This is the "Rare Room" page of the "Africana Collection" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Africana Collection  

Academic and Research Resources on Africa
Last Updated: Apr 12, 2016 URL: http://libguides.ug.edu.gh/content.php?pid=649472 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Rare Room Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Some Languages

Cover Art
English - Swahili Dictionary, Kamusi Ya Kiingereza - Kiswahili
Call Number: 2/PL8703.T81
ISBN: 9976911297
Publication Date: 1996

The classification of the Bantu languages - Guthrie, Malcom
Call Number: Af/PL8025.G98
Publication Date: 1948

A Practical Hausa Grammar - Taylor, F.W.
Call Number: Af/PL8232.T21
Publication Date: 1923

Advanced Akan dictionary in Akuapim, Asante and Fanti with human's names and meanings - Anane, J.O.
Call Number: 1Dp/PL8046
ISBN: 9988004516
Publication Date: 2000-12-01

Ewe Language course handbook - Hubert Fiamavle
Call Number: Af/PL8161.F44
ISBN: 9781412055406
Publication Date: 2005

Aspects of Dagbani grammar : with special emphasis on phonology and morphology - Knut J. Olawsky.
Call Number: Dp/PL8119.1 O11
ISBN: 978-3895866388
Publication Date: 1999

Gã-English dictionary with English-Gã index - M.E. Kropp Dakubu
Call Number: Dp/PL8191.4 . G11
ISBN: 9789964960506
Publication Date: 1999

 

Rare books and manuscripts

The Rare Book Room of Africana collection houses rare books and literary manuscripts. It includes Rare books, old books, limited-edition books, and books that may be out of print.  These materials ranged in date from the fifteenth century to the twenty-first. For example, Furley Collection is an imprtant primary source materials relating to the history of Ghana.  Some of the typed manuscripts  have been digitized, thus can be accessed via the internet.  The hand written ones can only be accessed in the Balme Library. Another important rare book is  Africa: an accurate description of the regions of Ægypt, Barbary, Lybia, and Billedulgerid by John Ogilby published in 1670.


Cover Art
Chieftancy in Ghana - Irene Odotei (Editor); Albert Kanlisi Awedoba (Editor)
Call Number: Dp/GN655.G45C43
ISBN: 9789988550745
Publication Date: 2006
This massive volume is arguably the most comprehensive and detailed scholarly study of the institution of chieftaincy to appear on the subject to date. The subjects and approaches are wide-ranging, and cover most aspects of the institution in every geographical area in Ghana. Some thirty contributors from the humanities and social sciences tell the story of chieftaincy past and present from a multitude of perspectives: anthropological, historical, economic, sociological, gender, literary, religious and philosophical.

Cover Art
A descriptive analysis of Adamorobe Sign Language (Ghana) - Victoria Anna Sophie Nyst
Call Number: Dp/P117.5 G4 N98
ISBN: 9789078328223
Publication Date: 2007

 

Writings of Kwame Nkrumah

Cover Art
Neo-Colonialism - Kwame Nkrumah
Call Number: Af/HC502.N65
ISBN: 9780901787231
Publication Date: 1965-04-01
Kwame Nkrumah NEO-COLONIALISM THE LAST STAGE OF IMPERIALISM This is the book which, when first published in 1965, caused such an uproar in the US State Department that a sharp note of protest was sent to Kwame Nkrumah and the $25million of American "aid" to Ghana was promptly cancelled.

Cover Art
Consciencism - Kwame Nkrumah
Call Number: Af/HX437 .N65
ISBN: 0853451362

Cover Art
Africa Must Unite - Kwame Nkrumah
Call Number: Dp/DT30 .N65
ISBN: 0901787132
Publication Date: 1963-04-01
This book, by a great PanAfricanist leader, sets out the case for the total liberation and unification of Africa. It is essential reading for all interested in world socio-economic developmental processes. Those who might have considered in 1963, when Africa Must Unite was first published, that Kwame Nkrumah was pursuing a 'policy of the impossible', can now no longer doubt his statesmanship. Increasing turmoil through the succession of reactionary military coups and the outbreak of needless civil wars in Afirca prove conclusively that only unification can provide a realistic solution for Africa's political and economic problems. In the words of the author, "To suggest that the time is not yet ripe for considering a political union of Africa is to evade facts and ignore realities in Africa today. Here is a challenge which destiny has thrown . to the leaders of Africa."

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip