISBN: 9780415396615
Publication Date: 2010
Popular media present a vast array of stories about women and men. What impact do these images and ideas have on people’s identities? The new edition of Media, Gender and Identity is a highly readable introduction to the relationship between media and gender identities today. Fully revised and updated, including new case studies and a new chapter, it considers a wide range of research and provides new ways for thinking about the media’s influence on gender and sexuality. David Gauntlett discusses movies such as Knocked Upand Spiderman 3, men’s and women’s magazines, TV shows, self-help books, YouTubevideos, and more, to show how the media play a role in the shaping of individual self-identities. The book includes: a comparison of gender representations in the past and today, from James Bondto Ugly Betty an introduction to key theorists such as Judith Butler, Anthony Giddens and Michel Foucault an outline of creative approaches, where identities are explored with video, drawing, or Lego bricks a Companion Website with extra articles, interviews and selected links, at: www.theoryhead.com.

Cover Art
Media and Gender - Cynthia Carter; Linda Steiner
Call Number: P94.5.W65 C86
ISBN: 033521097X
Publication Date: 2004
How is gender constructed in the media? To what extent do portrayals of gender influence everyday perceptions of ourselves and our actions? In what ways do the media reinforce and sometimes challenge gender inequalities? Critical Readings: Media and Genderprovides a lively and engaging introduction to the field of media and gender research, drawing from a wide range of important international scholarship. A variety of conceptual and methodological approaches is used to explore subjects such as: entertainment; news; grassroots communication; new media texts; institutions; audiences. Topics include: Gender identity and television talk shows Historical portrayals of women in advertising The sexualization of the popular press The representation of lesbians on television The cult of femininity in women's magazines Images of African American women and Latinas in Hollywood cinema Sexual violence in the media Women in popular music Pornography and masculine power Women's relationship to the Internet. This book is ideal for undergraduate courses in cultural and media studies, gender studies, the sociology of the media, mass communication, journalism, communication studies and politics.

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Gender in Media - Mary Kosut (Editor)
Call Number: P96.S5 En 1
ISBN: 9781412990790
Publication Date: 2012-05-18
The media strongly influences our everyday notions of gender roles and our concepts of gender identity. The Encyclopedia of Gender in Media critically examines the role of the media in enabling, facilitating, or challenging the social construction of gender in our society. The work addresses a variety of entertainment and news content in print and electronic media and explores the social construction of masculinity as well as femininity. In addition to representations of gender within the media, we also analyze gender issues related to media ownership and the media workforce. Despite an abundance of textbooks, anthologies, and university press monographs on the topic of gender in media, until now no comprehensive reference work has tackled this topic of perennial interest in student research and papers.

Cover Art
Integrated Marketing Communication - Robyn Blakeman
Call Number: HF5415.123 B58
ISBN: 9780742529649
Publication Date: 2007-04-16
Robyn Blakeman's Integrated Marketing Communication offers a classroom-tested approach that lays out creative processes and strategies for effective IMC. Blakeman covers key areas, from marketing plans, branding and positioning, and creative briefs to copywriting, design, and media format considerations. She also looks at visual and verbal tactics and business theory and practices in relation to the creative message. IMC trends require students to become well-rounded professionals, understanding not only advertising but also marketing, public relations, sales promotion, and direct marketing.

Cover Art
A Handbook of Media and Communication Research - Klaus Bruhn Jensen (Editor)
Call Number: P91.3 H19
ISBN: 9780415609654
Publication Date: 2011-12-07
A Handbook of Media and Communication Researchpresents qualitative as well as quantitative approaches to the study of media and communication, integrating perspectives from both the social sciences and the humanities. Taking methodology as a strategic level of analysis that joins practical concerns with theoretical issues, the Handbook offers a comprehensive and in-depth review of the field and a set of guidelines for how to think about, plan, and carry out media and communication studies in different social and cultural contexts. The second edition has been thoroughly updated with reference to the development of the internet, mobile, and other digital media. Each chapter addresses shifting configurations of established media organizations, media discourses, and media users in networked practices of communication. The introduction and one further chapter probe changing conceptions on mass and interpersonal, online and offline communication – in research as in everyday life. Three new chapters have been added to exemplify different forms of research employing multiple methods to study multiple media in multiple contexts. List of contributors: Klaus Bruhn Jensen, Barrie Gunter, Rasmus Helles, Annette Hill, Stig Hjarvard, Peter Larsen, Amanda Lotz, Graham Murdock, Horace Newcomb, Paddy Scannell, Lynn Schofield Clark, Kim Christian Schrøder

Cover Art
A First Look at Communication Theory - Em Griffin
Call Number: P90 .G87
ISBN: 9780073534305
Publication Date: 2012
The most widely-used textbook for the communication theory course,A First Look at Communication Theoryanalyzes the major communication theories at a level that is appropriate for both lower- and upper-level courses. The theories represented in the text reflect a mix of foundational and recent scholarship and strike a balance of scientific and interpretive approaches.

Cover Art
McQuail's Mass Communication Theory - Denis McQuail
Call Number: P90 .M24
ISBN: 9781849202923
Publication Date: 2010-03-12
McQuail's Mass Communication Theory has been the benchmark for studying mass communication theory for more than 25 years. It remains the most authoritative and comprehensive introduction to the field and still offers unmatched coverage of the research literature. The Sixth Edition of this bestselling textbook covers everything a student needs to know of mass communication: communication models of the sender, the message and the audience and the diverse forms of mass communication today, including television, radio, newspapers, film, music, the internet and other forms of new media. This book proves that more than ever, theories of mass communication matter for the broader understanding of society and culture. Fully up-to-date, this new edition includes: New boxed case studies on key research publications, familiarizing students with the critical research texts in the field A new streamlined structure for better navigation More definitions, examples, and illustrations throughout to bring abstract concepts to life Major updates on new media, globalization, work and economy McQuail's Mass Communication Theory is the indispensable resource no student of media studies can afford to be without.

Cover Art
Communication As... - Gregory J. Shepherd (Editor); Jeffrey St. John (Editor); Ted Striphas (Editor)
Call Number: P90 .C73
ISBN: 141290658X
Publication Date: 2006
Communication As... is a collection of 27 essays by leading thinkers in the field of communication theory. Each author in the volume has chosen a particular stance on communication and forwarded it as a primary or essential way of viewing communication with decided benefits over other views. The chapters in the book are brief, argumentative, and forceful; together they explore the wide range of theorizing about communication, cutting across all lines of traditional divisions in the field.

Cover Art
Communication across cultures:the hermeneutics of cultures and religions in a global age - Chibueze C.Udeani
Call Number: GN345.6 C73
ISBN: 9781565182400
Publication Date: 2008
The hermeneutics of culture for a global age includes self-identity of peoples and communication across cultures.

Cover Art
Journalism : truth or dare? - Ian Hargreaves
Call Number: PN4731 .H21
ISBN: 9780192802743
Publication Date: 2003
This is a lively and provocative book that deals with contentious issues in contemporary journalism, including intrusion, lack of accountability, obscenity, trivialization, rumor-mongering, and libel. Offering a truly international perspective--ranging from the US, Canada, UK, Russia, France, Australia, Sweden, and Germany, Hargreaves tries to make sense of what journalism is becoming in the age of media saturation and hyperbole, from reportage on warfare to the cult of celebrity. Along the author ponders on the ethical responsibility of the journalist to respond to the demands of civil society, as opposed to the demands of the state.

Cover Art
Communication : an introduction to speech - Newcombe, P. Judson
Call Number: P95 .N43
ISBN: 9780205103041
Publication Date: 1988
This is a monograph in speech communication which is useful for all levels of students studying communication studies at the tertiary level.

Cover Art
Communication and management at work - Klikauer,Thomas
Call Number: HD30.3 K68
ISBN: 9780230515437
Publication Date: 2007
Uniquely, this book positions communication inside the historic development of work and management and shows how this development has led to the instrumental use of communication, informed by the distinction between those who manage and those who are managed and directed towards the control and system integration of the workers.

Cover Art
Communication and sustainable development : Selected papers from the 9th UN roundtable on communication for development. - United Nations
Call Number: HC79.E5 C73
ISBN: 9789251058831
Publication Date: 2007
Communication for Development is about dialogue, participation and the sharing of knowledge and information among people and institutions. The 9th UN Round-table (Rome, September 2004), focused on "Communication and sustainable development" and addressed three key inter-related themes that are central to this issue: Communication in Research, Extension and Education; Communication for Natural Resource Management; and Communication for isolated and Marginalized Groups. The selection of key note papers presented in this publication offers views and perspectives that contribute to these themes.

Cover Art
Communication for development and social change - Jan Servaes
Call Number: HD76 Ser
ISBN: 9780761936091
Publication Date: 2008
This volume is first and foremost about people and the processes needed to facilitate sharing of knowledge in order to effect positive developmental change. It is contextual and based on dialogue necessary to promote stakeholder’s participation, which is essential for the understanding of their perceptions, perspectives, values, attitudes and practices, so that these can be incorporated into the design and implementation of development initiatives.

Cover Art
Corporate responsibility - Michael Blowfield
Call Number: HD60 .B62
ISBN: 9780199581078
Publication Date: 2011
This title is a successful textbook that examines the multiple dimensions of corporate responsibility. Offering a perfect balance of theoretical and practical coverage, it provides a historical and interdisciplinary overview of the field; a summary of different management approaches; and a review of key actors and trends worldwide. The authors adopt a critical perspective that encourages students to debate various issues in this ever-evolving field. By combining an insightful and interdisciplinary approach with the pedagogy that students need.

Cover Art
The Yale book of quotations - Fred R. Shapiro
Call Number: PN6081 .Y1
ISBN: 9780300107982
Publication Date: 2006
This reader-friendly volume contains more than 12,000 famous quotations, arranged alphabetically by author. It is unique in its focus on American quotations and its inclusion of items not only from literary and historical sources but also from popular culture, sports, computers, science, politics, law, and the social sciences.

Cover Art
Television news : a handbook for writing, reporting, shooting, & editing - Teresa Keller
Call Number: PN4784.T4 K28
ISBN: 9781890871352
Publication Date: 2005
A book you can use from your broadcasting class through your beginning years in the television newsroom!

This book uses an integrated approach to teaching the fundamental skills of writing, reporting, shooting, and editing. This approach will enable you to learn the basics as interrelated processes that must be integrated to create an effective newscast. The book's comprehensive coverage allows readers to make important connections between writing, reporting, shooting, and editing.

Cover Art
Understanding media convergence : the state of the field - August E. Grant
Call Number: P90 .Un2
ISBN: 9780195327779
Publication Date: 2009
On our contemporary media landscape, the potential of the written word is limitless. Re-purposing print journalism for the Internet and beyond, convergent journalism invigorates and transforms how we create and experience media. A vital new resource in our digital age, Understanding Media Convergence outlines and investigates the broad theoretical and conceptual issues surrounding this emergent subject.

Cover Art
The news about the news : American journalism in peril - Leonard Downie, Jr.
Call Number: PN4855 .D75
ISBN: 0375408746
Publication Date: 2002
This is a very useful book for students in journalism.It forms a write up from two of America’s most prominent and accomplished journalists, an impassioned investigation of an endangered species, good journalism.

Cover Art
Business and Administrative Communication - Kitty O. Locker; Donna Kienzler
Call Number: HF5718 .L79
ISBN: 9780073403182
Publication Date: 2012-01-09
The tenth edition of Business and Administrative Communication is a true leader in the business communication field. It is described as flexible, specific, interesting, comprehensive, and up-to-date. Unique among business communications textbooks, it focuses on the rhetorical emphases of audience, purpose, and context to allow communicators to shape their messages more appropriately to all channels and for all purposes. Beyond covering the broad scope of topics in all forms of business communication, this text uses a student-friendly writing style and strong design elements to hold students' attention. Real-world examples and real business applications underscore the relevance and importance of the material to the business communication students’ academic and career work. The tenth edition also conveys the best possible advice to students through its research base; the author's reputation as a contributor to this field of study lends an even greater element of “teachability” and relevance to this market-leading title.

Cover Art
Communication and social action research - Joseph Pilotta
Call Number: HM776 .P64
ISBN: 978-1572733060
Publication Date: 2001
This volume details a methodology, and the strategies and skills for teaching community organizations and developing social action plans. It outlines an approach to social research and illustrates, through case studies of community enablement projects, the role it plays in urban communities.

HEAD,UNDL/SUBJECT LIBRARIAN

Profile Image
Newton Yao Akrong
Logo - AIM
Contact Info
UNDL,Balme Library,University of Ghana,Box LG 24,Legon.
Mob:024-4576006
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip