This is the "UG Titles" page of the "African Studies" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

to help locate materials for research in African studies
Last Updated: Jan 28, 2016 URL: http://libguides.ug.edu.gh/content.php?pid=686568 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

UG Titles Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Selected Titles

Cover Art
Africa in the 21st Century - Ama Mazama
Call Number: Af/HN777 .Af8
ISBN: 9780415957731
Publication Date: 2007-05-14
This work brings together some of the finest Pan African and Afrocentric intellectuals to discuss the possibilities of a new future where the continent claims its own agency in response to the economic, social, political, and cultural problems which are found in every nation.

Cover Art
African studies and knowledge production : a reader - edited by Stephen Owoahene-Acheampong
Call Number: Af/DT1.Af 8
ISBN: 9789988647636
Publication Date: Accra : Sub-Saharan Publishers2013

Cover Art
African Traditions in the Study of Religion in Africa Emerging Trends Indigenous Spirituality and the Interface with Other World Religions - Afe Adogame; Ezra Chitando; Bolaji Bateye
Call Number: Af/ BL2400 .Af8
ISBN: 9781409419709
Publication Date: 2012-03-28
The historiography of African religions and religions in Africa presents a shift from the study of 'Africa as object' to 'Africa as subject'. This book presents a multidisciplinary exploration of African traditions in the study of religion in Africa and the new African diaspora.

Cover Art
China's Rise in Africa - Dominik Kopinski (Editor); Andrzej Polus (Editor); Ian Taylor (Editor)
Call Number: HC800 .C43
ISBN: 9780415688871
Publication Date: 2011-11-15
In seeking to cultivate external relations with African countries, China has long stressed its commonly shared roots with African nations as a developing country rather than a Western state, and as such the symbolic attraction of China clearly reverberates with many African elites who seem to look on China as a positive development model. However, it should be noted that this has not been embraced solely by dictatorial or authoritarian regimes but in fact China's approach to non-interference has struck a chord even with those democratically elected leaders in Africa. While such practices clearly benefit African elites, it is remains doubtful that they do so for ordinary Africans, although sustained analysis suggests that potential exists, albeit hampered by the modalities of governance on the continent. This book brings together experts on the topic to throw light on some of the more contentious aspects of the relationship. This book was published as a special issue of the Journal of Contemporary African Studies.

Cover Art
Essays in Honour of Ama Ata Aidoo At 70 - Anne V. Adams (Editor); Ama Ata Aidoo (Editor)
Call Number: Af/PR9379.9.A35 Es7
ISBN: 9780956930705
Publication Date: 2012-04-01
These essays pay tribute to Ama Ata Aidoo through a broad spectrum of articles and personal memoirs from scholars of different generations and from other literary artists. The book is intended to convey the full parameters of Aidoo's place as a literary innovator and as an exponent of radical social and cultural thought in Africa and internationally, especially on issues of African self-consciousness and gender equality. Consisting of over 30 contributions, the collection includes studies of some popular-culture phenomena, which, reflect social and cultural concerns.

Cover Art
The Culture of AIDS in Africa - Gregory Barz (Editor); Judah M. Cohen (Editor)
Call Number: ML3917.A4 C89
ISBN: 9780199744473
Publication Date: 2011-10-13
The Culture of AIDS in Africa enters into the many worlds of expression brought forth across this vast continent by the ravaging presence of HIV/AIDS. Africans and non-Africans, physicians and social scientists, journalists and documentarians share here a common and essential interest in understanding creative expression in crushing and uncertain times. They investigate and engage the social networks, power relationships, and cultural structures that enable the arts to convey messages of hope and healing, and of knowledge and good counsel to the wider community. And from Africa to the wider world, they bring intimate, inspiring portraits of the performers, artists, communities, and organizations that have shared with them their insights and the sense they have made of their lives and actions from deep within this devastating epidemic. Covering the wide expanse of the African continent, the 30 chapters include explorations of, for example, the use of music to cope with AIDS; the relationship between music, HIV/AIDS, and social change; visual approaches to HIV literacy; radio and television as tools for "edutainment;" several individual artists' confrontations with HIV/AIDS; various performance groups' response to the epidemic; combating HIV/AIDS with local cultural performance; and more. Source material, such as song lyrics and interviews, weaves throughout the collection, and contributions by editors Gregory Barz and Judah M. Cohen bookend the whole, to bring together a vast array of perspectives and sources into a nuanced and profoundly affective portrayal of the intricate relationship between HIV/AIDS and the arts in Africa.

Cover Art
The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music - Ruth M. Stone (Editor)
Call Number: ML100 G27[V1
ISBN: 9780824060350
Publication Date: 1997-08-01
The premiere volume of theGarland Encyclopedia of World Musicseries offers a comprehensive view of African music as a vital part of the social and cultural life of it peoples. The 34 expert contributors have all conducted fieldwork in Africa and their firsthand experience is reflected in the immediacy of their observations. In 39 articles, this encyclopedia explores key themes in African music that have emerged in recent years - a subject usually neglected in country-by-country coverage; emphasizes the contexts of musical performance-unlike studies that offer static interpretations isolated from other performing traditions; and presents the fresh insights and analyses of musicologists and anthropologists of diverse national origins-African, Asian, European and American. Also includes nine maps and 96 music examples.

Cover Art
Transformations in Slavery - Paul E. Lovejoy
Call Number: Af/HT1321 .L94
ISBN: 9781107002968
Publication Date: 2011-10-10
This history of African slavery from the fifteenth to the early twentieth centuries examines how indigenous African slavery developed within an international context. Paul E. Lovejoy discusses the medieval Islamic slave trade and the Atlantic trade as well as the enslavement process and the marketing of slaves. He considers the impact of European abolition and assesses slavery's role in African history. The book corrects the accepted interpretation that African slavery was mild and resulted in the slaves' assimilation. Instead, slaves were used extensively in production, although the exploitation methods and the relationships to world markets differed from those in the Americas. Nevertheless, slavery in Africa, like slavery in the Americas, developed from its position on the periphery of capitalist Europe. This new edition revises all statistical material on the slave trade demography and incorporates recent research and an updated bibliography.

Cover Art
Trends in Twenty-First Century African Theatre and Performance - Kene Igweonu (Volume Editor)
Call Number: Af/PL8010.5 T72
ISBN: 9789042033863
Publication Date: 2011-01-01
Trends in Twenty-First Century African Theatre and Performance is a collection of regionally focused articles on African theatre and performance. The volume provides a broad exploration of the current state of African theatre and performance and considers the directions they are taking in the 21st Century. It contains sections on current trends in theatre and performance studies, on applied/community theatre and on playwrights. The chapters have evolved out of a working group process, in which papers were submitted to peer-group scrutiny over a period of four years, at four international conferences. The book will be particularly useful as a key text for undergraduate and postgraduate courses in non-western theatre and performance (where this includes African theatre and performance), and would be a very useful resource for theatre scholars and anyone interested in African performance forms and cultures.

Cover Art
Women's Roles in Sub-Saharan Africa - Toyin Falola; Nana Akua Amponsah
Call Number: Af/HQ1787 .F19
ISBN: 9780313385445
Publication Date: 2012-01-01
This exhaustive exploration of the sociocultural, political, and economic roles of African women through history demonstrates how African women have shaped—and continue to shape—their societies. * Describes chronological events in women's lives covering precolonial to postcolonial Africa * Includes photographs of powerful women in colonial Africa; arts such as bead-making, pottery, and basketry; contemporary women in politics; and more * Lists significant bibliographical materials from historical, anthropological, ethnographical, and sociological sources

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip