This is the "UG Titles" page of the "Family & Consumer Sciences" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Research guide to print and online sources for teaching, learning and research.
Last Updated: Oct 19, 2015 URL: http://libguides.ug.edu.gh/content.php?pid=563493 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

UG Titles Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Selected Books on Family & Consumer Sciences

Cover Art
Closing the Gap - Jay McGraw; Phil McGraw (Foreword by)
Call Number: HQ799.15 .M17
ISBN: 0743224698
Publication Date: 2001-11-13
Parents: Does your teen withdraw to his or her room at every opportunity? Does she talk with you about her friends? Does he participate in discussions at meals? Does your teen want you to see projects from school? When is the last time you actually went into your teen's room and looked at what's hanging on the walls and sitting on the shelves? Teens: Do your parents hide behind the newspaper? Do they always have to work when you've got a game, a recital, or an open house at school? Is there anything you do together anymore? When was the last time they took a walk, a bike ride, or even a trip to get ice cream with you? When did that sudden gap divide your home into territories staked and claimed, with music blasting through the halls and fists banging on doors to turn down the stereo/TV/video game? Teens, when did you start seeing your parents as your enemies instead of your heroes? And parents, when did you start seeing your teens as crazy little demons instead of your loving children? Finally, there is a solution for both sides, and one that will not only bridge that gap but show parents and teens alike how to prevent it. Jay McGraw is the ideal person to write a book for both parents and teens. A bestselling author by the age of twenty-one and son of number one New York Times bestseller Phillip C. McGraw, Ph.D., known to millions worldwide as Dr. Phil, Jay has seen the parent-teen battle from all angles. In this groundbreaking work, he introduces a new plan for both teens and their parents to work through the issues that divide them and, in the process, rediscover the love that initially defined their relationship. Jay works from both sides -- sharing the perspectives of parent and teen as the former struggles for control, the latter for independence. He explains to parents how their teenagers wish to be treated, cared for, and even disciplined, and he shows teens how gaining power can come only from earning respect. In this entertaining, informative, and life-changing book, Jay gives instructions to both sides of the familial gap on: Dos and Don'ts for Parents and Teens Parent and Teen Myths Discovering Your Needs Tuning In to the Needs of Others Ten Ways to Bridge the Gap and Reconnect In finding a common ground and, even more important, a common respect for each other, parents and teens can break down the walls, unlock the doors, and welcome each other back into one another's lives again.

Cover Art
Community Nutrition - Nweze Nnakwe
Call Number: TX354 .N65
ISBN: 0763747602
Publication Date: 2008-12-23
This text uses real-world examples to reinforce core nutrition concepts and explores the current and emerging nutrition issues faced by today's diverse communities. It presents the skills, cultural concepts, and background knowledge to promote health and prevent disease.

Cover Art
Community Nutrition in Action - Marie A. Boyle; David H. Holben; Marie Boyle Struble; David Holben
Call Number: TX360.U6 B69
ISBN: 0495559016
Publication Date: 2009-07-15
COMMUNITY NUTRITION IN ACTION, FIFTH EDITION introduces the program planning, policies, resources, and nutrition issues specific to community nutrition and provides an understanding of creating and implementing nutrition programs from various constituencies (elderly populations, children, impoverished populations, college students, etc.). Successful practitioners in community nutrition have proven to have a mind and skill set that opens them up to new ideas and ventures. Incorporating an entrepreneurial approach, this book helps readers learn how to take risks, try new technologies, and use fresh approaches to improving the public's nutrition and health status. The book also delivers the core material important to those who will be active in solving community nutritional and health problems, including program delivery, nutrition education, nutrition assessment, and planning nutrition interventions.

Cover Art
Computer Technology for Textiles and Apparel - Jinlian Hu (Editor)
Call Number: TS1449 .C73
ISBN: 9781845697297
Publication Date: 2011-07-14
Computer technology has transformed textiles from their design through to their manufacture and has contributed to significant advances in the textile industry. Computer technology for textiles and apparel provides an overview of these innovative developments for a wide range of applications, covering topics including structure and defect analysis, modelling and simulation, and apparel design. The book is divided into three parts. Part one provides a review of different computer-based technologies suitable for textile materials, and includes chapters on computer technology for yarn and fabric structure analysis, defect analysis and measurement. Chapters in part two discuss modelling and simulation principles of fibres, yarns, textiles and garments, while part three concludes with a review of computer-based technologies specific to apparel and apparel design, with themes ranging from 3D body scanning to the teaching of computer-aided design to fashion students. With its distinguished editor and international team of expert contributors, Computer technology for textiles and apparel is an invaluable tool for a wide range of people involved in the textile industry, from designers and manufacturers to fibre scientists and quality inspectors. Provides an overview of innovative developments in computer technology for a wide range of applications Covers structure and defect analysis, modelling and simulation and apparel design Themes range from 3D body scanning to the teaching of computer-aided design to fashion students

Cover Art
Families and Health - William J. Doherty; Thomas L. Campbell
Call Number: RA418.5.F3 D68
ISBN: 0803929927
Publication Date: 1988-04-01
Families and Health is the first textbook to present an overview of the research on the relationship between families and health, placing an emphasis on common family patterns related to health and illness and interactions between families and the health care system. The volume includes discussions of family experiences with health promotion and risk reduction, vulnerability and illness onset, illness appraisal, acute response and adaptation to illness. Separate chapters address each of these situations in relation to such areas as cardiovascular disease, cancer, diabetes, and bereavement.

Cover Art
Principles of Nutritional Assessment - Rosalind S. Gibson
Call Number: RC621 .G35
ISBN: 9780195171693
Publication Date: 2005-03-31
This is a comprehensive text on the methods - dietary, anthropometric, laboratory and clinical - of assessing the nutritional status of populations and of individuals in the hospital or the community. This Second Edition incorporates recent data from national nutritional surveys in the US and Europe; the flood of new information about iron, vitamin A and iodine; the role of folate in preventing neural tube defects; the use of HPLC techniques and enzyme assays; improvements in data handling; and many other developments. A paperback edition of this book is available to readers living outside of North America and Europe. Interested parties should contact the author at: rsgibson@nutrition.earthlight.co.nz http://nutrition.earthlight.co.nz

Cover Art
Family Resource Management - Sylvia M. Asay; Tami J. (James) Moore
Call Number: HQ10.5.U6 M78
ISBN: 9781412991179
Publication Date: 2012-07-17
Family Resource Management addresses the purposeful management of resources from a family systems perspective focusing on the impact decisions have on the family unit and not just on the individuals making the decision.Students will be introduced to Family Resource Management from the viewpoint of the helping professional in assisting families to achieve the identified goals they have established.The text will be structured to parallel the decision-making process employed by such helping professionals and thus will include sections organized as follows:1) introducing the study of family resource management; 2) identifying family needs; 3) understanding resources available to families in differing socioeconomic circumstances; 4) evaluating alternatives and making choices; and 5) implementing and evaluating decisions.A strong theory base, material from multiple disciplines, and the organization of material within the decision-making process facilitate both understanding and retention.Features and Benefits:Includes full coverage of topics required by the National Council on Family Relations for programs seeking to obtain Certified Family Life Educator accreditation. Emphasizes the significance of diversity found within structure, ethnic and cultural backgrounds, and varied lifestyles of contemporary family life. Assists student learning with abundant pedagogy: chapter-opening learning objectives, key terms, and introductions; key terms bolded and defined when they first appear (and included in an end-of-book glossary); 'Reality Check' boxes illustrating content with real-life current events, news stories, and scenarios; 'World View' boxes providing a global or multicultural perspective; and chapter-concluding summaries, questions for review and discussion.Invites students to follow particular families through topics included in the course via a Student Casebook located at the end of the text. New edition changes have not been determined yet.

Cover Art
The Global Textile and Clothing Industry - R. Shishoo (Editor)
Call Number: TS1445 .G51
ISBN: 1845699394
Publication Date: 2012-07-18
Advances in technology, combined with the ever-evolving needs of the global market, are having a strong impact on the textile and clothing sector. The global textile and clothing industry: Technological advances and future challenges provides an essential review of these changes, and considers their implications for future strategies concerning production and marketing of textile products. Beginning with a review of trends in the global textile industry, the book goes on to consider the impact of environmental regulation on future textile products and processes. Following this, the importance of innovation-driven textile research and development, and the role of strategic technology roadmapping are highlighted. Both the present structure and future adaptation of higher education courses in textile science are reviewed, before recent advances in textile manufacturing technology, including joining techniques, 3D body scanning and garment design and explored in depth. Finally, The global textile and clothing industry concludes by considering automating textile preforming technology for the mass production of fibre-reinforced polymer (FRP) composites. With its distinguished editor and international team of expert contributors, The global textile and clothing industry: Technological advances and future challenges is an essential guide to key challenges and developments in this industrial sector. Comprehensively examines the implications of technological advancements and the evolving needs of the global market on the textile and clothing industry and considers their role on the future of textile manufacturing The importance of innovation-driven textile research and development and the role of strategic technology roadmapping are thoroughly investigated Recent advances in textile manufacturing technology, including joining techniques, 3D body scanning and garment design and explored in depth

Cover Art
Home Management - Steve Johnson
Call Number: SB317.N43 B73
ISBN: 0582650992
Publication Date: 1985

Cover Art
Marriages and Families - Nijole V. Benokraitis
Call Number: HQ536 .B43
ISBN: 0132431734
Publication Date: 2007-03-05
Exceptionally comprehensive, innately interesting, and extremely readable, this best-seller introduces readers to the study of contemporary marriages and families in ways to which they can easily relate. It examines thediversityof American families–giving equal attention to all racial, ethnic, and other societal groups–and examines not only thechoices, but theconstraintsthat often limit our family-related choices today. This open-minded approach, combined with a set of practical guidelines presented in each chapter, encourages learners to think and act for themselves–and thereby join the effort to resolve some of the crucial issues confronting 21st century families.A six-part organization places marriage and the family in perspective, looks at the individual and developing relationships, as well as the individual and marital commitments, considers parents and children, explores conflicts and crises, and offers an understanding of changes and transitions.For those interested in a complete and current study of marital and family relationships in America.

Cover Art
New African Fashion - Helen Jennings
Call Number: Af/ GT1580 J44
ISBN: 3791345796
Publication Date: 2011-10-21
From Africa-inspired to African-made, this guide is the first to celebrate a new wave of fashion designers who are emerging on the global stage. Ever since the late 1960s when Yves Saint Laurent and Paco Rabanne presented African-inspired collections, the textiles, details, and colors of Africa have moved into the realm of high fashion. In the past few years, young designers from the continent itself have emerged as people to watch in the fashion world. Helen Jennings, editor of award-winning ARISE magazine, offers in this book a brief history of African fashion, beauty and style, follows its influence on modern designers, and spotlights the best designers, photographers, and models from across the continent and the African diaspora. Profiling popular lines such as Duro Olowu, Jewel by Lisa, Black Coffee, and Eric Raisina, Jennings explores the myriad reasons why African fashion is having its moment in the sun. She shows show designers are looking beyond clichés of the African aesthetic by embracing both traditional and contemporary fabrics and garments, and how the passion for ethically and environmentally conscious clothing is fueling this trend. As colorful and exciting as the fashions it features, this volume will appeal to anyone interested in following the world's most exciting new fashion development.

Cover Art
Todays Teen - Kelly-Plate
Call Number: TX663 K29
ISBN: 0026427834
Publication Date: 1997-01-01
Relationships, home management, money, grooming, housing, interior design, clothing, food, career selection and applying for a job form the main topics of this home economics textbook.

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Theodosia Adanu
Contact Info
Senior Assistant Librarian, Electronic Resources
1st Floor, East Wing
Balme Library
University of Ghana
Legon

IP Phone: 3136
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip