This is the "Research Methods" page of the "African Studies" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

to help locate materials for research in African studies
Last Updated: Jan 28, 2016 URL: http://libguides.ug.edu.gh/content.php?pid=686568 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Research Methods Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Research Issues

Cover Art
Analyzing Quantitative Data - Debra Wetcher-Hendricks
Call Number: HA32 .W53
ISBN: 9780470526835
Publication Date: 2011-08-23
A user-friendly, hands-on guide to recognizing and conducting proper research techniques in data collection Offering a unique approach to numerical research methods, Analyzing Quantitative Data: An Introduction for Social Researchers presents readers with the necessary statistical applications for carrying out the key phases of conducting and evaluating a research project. The book guides readers through the steps of data analysis, from organizing raw data to utilizing descriptive statistics and tests of significance, drawing valid conclusions, and writing research reports. The author successfully provides a presentation that is accessible and hands-on rather than heavily theoretical, outlining the key quantitative processes and the use of software to successfully draw valid conclusions from gathered data. In its discussion of methods for organizing data, the book includes suggestions for coding and entry into spreadsheets or databases while also introducing commonly used descriptive statistics and clarifying their roles in data analysis. Next, inferential statistics is explored in-depth with explanations of and instructions for performing chi-square tests, t-tests, analyses of variance, correlation and regression analyses, and a number of advanced statistical procedures. Each chapter contains explanations of when to use the tests described, relevant formulas, and sample computations. The book concludes with guidance on extracting meaningful conclusions from statistical tests and writing research reports that describe procedures and analyses. Throughout the book, Statistical Resources for SPSS® sections provide fundamental instruction for using SPSS® to obtain the results presented. Where necessary, the author provides basic theoretical explanations for distributions and background information regarding formulas. Each chapter concludes with practice problems, and a related website features derivations of the book's formulas along with additional resources for performing the discussed processes. Analyzing Quantitative Data is an excellent book for social sciences courses on data analysis and research methods at the upper-undergraduate and graduate levels. It also serves as a valuable reference for applied statisticians and practitioners working in the fields of education, medicine, business and public service who analyze, interpret, and evaluate data in their daily work.

Cover Art
Data Collection - Wendy Olsen
Call Number: H62 .Ol8
ISBN: 9781847872555
Publication Date: 2011-12-06
Offering cross-referenced, accessible overviews of key theoretical issues and practical methods, Data Collection provides students and researchers alike with an indispensible introduction to the tools needed for data collection. This innovative book uses clear definitions, relevant interdisciplinary examples from around the world and up-to-date suggestions for further reading to give helpful ways to gather and use qualitative, quantitative, and mixed data sets. The book is divided into seven critical parts including Data Collection: An Introduction to Research Practices; Collecting Qualitative Data; Observation and Informed Methods; Experimental and Systematic Data Collection; Survey Methods for Data Collection; The Case Study Method of Data Collection; and Concluding Suggestions for Data Collection Groups. A stimulating, practical guide which can be read as individual concepts or as a whole, this text is an important resource for students and research professionals.

Cover Art
Demographic Methods and Concepts - Donald T. Rowland
Call Number: HB849.53 R79
ISBN: 9780198752639
Publication Date: 2003-05-29
Demographic Methods and Concepts presents the methods most commonly needed to work with statistical materials on population at national, regional, and local levels. Unlike other texts in the field, this book uses clear non-technical language throughout to make demographic techniques accessible to a diverse array of students, regardless of their background in mathematics. All the demographic techniques most relevant to the work of demographers, geographers, sociologists, and planners are covered. Demographic concepts and practical strategies important in the interpretation of population statistics are also included. The book is ideal for undergraduate courses in sociology, geography, economics, and statistics. Features ·Provides techniques for analysis of population at regional, local, and national scales ·Includes chapters on migration and applied demography ·Integrates computer-based learning modules--the nature of demographic concepts and visual comparisons of demographic data--throughout the text ·Employs spreadsheet exercises using demographic statistics at the end of every chapter to help students develop relevant skills Student CD-ROM--Packaged With Every Book ·Fully integrated with the text, this CD-ROM contains Excel spreadsheet modules and applications facilitating demographic studies. Companion Website http://www.oup.co.uk/best.textbooks/geography/rowland

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of research design
Call Number: HA29 .En1
ISBN: 9781412961271
Publication Date: Thousand Oaks, Calif. : SAGE Publications, 2010

Cover Art
Research Design - John W. Creswell
Call Number: H62.C86
ISBN: 9781452274614
Publication Date: 2013-03-15
The eagerly anticipated Fourth Edition of the title that pioneered the comparison of qualitative, quantitative, and mixed methods research design is here! For all three approaches, Creswell includes a preliminary consideration of philosophical assumptions, a review of the literature, an assessment of the use of theory in research approaches, and reflections about the importance of writing and ethics in scholarly inquiry. He also presents the key elements of the research process, giving specific attention to each approach. The Fourth Edition includes extensively revised mixed methods coverage, increased coverage of ethical issues in research, and an expanded emphasis on worldview perspectives. PRAISE FOR CRESWELL'S RESEARCH DESIGN: 'It provides all of the necessary information and tools to guide my doctoral students through writing their dissertation (research) proposals. Each chapter provides content information, examples that demonstrate the application of the content, suggestions for writing activities, and additional resources. All of this together in one textbook is phenomenal.' -- R.M. Cooper, Drake University 'Creswell's is a more comprehensive discussion of design. Most texts approach this issue as either a book on qualitative methods, or one on quantitative methods. Additionally, my students appreciate the language. While not simple, the language and tone in this book are both accessible and inviting.' -- Gilberto Arriaza, California State University-East Bay 'The accessibility of the content is a key strength. The students indicated that they will continue to use as a resource after the class is over.' -- Heather J. Brace, Whittier College

Cover Art
Research methods - White, Theresa L.
ISBN: 9781111840624
Publication Date: Belmont, CA : Wadsworth, Cengage Learning, 2013

Cover Art
Social Research Methods - W. Lawrence Neuman
Call Number: HM571 .N39
ISBN: 9780205615964
Publication Date: 2010-11-07
Social Research Methods: Qualitative and Quantitative Methods 7e is a highly regarded text that presents a comprehensive and balanced introduction to both qualitative and quantitative approaches to social research with an emphasis on the benefits of combining various approaches.  

Cover Art
The SAGE Handbook of Qualitative Research - Norman K. Denzin (Editor); Yvonna S. Lincoln (Editor)
Call Number: H62 .Sa1
ISBN: 9781412974172
Publication Date: 2011-04-27
Presenting the state-of-the-art for the theory and practice of qualitative inquiry, this landmark Handbook has been a publishing phenomenon in the human sciences since it first published in 1994. As with earlier editions, the Fourth Edition is virtually a new volume. Representing the best thinking from top scholars from around the world, the new edition continues the book's tradition of synthesizing an existing literature, defining the present, and shaping the future of qualitative research. The editors and contributors address issues of social justice and examine how people's struggles can inform public issues and in turn be transformed into social policy. Their writings are underpinned by a critical framework, and they are committed to addressing issues of inequality. As with previous editions, their aim is to show how the practices of qualitative research can effect change in the world in positive ways.

Cover Art
Using Mixed Methods - David Plowright
Call Number: H62 .P72
ISBN: 9781848601079
Publication Date: 2011-01-19
Using Mixed Methods argues for research from a holistic perspective, integrating different methods, different data and overall research strategies. It provides innovative and ground-breaking in their implications for undertaking social and educational research. The author offers ways of justifying undertaking integrated approaches and offers an underlying rationale for the practices of social and educational research. The author aims to help readers understand how to approach research using an integrated methodology, based on a pragmatic philosophy underpinned by an empirical epistemology. It provides an opportunity to develop an understanding of how to use an integrated methodology that meets the needs of the post-graduate researcher who wants to challenge the traditional paradigmatic view of research. The book explores: The traditional epistemological positions associated with different research approaches Framework for an integrated methodology Main explanations and justification for carrying out research using the FraIM Ethical approach to research Written in an easily accessible style, this book is for postgraduate students in education and social science courses.

African Studies Librarian

Profile Image
Olive Akpebu Adjah
Contact Info
Institute of African Studies Library
0202113333
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip