Research Guides: Academic Databases: Journal databases

Alphabetical list of databases/journals A-H

Academic Search Complete (Ebsco host) This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals.
Offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. Features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.
ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Provides access to full text of every article ever published by ACM and bibliographic citations from major publishers in computing.
Aluka This link opens in a new window
An international, collaborative initiative building an online digital library of scholarly resources from and about Africa.
‘Aluka’, is derived from a Zulu word meaning ‘to weave’, reflecting our commitment to connect resources and scholars from around the world.
American Institute of Physics Journals This link opens in a new window
Full text access to 12 journals, two magazines, and a conference proceedings series on applied and multi-disciplinary physics.
Their Scitation platform hosts over 1.5 million articles from more than 25 scholarly publishers.
American Physical Society (APS) Journals This link opens in a new window
Provides full text searching of all journals.
Access to the Physical Review Online Archive (PROLA) and journals produced by the American Physical Society.

Annual Reviews
Annual review articles capture
Capture current understanding of a topic, including what is well supported and what is controversial;
Set the work in historical context;
Highlight the major questions that remain to be addressed and the likely course of research in upcoming years; and
Outline the practical applications and general significance of research to society.
more...less...
Users of Annual reviews
Researchers who want to keep abreast of their field and integrate this information with their own activities;
Researchers who want an introduction to new fields, with a view to developing an interface between different areas of research;
Students at all levels who want to gain a thorough understanding of a topic; and
Business people, journalists, policy makers, practitioners, patients and patient advocates, and others who wish to be informed about developments in research.

BioOne Online Journals This link opens in a new window
Provides full text access to critical, peer-reviewed research in the biological, ecological, and environmental sciences.
BioOne is a global, not-for-profit collaboration bringing together scientific societies, publishers, and libraries to provide access to critical, peer-reviewed research in the biological, ecological, and environmental sciences.
British Institute of Radiology (BIR) Publications This link opens in a new window
BIR publications is the publishing arm of the British Institute of Radiology (BIR), publishing books and journals covering all aspects of radiology, radiation oncology, medical physics and the underpinning sciences.
Journals published by BIR Publications are BJR, the BIR’s flagship research journal, BJR|case reports, the BIR’s open-access case report journal, DentoMaxilloFacial Radiology (DMFR), published on behalf of the International Association of DentoMaxilloFacial Radiology and Imaging, the BIR’s educational review journal.
Business Source Complete (Ebsco host) This link opens in a new window
Scholarly business database, providing a collection of bibliographic and full text content.
Indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals dating as far back as 1886 are included. In addition, searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,300 journals.
Cambridge Journals Online This link opens in a new window
A multi-disciplinary database with full text access to journal articles dating back in most cases to 2005.
CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
The world’s most comprehensive source of full-text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 1,300 journals indexed in CINAHL. It is the definitive research tool for all areas of nursing & allied health literature.
Clinical Medicine This link opens in a new window
Clinical Medicine is the journal of the Royal College of Physicians. Provides full text.
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
An internationally acclaimed database of regularly updated evidence-based medical systematic reviews.
The Cochrane Library is a collection of online searchable databases containing high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making.
Edinburgh University Press Journals This link opens in a new window
Edinburgh University Press is the premier Scottish publisher of academic books and journals and publishes over 30 full-text electronic journals across a range of disciplines in the humanities and social sciences. Full text to articles provided.
Education Research Complete (Ebsco host) This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing and abstracts for more than 2,100 journals, as well as full text for more than 1,200 journals, and includes full text for nearly 500 books and monographs.
Topics covered include all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing.
Emerald This link opens in a new window
All aspects of Business & Management, Library and Information Studies, Social Sciences and Engineering
GreenFile This link opens in a new window
A.collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles covering global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. Provides indexing and abstracts for most records and Open Access full text for others.
Offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 384,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 4,700 records.
Health Source: Consumer Edition This link opens in a new window
Provides information on many health topics and access to nearly 80 full text, consumer health magazines.
Richest collection of consumer health information available to libraries worldwide, providing information on many health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health. Provides access to nearly 80 full text, consumer health magazines.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
Provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines.
Provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Also features the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide, which covers 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names.
HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
Research product with more than 90 million pages of legal history available in an online, fully-searchable, image-based format.
HeinOnline is Hein’s premier online research product with more than 90 million pages of legal history available in an online, fully-searchable, image-based format. HeinOnline bridges the gap in legal history by providing comprehensive coverage from inception of more than 1,600 law and law-related periodicals. Also contains the Congressional Record Bound volumes in entirety, complete coverage of the U.S. Reports back to 1754, famous world trials dating back to the early 1700′s, legal classics from the 16th to the 20th centuries, the United Nations and League of Nations Treaty Series, all United States Treaties, the Federal Register from inception in 1936, the CFR from inception in 1938, and much more.
Henry Stewart Talks (HST) Online Collections This link opens in a new window
Over 2,000 online seminars by leading world experts, covering biomedicine, life sciences, management, marketing, finance and many more topics.
Humanities International Complete (Ebscohost) This link opens in a new window
Provides full text of hundreds of journals, books and other published sources from around the world.
Provides full text of hundreds of journals, books and other published sources from around the world. Includes all data from Humanities International Index (more than 2,300 journals and more than 2.9 million records) plus unique full text content, much of which is not found in other databases. The database includes full text for more than 1,200 journals.

Introduction

Academic databases are databases that consist of peer-reviewed journals and/or E-books. Content in these databases may be accessed by entering a keyword or the author's surname or the title of the item in the search box provided. You may browse these databases by title or subject/discipline/topic

Each database listed has a short description of subjects/topics covered by the database including whether it provides full-text access or not.

This list of databases is limited to those that the University of Ghana subscribes to. Access to these databases is available to you while you are on campus or away from campus when you register and sign up for off-campus access.

If there's a database not listed that you think will be useful you may suggest it for consideration.

Thank you.

Alphabetical list of databases/journals I-W

IEEEXplore - ASPP This link opens in a new window
Subject coverage includes Computer Science, Robotics, Biomedical Engineering, Remote Sensing - UG online subscription is to All-Society Periodicals Package (ASPP), which includes access to the AbstractPlus records and full text published since 2005 from IEEE journals, transactions and magazines.
Journal of the Acoustical Society of America (JASA) This link opens in a new window
Subject coverage includes linear and nonlinear acoustics; aeroacoustics, underwater sound and acoustical oceanography; ultrasonics and quantum acoustics; architectural and structural acoustics and vibration; speech, music and noise; psychology and physiology of hearing; engineering acoustics, transduction; bioacoustics, animal bioacoustics.Full text access to all issues of the journal, dating back to volume 1 no.1, 1929
JournalTOCs This link opens in a new window
JournalTOCs is the largest free collection of scholarly journal Table of Contents (TOCs): 26,944 journals including 9,419 selected open access journals and 11,033 Hybrid journals from 2669 publishers. JournalTOCs alerts you when new issues of your followed journals are published
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
An archive of over one thousand leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work. Contains over 800 important scholarly journals in 50 disciplines. Entirely Fulltext.
LexisNexis This link opens in a new window
Full text Law database
Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts -LISTA (Ebscohost) This link opens in a new window
Indexes more than 560 core journals, nearly 50 priority journals, and nearly 125 selective journals; plus books, research reports and proceedings. Subject coverage includes librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more. Coverage in the database extends back as far as the mid-1960s.
Liebert Online This link opens in a new window
Content exceeds 41,000 papers from more than sixty authoritative journals, all full-text searchable and linked to external bibliographic databases, in the most promising areas of biotechnology, biomedical research/life sciences, clinical medicine and surgery, alternative and complementary medicine, law, philanthropy, environmental science and sustainability.
MasterFile Premier (Ebscohost) This link opens in a new window
Provides full text for nearly 1,700 periodicals with full-text information dating as far back as 1975. Covers virtually every subject area of general interest. Also contains full text for nearly 500 reference books and over 164,400 primary source documents, as well as an Image Collection of over 592,000 photos, maps & flags.
MEDLINE with Full text (Ebscohost) This link opens in a new window
Provides the authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and pre-clinical sciences found on MEDLINE. Provides full text for more than 1,470 journals indexed in MEDLINE. Of those, nearly 1,450 have cover-to-cover indexing in MEDLINE. And of those, 558 are not found with full text in any version of Academic Search, Health Source or Biomedical Reference Collection.
Nature Publishing Group (NPG) Journals This link opens in a new window
NPG publishes journals and online databases across the life, physical and applied sciences and, most recently, clinical medicine. Content encompasses daily news from award-winning journalists, expert opinion and practical methodology, and more high impact research and reviews than any science publisher. Over 30 journals are published in association with prestigious academic societies.
Newspaper Source (Ebscohost) This link opens in a new window
Provides cover-to-cover full text for more than 40 (U.S.) & international newspapers. Also contains selective full text for 389 regional (U.S.) newspapers. In addition, full text television & radio news transcripts are also provided.
Optical Society of America (OSA) Journals This link opens in a new window
15 Optics and photonics journals published by OSA, conference papers, and selected OSA meeting content, including Advances in Optics and Photonics (AOP), new in 2009.
Oxford Journals (OUP) This link opens in a new window
An initiative for developing countries that gives access to more than 200 titles in Biological Sciences, Medicine, Public Health and Epidemiology, Humanities, Social Sciences, Law
Economics, Business, and Finance, Mathematics, Statistics, Computing and Physics. Full text access to electronic backfiles from 1996 onwards.
Oxford Scholarship Online (OSO) This link opens in a new window
Oxford Scholarship Online (OSO) offers access to thousands of academic works, in 20 subject areas across the humanities, social sciences, sciences, medicine, and law. provides fulltext access to Ebooks.
Palgrave Macmillan Journals This link opens in a new window
Offers a combined portfolio of over 70 peer-reviewed e-journals in business and management, economics, education, information systems and technology,
political science and international studies, social and cultural studies, urban design and architecture. Full text availble for most journals for 2004.
Policy Press Journals This link opens in a new window
Four highly prestigious journals in the fields of public and social policy. Access is given to the full content of all articles since 2002 including current volumes.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Provides online access to 500 full-text journals and 15,000 full-text ebooks from 200 non-profit publishers in the humanities and social sciences.
Regional Business News (Ebscohost) This link opens in a new window
Provides comprehensive full text coverage for regional business publications. Incorporates coverage of more than 80 regional business publications covering all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States.
Religion and Philosophy Collection (Ebscohost) This link opens in a new window
Provides extensive coverage of such topics as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy. With more more than 300 full text journals, the Religion & Philosophy Collection is an essential tool for researchers and students of theology and philosophical studies.
Royal Society Journals Online This link opens in a new window
Ten leading international journals from the Royal Society, the UK's national academy of science. Titles cover the whole of the biological and physical sciences, and include Philosophical Transactions of the Royal Society, the world's first science journal.
subjects covered include mathematics, engineering and other physical sciences; all biological sciences; particularly good on ecology, environment; multidisciplinary and interdisciplinary science
Sage Journals Online This link opens in a new window
Full text access to over 550 journals in the business, humanities, social sciences and Science, technology & medicine (STM).
Sage Research Methods Online This link opens in a new window
A research methods tool created to help researchers, faculty and students with their research projects. Researchers can explore methods concepts to help them design research projects, understand particular methods or identify a new method, conduct their research, and write up their findings. Focuses on methodology rather than disciplines so can be used across the social sciences, health sciences, and more.
Science Direct This link opens in a new window
A leading full-text scientific database that is multidisciplinary, offering journal articles and book chapters from more than 2,500 peer-reviewed journals and books.
Scival This link opens in a new window
research monitoring and evaluation tool
Scopus This link opens in a new window
The world’s largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature with smart tools that track, analyze and visualize research. Has over 20,500 titles from 5,000 publishers worldwide; contains 49 million records, 78% with abstracts;includes over 5.3 million conference papers; provides 100% Medline coverage
Symposium journals This link opens in a new window
Pioneer in the publication of online-only academic journals.
Subject strengths, Education and Learning.
Taylor & Francis Online This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary full-text journal database.
The Essential Electronic Agricultural Library (TEEAL) This link opens in a new window
It is a searchable, offline, digital library which contains mainly agriculturally focused reference journals, as well as coverage in related subject areas. You need to register(sign up) to strt using it. Provides full text.
The Lyell Collection Complete This link opens in a new window
An electronic resource containing new and archival journal, special publication and book content, published by the Geological Society of London. It contains key peer-reviewed Earth science literature of the highest quality.
University of California Press Journals This link opens in a new window
provides full text access to 33 journals in Area Studies, History of Science, Human research and BioEthics
Sociology and Social interaction.
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary database with limited full text access.

Subject Guide

Theodosia Adanu

Email Me

Contact:

College of Health Sciences Library (First Floor Room 6)
Charles Easmon Building -Korle Bu

0244659837; IP Phone; 7431