This is the "UG Titles" page of the "Geography and Resource Development" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Geography and Resource Development  

Last Updated: Oct 1, 2015 URL: http://libguides.ug.edu.gh/content.php?pid=439946 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

UG Titles Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Some titles in Geography and Resource Development

Cover Art
Urban and Regional Planning - Mark Tewdwr-Jones
Call Number: HT166.G7 H14
ISBN: 9780415566544
Publication Date: 2010-12-17
This is the fifth edition of the classic text for students of urban and regional planning. It gives an historical overview of the developments and changes in the theory and practice of planning, throughout the entire twentieth century. This extensively revised edition follows the successful format of previous editions: it introduces the establishment of planning as part of the public health reforms of the late nineteenth century and goes on to look at the insights of the great figures who influenced the early planning movement, leading up to the creation of the post-war planning machine national and regional planning, and planning for cities and city regions, in the UK, from 1945 to 2010, is then considered. Specific reference is made to the most important British developments in recent times, including the Single Regeneration Budget, English Partnerships, the devolution of Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland, the establishment of the Mayor of London and the dominant urban sustainability paradigm planning in Western Europe, since 1945, now incorporating new material on EU-wide issues, as well as updated country specific sections planning in the United States, since 1945, now discussing the continuing trends of urban dispersal and social polarisation, as well as initiatives in land use planning and transportation policies finally the book looks at the nature of the planning process at the start of the twenty-first century, reflecting briefly on shifts in planning paradigms since the 1960s and going on to discuss the main issues of the 1990s and 2000s, including sustainability and social exclusion and looking forward to the twenty-first century.

Cover Art
Climatology - Robert V. Rohli; Anthony J. Vega
Call Number: QC981 .R63
ISBN: 9780763791018
Publication Date: 2011-01-06
Ideal for the upper-level undergraduate or introductory-level graduate courses, the second edition presents students with a thorough foundation on the climactic system. The authors begin with an overview of climatology basics, including a discussion on climatology versus meteorology and an introduction to the atmosphere. They then introduce more advanced concepts, such as microscale transfer of energy, matter, and momentum; the global water balance; global atmospheric circulation; climatic classification with special emphasis on the regional differences within the same climate types; and much more.

Cover Art
Water Resources and Development - Clive Agnew
Call Number: HD1691 .Ag6
ISBN: 9780415451390
Publication Date: 2010-12-21
Since the start of the twenty-first century there has been an unprecedented focus upon water as a key factor in the future of both society and environment. Water management lies at the heart of strategies of development as does the added the hazard of climate change. Water Resources and Developmentprovides a stimulating interdisciplinary introduction to the role of water resources in shaping opportunities and constraints for development. The book begins by charting the evolution of approaches to water management. It identifies an emerging polarization in the late twentieth century between technical " and social " strategies. In the past decade these two axes of policy debate have been further intersected by discussion of the scale at which management decisions should be made: the relative effectiveness of global " and local " governance of water. A variety of case studies elaborate this analytical framework, exemplifying four key development challenges: economic growth, poverty reduction, competition and conflict over water, and adaptation to climate change. Current best practice " for water management is examined, addressing strategies of water supply augmentation, the ecological implications of intensified use, and strategies of demand management guided by economic or political principles.  It is argued defining successful " water management and best practice requires first the establishment of development goals and the implicit trade-offs between water consumption and conservation. This engaging and insightful text offers a unique interdisciplinary analysis by integrating scientific, engineering, social and political perspectives. This is an essential text for courses on development studies, geography, earth sciences and the environment.

Cover Art
Fundamentals of Satellite Remote Sensing - Emilio Chuvieco; Alfredo Huete
Call Number: G70.4 .C47
ISBN: 9780415310840
Publication Date: 2009-12-01
An extensive review of remote sensing principles with an emphasis on environmental applications, Fundamentals of Satellite Remote Sensingdiscusses a wide range of topics, from physical principles to data acquisition systems and on to visual and digital interpretation techniques. The text focuses on the interpretation and analysis of remote sensing images and how they improve our understanding of environmental processes and their interaction with human activities. The authors discuss new interpretation approaches, including hyperspectral analysis, high-spatial resolution data, and radiative transfer models. The presentation includes an analysis of accuracy assessment methods and demonstrates how to integrate remote sensing results with geographic information systems. It also covers recent missions, such as Terra-Aqua, Envisat, Ikonos-Quickbird-Geoeye and SPOT-5, as well as LIDAR and interpherometric radar. The discussion of visual criteria to extract interpretation from satellite images emphasizes differences and similarities with conventional photo-interpretation techniques. A chapter on accuracy assessment and the connection between remote sensing and geographic information systems helps readers extend the interpretation of satellite images to a more operational, applications-oriented framework.

Cover Art
Linked Data - Glen Hart; Catherine Dolbear
Call Number: G70.2 H25
ISBN: 9781439869956
Publication Date: 2013-01-28
Geographic Information has an important role to play in linking and combining datasets through shared location, but the potential is still far from fully realized because the data is not well organized and the technology to aid this process has not been available. Developments in the Semantic Web and Linked Data, however, are making it possible to integrate data based on Geographic Information in a way that is more accessible to users. Drawing on the industry experience of a geographer and a computer scientist, Linked Data: A Geographic Perspective is a practical guide to implementing Geographic Information as Linked Data. Combine Geographic Information from Multiple Sources Using Linked Data After an introduction to the building blocks of Geographic Information, the Semantic Web, and Linked Data, the book explores how Geographic Information can become part of the Semantic Web as Linked Data. In easy-to-understand terms, the authors explain the complexities of modeling Geographic Information using Semantic Web technologies and publishing it as Linked Data. They review the software tools currently available for publishing and modeling Linked Data and provide a framework to help you evaluate new tools in a rapidly developing market. They also give an overview of the important languages and syntaxes you will need to master. Throughout, extensive examples demonstrate why and how you can use ontologies and Linked Data to manipulate and integrate real-world Geographic Information data from multiple sources. A Practical, Readable Guide for Geographers, Software Engineers, and Laypersons A coherent, readable introduction to a complex subject, this book supplies the durable knowledge and insight you need to think about Geographic Information through the lens of the Semantic Web. It provides a window to Linked Data for geographers, as well as a geographic perspective for software engineers who need to understand how to work with Geographic Information. Highlighting best practices, this book helps you organize and publish Geographic Information on the Semantic Web with more confidence.

Cover Art
Soil Mechanics Laboratory Manual - Braja M. Das
Call Number: TA710.5 D26
ISBN: 9780199846375
Publication Date: 2012-06-01
Soil Mechanics Laboratory Manual covers the essential properties of soils and their behavior under stress and strain and provides clear, step-by-step explanations for conducting typical soil tests. This market-leading text offers careful explanations of laboratory procedures to help reduceerrors and improve safety. Written by acclaimed author Braja M. Das, Dean Emeritus of Engineering at California State University, Sacramento, this manual also provides a detailed discussion of the AASHTO Classification System and the Unified Soil Classification System.

Cover Art
The Nature and Properties of Soils - Nyle C. Brady; Ray R. Weil; Raymond C. Weil
Call Number: S591 .B72
ISBN: 9780132279383
Publication Date: 2007-09-06
Featuring new photographs, diagrams, and special “boxes” ,The Nature and Property of Soilsis an engaging book for readers. It has an ecological approach that explains the fundamentals of soil science effectively.Chapter topics include Soil Erosion and Its Control, Soil Acidity, Soils and Chemical Pollution, and Organisms and the Ecology of the Soil.For individuals interested in soil and the environment.

Cover Art
Geography : realms, regions and concepts - Peter O. Muller; H. J. de Blij; Nijman
Call Number: G128 .D34
ISBN: 9781118093603
Publication Date: 2011-10-11
The 15th Edition of H.J. deBlij and Peter Muller's Geography: Realms, Regions, and Concepts has been expanded and enhanced upon previous editions. This carefully crafted text by one of the most traveled, knowledgeable and authoritative geography authors, H.J. deBlij provides a comprehensive understanding about the world with a long history of on authoritative content, outstanding cartography, currency, and comprehensive coverage, in a technology-rich package. A new online World Regional Geography program is one of many new strong and effective technologies included. New Organization! Chapters are now divided into A/B sections. Within each chapter, Part A, Defining the Realm, examines developments that unfold across the entire realm or major parts of it. In Part B, Regions of the Realm, the authors explore the regions within the realms to view developments at a finer resolution and examine the role of individual states and national cultures. New and updated content incorporated into the narrative of every chapter. Chapters 8A and 8B (South Asia), for example, now discusses recent developments in the cultural and religious conflict between Pakistan and India, as well as a more detailed discussion of economic growth and effects of globalization in South Asia. New "Voice From the Region" feature, in every chapter. Each essay showcases the local perspective of an individual who resides in the realm. Many new photographs and field notes, taken by co-author Jan Nijman while doing fieldwork. New BBC videos, which can be used as lecture-launchers in class

Cover Art
Worldwide destinations : the geography of travel and tourism - Brian G. Boniface; Chris Cooper; Robyn Cooper
Call Number: G155.A1 B64
ISBN: 9780415522779
Publication Date: 2012-07-10
Worldwide Destinations: The Geography of Travel and Tourismis a unique text that explores tourism demand, supply, organisation and resources for a comprehensive range of destinations worldwide. The sixth edition is brought up to date with features such as: An exploration of current issues such as climate change, recreational preferences, demographic changes and the social impacts of tourism. An extended chapter on Asian tourism to reflect developments in the travel industry. Improved full colour presentation, packed with helpful teaching suggestions, including discussion points and assignments to encourage greater student involvement. The first part of the book comprises thematic chapters which detail the geographic knowledge and principles required to analyze the tourism appeal of destinations. The subsequent division of the book into regional chapters enables the student to carry out a systematic analysis of a particular destination, by providing insights on cultural characteristics as well as information on specific places. Worldwide Destinations: The Geography of Travel and Tourismis an invaluable resource for studying every destination in the world, by explaining tourism demand, evaluating the many types of tourist attractions and examining the trends that may shape the future geography of tourism. This thorough guide is a must-have for any student undertaking a course in travel and tourism.

Cover Art
World Geography of Travel and Tourism - Alan Lew; C. Michael Hall; Dallen J. Timothy
Call Number: G155.A1 L58
ISBN: 9780750679787
Publication Date: 2008-04-30
World Geography of Travel and Tourism addresses the need to understand the cultural, environmental, historical and political context in which international tourism takes place. The expert author team has included major themes and issues in tourism, and positioned them in a regional context. In this way, this text takes a major step into a more analytical approach to global tourism while still providing a clear account of the geography of travel and tourism. The book is accompanied by the author's site WorldGTT.com, which includes; PowerPoints for figures and images with captions, question database files which instructors can use as they wish and a blog post for communicating with other members of the site. World Geography of Travel and Tourism makes vital reading for any student seeking an introduction to tourism geography and indeed, international tourism and global geography as a whole. . Develops a clear analytical framework and systematic context for the study of international tourism and travel . Presents a global account of travel geography organised around key regions . Provides regional knowledge from around the world that assists the reader to understand some of the main factors that affect tourism patterns and flows . Is fully supported by the website: WorldGTT.com, which is both designed and maintained by the authors

Cover Art
Marketing and Managing Tourism Destinations - Alastair Morrison
Call Number: G155.A1 M83
ISBN: 9780415672504
Publication Date: 2013-04-10
Marketing and Managing Tourism Destinationsis a comprehensive and integrated textbook which uniquely considers both destination marketing and management in one volume. It focuses on how destination marketing is planned, implemented and evaluated as well as the management and operations of destination marketing and management organizations, how they conduct business, major opportunities, challenges and issues they face to compete for the global leisure and business travel markets. This textbook provides students with: A solid introduction to destination marketing strategy and planning, to organization and support planning and then to operations, implementation and evaluation, as well as major issues, challenges and expected new directions for destination marketing, management and Destination Management Organizations (DMOs). A unique systematic model to manage and market destinations. Core concepts are supported with well integrated international case studies to show the practical realities of marketing and managing destinations as well as the need to take a flexible and adaptive approach to managing different destinations around the world. To encourage reflection on main themes addressed and spur critical thinking, discussion questions and links to further reading are included in each chapter. This accessible yet rigorous text provides students with an in-depth overview of all the factors and issues which are important to consider to make a destination successful.

Cover Art
Introducing Physical Geography - Alan H. Strahler
Call Number: GB54.5St8
ISBN: 9780470134863
Publication Date: 2010-03-01
Introducing Physical Geography, Fifth Edition is a comprehensive text that builds upon the decades of success of Strahler, who is one of the foremost geographers in the world. This new fifth edition includes all new sections with the capabilities of connecting to multimedia and covers new updates to the subject area. The text also includes current examples of environmental phenomena relating to the global changes. The readability of the text has been enhanced with new placements of boxed features and supplementary material.

 

Reference Resources

Cover Art
The Dictionary of Human Geography - Sarah Whatmore (Editor); Derek Gregory (Editor); Ron Johnston (Editor); Geraldine Pratt (Editor); Michael Watts (Editor)
Call Number: GF4 .D56
ISBN: 9781405132879
Publication Date: 2009-06-30
With clear, critical, and constructive surveys of key terms by leading researchers in the field, The Dictionary of Human Geography, fifth edition, remains the definitive guide to the concepts and debates in human geography. Comprehensively revised new edition of a highly successful text with over 300 key terms appearing for the first time Situates Human Geography within the humanities, social sciences and sciences as a whole Written by leading experts in the field Major entries not only describe the development of concepts, contributions and debates in Human Geography but also advance them Features a new consolidated bibliography along with a detailed index and systematic cross-referencing of headwords

Cover Art
The Penguin dictionary of physical geography / John B. Whittow. - Whittow, John B.
Call Number: GB10 W61
ISBN: 0140514503
Publication Date: 2000.

 

Search Online Catalogue (UGCat)

The UGCat lists books and theses in the libraries.

 

Google Books Search

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip