Research Guides: Agriculture: Electronic Resources

Google Scholar

Key Databases for research in Agriculture

Academic Search Complete (multidisciplinary with information in Agriculture - full text and abstracts)
AGORA Journals (covers contents from major scientific journals in Agriculture and related biological, environmental and social sciences -full text)
BioOne (peer-reviewed research in the biological, ecological, and environmental sciences - full text)
Cambridge Journals (Agriculture Titles - full text)
Nature Publishing (Science)
JSTOR (multidisciplinary- full text)
Online Access to Research in the Environment (OARE) (Environment and related subjects - full text)
Oxford Journals (Life Sciences including Agriculture - full text)
Science Direct (coverage includes Agriculture - full text from 1997)
Scifinder (chemical research-full text. If it is your first time, please Register before using the resource)
Teal (offline access to Agric & related Sciences - full text)
Taylor & Francis (multidisciplinary with Environment and Agriculture - full text)
Wiley Online Library (subject coverage includes Agriculture and its subdivisions- full text available)

Citation database

Scopus - the world's largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature (scientific journals, books and conference proceedings) and quality web sources

Reference Sources

Oxford Reference Online (Dictionaries and encyclopedia in all subjects - full text)
Merriam - Webster Dictionary
Oxford English Dictionary
CREDO Reference

Free & Open Access Resources

African Journals Online (AJOL) (Aquatic Sciences)
Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)
Google Scholar (search by keyword, topic)
Intech Open Access Publisher (agricultural and biological sciences)

A complete list of UG databases is available at http://balme.ug.edu.gh/index.php/research-tools/databases-quick-a-z

Journals published in Ghana/Africa

These are journals published in Africa and Ghana that may be of interest to you. These and more can be found at African Journals Online (AJOL).

African Crop Science Journal This link opens in a new window
The African Crop Science Journal, a quarterly publication, publishes original research papers dealing with all aspects of crop agronomy, production, genetics and breeding, germplasm, crop protection, post harvest systems and utilisation, agro-forestry, crop-animal interactions, information science, environmental science and soil science. It also publishes authoritative reviews on crop science and environmental issues by invitation. It is bilingual, publishing in either English or French. It is open access
Agroresearch This link opens in a new window
Agrosearch aims to create an effective medium for dissemination of information on research findings in all areas of agriculture, food sciences and development. The journal publishes original articles and short communications on topics such as agronomy, crop protection, soil science, forestry, animal science, agricultural economics; extension and technology, rural development, food technology, and allied disciplines. it is open access and therefore free to all users.
Ghana Journal of Forestry This link opens in a new window
The Ghana Journal of Forestry (ISSN 0855-1707) is published by the Forestry Research Institute of Ghana. The journal publishes scientific articles concerned with forest management and conservation, and in particular the application of biological, ecological and social knowledge to the management of forests. The scope of the journal includes the global forest ecosystem.
The journal aims to encourage communication between scientists in disparate fields which share a common interest in ecology and natural resources management, and to bridge the gap between research workers and forest managers in the field to the benefit of both.
Global Approaches to Extension Practice: A Journal of Agricultural Extension This link opens in a new window
Global Approaches to Extension Practice (GAEP), A publication of the Department of Agricultural Extension, Federal University of Technology, Owerri, Imo State, Nigeria is an international journal which considers articles from all areas of Agricultural Extension: rural sociology, environmental extension, extension communication technology, community and rural development, programme planning, extension administration, indigenous knowledge practices, extension education, livestock extension, Women- In-Agriculture, home economics extension, and other relevant extension related issues.
International Journal of Applied Agriculture and Apiculture Research This link opens in a new window
The journal publishes current and emerging issues in the following areas: Animal science, crop science, weed science, biological science, food science, Biotechnology in agriculture and apiculture, agricultural extension, agricultural economics, soil science, agricultural technology and aquaculture. It aims to promote the effective dissemination of information on research findings thus encouraging active research in all aspects of agricultural and apicultural sciences and to provide an effective means for research scientists to contribute to international scientific and technological knowledge in the agricultural and apicultural sciences. Open Access and therefore full text is freely available to all.
Journal of Agricultural Extension This link opens in a new window
The Journal of Agricultural Extension" is devoted to the advancement of knowledge of agricultural extension services and practice through the publication of original and empirically based research, focusing on:
Extension administration and supervision, programme planning, monitoring and evaluation, diffusion and adoption of innovations; extension communication models and strategies; extension research and methodological issues; home economics; extension youth programme; women-in-agriculture; extension and the environment and so on. it is open access and so freely available to all.
West African Journal of Applied Ecology This link opens in a new window
The focus of the West African Journal of Applied Ecology is on ecology, agriculture and water pollution. It aims to serve as an avenue for lecturers and researchers in West Africa to publish their work. It is an open access journal and so full text is freely available to all.