Research Guides: School of Nursing & Midwifery (SoNM): Database Tutorials

Tutorials and How-to guides from Providers

Each database is unique in how it provides you with relevant information. These tutorials are from the vendors. They will enable you get familiar with the database, help you improve your search experience and also make you aware of other useful features offered by the database.

EBSCOhost introduction This link opens in a new window
This tutorial will familiarize you with the EBSCOhost searching interface and these features: search modes, article and image preview via mouseover, the result list, and the enhanced preferences options.
Ebscohost result list This link opens in a new window
This tutorial looks at the features of the EBSCOhost Result List, including refining your results with limiters and subject clusters.
Emerald This link opens in a new window
A web -based tutorial on on how to search and browse the Emerald website
IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
Provides video tutorials on various topics
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A 6 min video on how to search JSTOR. Learn several ways to search for articles and other items in the JSTOR archive, including using the Advanced Search form
JSTOR video tutorials This link opens in a new window
Topics covered include How to search, Advanced searching, creating alerts in JSTOR.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
This is a 2-page PDF guide. It has step-by-step instructions showing you how to conduct a search, how to refine your search results and how to export your results and citations.
Sage Journals Online This link opens in a new window
Provides information to help you understand what this resource has and how to use it better. Consists of various links on specific issues.
Science Direct This link opens in a new window
The online tutorials help you quickly learn how to use ScienceDirect® features. The tutorials are updated when new features are added, so they are always current.
Taylor and Francis This link opens in a new window
The resources are to assist you to familiarise yourselves with Taylor & Francis Online. Offered are a wide range of training material such as user guides and online tutorials to meet your needs. You may view them as videos or download them in PDF format.
Using JSTOR This link opens in a new window
An introduction to JSTOR features and how to use them. They include MY JSTOR, JSTOR Content and Search Help.
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Provides an overview of Wiley. You will be required to fill a form before you can view this video.