This is the "Research Issues" page of the "Geography and Resource Development" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Geography and Resource Development  

Last Updated: Oct 1, 2015 URL: http://libguides.ug.edu.gh/content.php?pid=439946 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Research Issues Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Referencing Tips

When you are reading a book, a book chapter, journal article, document on the web etc., it is important that you note down the bibliographic details (eg. author, title, year of publication, URL, etc) of the material.  This is because you will have to cite the resources you used in your work.  Failing to cite or reference the resource you used to complete your assignment or project work, is a breach of copyright law and you can be charged for plagiarism.  Remember to always cite your sources of information at the end of your work.

Citations for books

Name of the author(s)
Title of the book
Volume when appropriate
Name of the publisher
Place of publication
Edition number if not the first edition
Year of publication
Chapter or page number(s)if appropriate.

Citations for journal article

Name of the author(s)
Title of the article
Year of publication
Name of the journal
Volume number
Issue number
Page number(s).

Web pages

Name of the author(s)
Title of the article
Domain name/URL of the website
Publisher, if known
Date of publication
Page number(s) (if applicable)
The date you retrieved (or accessed) the webpage.


 

Some Useful Referencing Books

Cover Art
The Complete Guide to Referencing and Avoiding Plagiarism - Colin Neville
Call Number: PN171.F56 N41
ISBN: 9780335241033
Publication Date: 2010-02-01
This excellent new edition of The Complete Guide to Referencing and Avoiding Plagiarism continues to demystify the referencing process and provide essential guidance to make sure you are not committing plagiarism. It provides clear guidelines on why and when to reference as well as how to correctly cite from a huge range of sources.

Tackling all the main forms of referencing - Harvard, APA, MLA and Numerical referencing styles - in an accessible and comprehensive manner, you'll want to dip into this book time and again. A unique feature of the book is the comparisons it makes between different referencing styles, which are shown side-by-side. This provides a useful guide, particularly for students on combined studies courses who may be expected to use two, and sometimes three, different referencing styles.

The Complete Guide to Referencing and Avoiding Plagiarism is essential reading for all students and professionals who need to use referencing in academic writing to reflect their own ideas, constructively apply the work of others, and to avoid plagiarism.

Cover Art
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association - American Psychological Association Staff
Call Number: BF76.7 P96
ISBN: 9781557987914
Publication Date: 2001-08-01
With more than 10 million copies sold, the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association is the style manual of choice for writers, editors, students, educators, and professionals in psychology and the behavioral sciences, sociology, business, economics, nursing, social work, criminology and justice administration, and other disciplines in which effective communication with words and data is fundamental. In addition to providing clear guidance on grammar, the mechanics of writing, and APA style, the Publication Manual offers an authoritative, easy-to-use reference and citation system and comprehensive coverage of the treatment of numbers, metrication, statistical and mathematical data, tables, and figures for use in writing, reports, or presentations. The new edition has been revised and updated to include * The latest guidelines and examples for referencing electronic and online sources * New and revised guidelines for submitting papers electronically * Improved guidelines for avoiding plagiarism * Simplified formatting guidelines for writers using up-to-date word-processing software * New guidelines for presenting case studies * Improved guidelines for the construction of tables * Updates on copyright and permissions issues for writers * New reference examples for audiovisual media and patents * An expanded and improved index for quick and easy access. Writers, scholars, and professionals will also find * New guidelines on how to choose text, tables, or figures to present data * Guidelines for writing cover letters for submitting articles for publication, plus a sample letter * Expanded guidelines on the retention of raw data * New advice on establishing written agreements for the use of shared data * New information on the responsibilities of coauthors. New and experienced readers alike will find the Fifth Edition a complete resource for writing, presenting, or publishing with clarity and persuasiveness.

 

Some Relevant Research Method Books

Cover Art
Qualitative Inquiry and Research Design - John W. Creswell
Call Number: H61 .C86
ISBN: 9781412995313
Publication Date: 2012-03-14
In this Third Edition of his bestselling text John W. Creswell explores the philosophical underpinnings, history, and key elements of each of five qualitative inquiry traditions: narrative research, phenomenology, grounded theory, ethnography, and case study. In his signature accessible writing style, the author relates research designs to each of the traditions of inquiry. He compares theoretical frameworks, ways to employ standards of quality, and strategies for writing introductions to studies, collecting data, analyzing data, writing a narrative, and verifying results.

Cover Art
Basics of Qualitative Research - Anselm Strauss (Editor); Juliet Corbin (Editor); Lidwien de Wijngaert
Call Number: HA29. C81
ISBN: 9781412906432
Publication Date: 2007-11-19
The Third Edition of the bestselling Basics of Qualitative Research:Techniques and Procedures for Developing Grounded Theory continues to offer immensely practical advice and technical expertise to aid researchers in making sense of their collected data. Authors Juliet Corbin and the late Anselm Strauss (co-creator of Grounded Theory) present methods that enable researchers to analyze and interpret their data, and ultimately build theory from it. Highly accessible in their approach, Corbin and Strauss provide a step-by-step guide to the research act--from the formation of the research question through several approaches to coding and analysis, to reporting on the research. Full of definitions and illustrative examples, this book concludes with chapters that present criteria for evaluating a study, as well as responses to common questions posed by students of qualitative research. Significantly revised, Basics of Qualitative Research remains a landmark volume in the study of qualitative methods. Key Features of the Third Edition: Allows for students to develop their critical thinking skills in the "Critical Issues" section at the end of each chapter. Shows the actual steps involved in data analysis (from description to grounded theory) and data gathering by means of theoretical sampling. Provides exercises for thinking, writing and group discussion that reinforces material presented in the text.

Cover Art
Key Methods in Geography - Gill Valentine (Editor); Nicholas Clifford (Editor)
Call Number: G74.K52
ISBN: 076197492X
Publication Date: 2003-06-06
Key Methods in Geography is an introduction for undergraduates to the principal methodological issues involved in the collection, analysis and presentation of geographical information. It provides an accessible primer, which will be used by students as a reference throughout their degree, on all issues from research design to presentation. A unique feature of the book is that it provides definitions of terms from both human geography and physical geography. Organized into four parts: Getting Started in Geographical Research; Data Collection in Human Geography; Data Collection in Physical Geography; Analysing and Representing Geographical Data - each chapter comprises: - a short definition - a summary of the principal arguments - a substantive 5,000-word discussion - use of real-life examples - annotated notes for further reading. The teaching of research methods is integral in all geography courses. Aligned with the Geography Benchmark Statement Key Methods in Geography identifies the key analytical and observational strategies with which all UK geography undergraduates should be conversant.

Cover Art
Doing Your Literature Review - Jill Jesson; Lydia Matheson; Fiona M. Lacey
Call Number: H62.J49
ISBN: 9781848601543
Publication Date: 2011-03-14
This highly accessible book guides students through the production of either a traditional or a systematic literature review, clearly explaining the difference between the two types of review, the advantages and disadvantages of both, and the skills needed. It gives practical advice on reading and organizing relevant literature and critically assessing the reviewed field. Contents include using libraries and the internet, note making, presentation, critical analysis, and referencing, plagiarism, and copyright.

 

Relevant resource to writing your dissertation

Cover Art
The Dissertation Journey - Carol M. Roberts
Call Number: LB1742 .R54
ISBN: 9781412977982
Publication Date: 2010-08-23
The dissertation is a tough mountain to climb; half of all doctoral students never make it to the top. To overcome the practical, emotional, and psychologcal obstacles along the way, you'll need the right tools and a knowledgeable guide. This informative and inspirational book readies you for each step of the dissertation process, including choosing a topic, selecting the committee, getting acclimated to academic writing, preparing for your oral defense, and publishing your research. This second edition of The Dissertation Journey offers new and updated feautes, including: a chapter on ethical considerations; expanded coverage of digital data collection and using the Internet for research; more detailed information on conducting the literature review; and a discussion of how to develop a theorectical or conceptual framework. With graphics, checklists, inspirational quotes, illustrations, and sample forms, this valuable resource is your essential guidebook to preparing, writing, and defending your dissertation.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip