This is the "Selected Journal Titles" page of the "Information Studies" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Information Studies   Tags: archives, information studies, library studies, ugcat  

Academic and Research Guides for Information Studies
Last Updated: Oct 1, 2015 URL: http://libguides.ug.edu.gh/infomation_studies Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Selected Journal Titles Print Page
  Search: 
 

Some Useful Titles in Sage Journals

  • Business Information Review  
      
    Business Information Review (BIR) deals with the provision and management of information, content and knowledge in organisations. Published quarterly, the journal features articles, case studies and industry updates including news and trends from information publishers and vendors.
  • Health Informatics Journal  
      
    Health Informatics Journal provides a peer reviewed international forum for the exchange of practice, innovation and research.
  • IFLA Journal
    IFLA Journal is an international journal which publishes original peer reviewed articles, a selection of peer reviewed IFLA conference papers, and news of current IFLA activities. Content is selected to reflect the variety of the international information profession, ranging from freedom of access to information, knowledge management, services to the visually impaired and intellectual property.
  • Information Development  
      
    Information Development is a peer-reviewed journal that aims to provide authoritative coverage of current developments in the provision, management and use of information and communication technology throughout the world, with particular emphasis on the information needs and problems of developing countries.
  • Journal of Information Science
    The Journal of Information Science (JIS) is a peer-reviewed international journal of high repute covering topics of interest to all those researching and working in information science and knowledge management. JIS is edited by Adrian Dale and published 6 times a year.
  • Journal of Librarianship and Information Science
    Journal of Librarianship and Information Science (JOLIS) is the peer-reviewed international quarterly journal for librarians, information scientists, specialists, managers and educators interested in keeping up to date with the most recent issues and developments in the field.
  • Social Science Information  
      
    Social Science Information (SSI) is a major international forum for the analysis and debate of trends and approaches in social science research and teaching.

Some Useful Titles in Science Direct

  • Information and Organization  
      
    Information and Organization seeks to publish original scholarly articles on the relationships between information technologies and social organization. It seeks a scholarly understanding that is based on empirical research and relevant theory. Information and Organization also seeks to advance established and emerging theoretical arguments through the publication of papers that review empirical research and provide directions for future research and theory development.
  • Information Storage and Retrieval
  • International Journal of Information Management
    The International Journal of Information Management (IJIM) is an international, peer-reviewed journal which aims to bring its readers the very best analysis and discussion in the developing field of information management.
  • Library & Information Science Research
    Library & Information Science Research, a cross-disciplinary and refereed journal, focuses on the research process in library and information science as well as research findings and, where applicable, their practical applications and significance.
  • Library Acquisitions: Practice & Theory  
      
    Library Collections, Acquisitions, and Technical Services provides a forum for the international exchange of ideas and experiences among members of the library collection management, technical services, vendor and publishing communities throughout the world.
  • Library Collections, Acquisitions, and Technical Services  
      
    Library Collections, Acquisitions, and Technical Services provides a forum for the international exchange of ideas and experiences among members of the library collection management, technical services, vendor and publishing communities throughout the world.
  • Serials Review  
      
    Serials Review, issued quarterly, is a peer-reviewed scholarly journal for the international serials community. Articles focus on serials in the broadest sense of the term and cover all aspects of serials information; regular columns feature interviews, exchanges on controversial topics, book reviews, and conference reports.
  • Social Science Information Studies
    The International Journal of Information Management (IJIM) is an international, peer-reviewed journal which aims to bring its readers the very best analysis and discussion in the developing field of information management.
  • The International Information & Library Review  
      
    For more than twenty years, the International Information and Library Review has been welcomed by information scientists, librarians and other scholars and practitioners all over the world for its timely articles on research and development in international and comparative librarianship, information sciences, information policy and information ethics, digital values and digital libraries.
  • The Journal of Academic Librarianship  
      
    The Journal of Academic Librarianship, an international and refereed journal, publishes articles that focus on problems and issues germane to college and university libraries.
  • Information Processing & Management

Information, Communication & Library Sciences Titles in AJOL

Some Useful Titles in Agora

  • Library & Information Science Research
    Library & Information Science Research, a cross-disciplinary and refereed journal, focuses on the research process in library and information science as well as research findings and, where applicable, their practical applications and significance.
  • Library Acquisitions: Practice & Theory
    Library Collections, Acquisitions, and Technical Services provides a forum for the international exchange of ideas and experiences among members of the library collection management, technical services, vendor and publishing communities throughout the world.
  • Library Collections, Acquisitions, and Technical Services  
      
    Library Collections, Acquisitions, and Technical Services provides a forum for the international exchange of ideas and experiences among members of the library collection management, technical services, vendor and publishing communities throughout the world.
  • The Journal of Academic Librarianship  
      
    The Journal of Academic Librarianship, an international and refereed journal, publishes articles that focus on problems and issues germane to college and university libraries.

Some Useful Titles in JSTOR

  • ALA Bulletin
  • American Libraries
    American Libraries, the flagship magazine of the American Library Association, is published bimonthly, six times a year, with four quarterly digital supplements, by the American Library Association. The magazine is sent to some 65,000 individuals and organizations worldwide. ALA members receive American Libraries as a perquisite of membership.
  • Archival Issues
    Archival Issues is the journal of the Midwest Archives Conference, one of the largest regional professional archival organizations in the country. Published twice annually, the peer-reviewed journal circulates throughout the United States and internationally.
  • Journal of Education for Library and Information Science
    The official publication of the Association for Library and Information Science Education, JELIS is a scholarly journal that serves as a forum for discussion and presentation of research and issues within the field of library and information science (LIS) education.
  • Libraries & the Cultural Record
    L&CR is an interdisciplinary journal that explores the significance of collections of recorded knowledge – their creation, organization, preservation, and utilization – in the context of cultural and social history.
  • The American Archivist
    Peer-reviewed research articles, case studies, in-depth perspectives, and international scene papers address a wide variety of topics, such as digitization and digital preservation, electronic records, selection and appraisal, description and cataloging, reference and public services, preservation, records management, photographs and visual arts, disaster and contingency planning, copyright, intellectual property, legal issues, and authenticity. The journal also reviews books and other archival literature, web resources, and archival tools and products. The American Archivist has the largest circulation of any English-language archives journal.
  • The Library Quarterly: Information, Community, Policy
    The Library Quarterly (LQ) is an international journal dedicated to scholarship about libraries as organizations that connect their communities to information. The journal publishes research that explores the changing roles of libraries as they pertain to the growing influence of information in policymaking, equity, access, inclusion, human rights, and other societal issues.

    From its inception in 1931, LQ has featured reports of research, evaluative essays, and thoughtful reviews of resources from library and information science and other fields. The journal embraces a wide array of original research perspectives, approaches, and types of analysis, making it the journal best positioned to chronicle the evolution of libraries and the related intersections of information, community, and policy.

Some Useful Titles in Project Muse

  • Canadian Journal of Information and Library Science
    A respected source of the most up-to-date research on library and information science, The Canadian Journal of Information and Library Science is recognized internationally for its authoritative bilingual contributions to the field of information science. Established in 1976, the journal is produced by CAIS/ACSI and is dedicated to the publication of research findings, both in full-length and in brief format; reviews of books; software and technology; and letters to the editor.
  • Information & Culture: A Journal of History
    Information and Culture: A Journal of History explores the interactions of people, organizations, and societies with information and technologies. Social and cultural context of information and information technology, viewed from an historical perspective, is at the heart of the journal's interests.
  • Journal of Scholarly Publishing
    The Journal of Scholarly Publishing addresses the age-old problems in publishing as well as the new challenges resulting from changes in technology and funding. Some articles suggest ways to get effectively published in books and journals, while others address such topics as editorial and publishing policy, computer applications, electronic publishing, effective marketing and business management.
  • Library Trends  
      
    Library Trends, issued quarterly and edited by Boyd Rayward and Alistair Black, explores critical trends in professional librarianship, including practical applications, thorough analyses, and literature reviews. Both practicing librarians and educators use Library Trends as an essential tool in their professional development and continuing education.
  • Portal: Libraries and the Academy  
      
    A journal that presents research findings and provides regular coverage of issues in technology, publishing, and periodicals, portal is written by librarians for librarians. Peer-reviewed articles address subjects such as library administration, information technology, and information policy.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip