This is the "UG Titles" page of the "Plant and Environmental Biology" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

School of Biological Sciences, College of Basic & Applied Sciences
Last Updated: Aug 19, 2016 URL: http://libguides.ug.edu.gh/plant/environmental/biology Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

UG Titles Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Previous Research Topics

 

Selected Books for Botany

Cover Art
Botany for degree studentss - Dutta, A. C. (Atul Chandra),
Call Number: QK47 .D95
ISBN: 9780195637489
Publication Date: 1964 (2005 printing)
xvi, 708 p. : ill.
Note Includes index.
Bibliography Includes bibliographical references.

Cover Art
Plant Systematics - Michael G. Simpson
Call Number: QK95 .Si4
ISBN: 9780123743800
Publication Date: 2010-07-20
Plant Systematics has made a substantial contribution to plant systematics courses at the upper-undergraduate and first year graduate level. This second edition continues to provide the basis for teaching an introduction to the morphology, evolution, and classification of land plants. A foundation of the approach, methods, research goals, evidence, and terminology of plant systematics are presented along with the most recent knowledge of evolutionary relationships of plants and practical information vital to the field. In this second edition, the author includes greatly expanded treatments of families of lycophytes, ferns, gymnosperms, and flowering plants (all with full-color plates), a new chapter on species concepts and the role of systematics in conservation biology, and a new appendix summarizing basic statistical and morphometric techniques used in plant systematics studies.  An explanation of maximum likelihood and Bayesian inference algorithms is included in methods of phylogenetic inference, and chapters on morphology and plant nomenclature have been augmented with new material.    The second edition of Plant Systematics has been expanded to include: *  Fifteen fern families, 9 gymnosperm families, and an increase of angiosperm family treatments from 100 to 129. Each family description includes a plate of full color photographs, illustrating exemplars of the group along with dissected and labeled material to show diagnostic features. * A new chapter on species concepts and the role and impact of plant systematics in conservation biology. * A new appendix on statistical and morphometric techniques in plant systematics. * In addition, the second edition contains more detailed explanations of maximum likelihood and Bayesian phylogeny inference methods, an expanded coverage and glossary of morphological terms, and an updated chapter on botanical nomenclature.

Cover Art
Stern's Introductory Plant Biology - James E. Bidlack; Shelley Jansky; Kingsley Rowland Stern
Call Number: QK47 .B47
ISBN: 9780073040523
Publication Date: 2010-01-19
This introductory text assumes little prior scientific knowledge on the part of the student. It includes sufficient information for some shorter introductory botany courses open to both majors and nonmajors, and is arranged so that certain sections can be omitted without disrupting the overall continuity of the course. Stern emphasizes current interests while presenting basic botanical principles.

Botany - Randy Moore ... [et al.]
Call Number: QK47 .B65
ISBN: 9780697169570
Publication Date: 1994-12-01
Includes bibliographical references and index

Cover Art
Plant Biology for Cultural Heritage - Giulia Caneva; Maria Pia Nugari; Ornella Salvadori
Call Number: QK45.2 P19
ISBN: 9780892369393
Publication Date: 2009-01-15
This publication brings together wide-ranging scientific contributions from the field of plant biology relating to the conservation of cultural heritage and offers fundamental knowledge as well as specific suggestions for practical applications. Plant Biology for Cultural Heritagepresents the work of dozens of scientists who have studied problems presented by the biological degradation of cultural heritage, tackling both general topics (mechanisms of biodeterioration; correlation between biodeterioration and environment; and destructive organisms) and specific ones (problems presented by different materials; various environmental and climatic conditions; and diverse geographic settings). The book also discusses solutions for the prevention and control of deterioration, including appropriate diagnostic techniques.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip