Sociology: Electronic Resources

The mission of American Sociological Review (ASR) is to publish original works of interest to the discipline of sociology in general, new theoretical developments, results of research that advance understanding of fundamental social processes, and important methodological innovations. 

Available online at: American Sociological Review: Sage Journals (sagepub.com)

Social Forces publishes articles of interest to a general social science audience and emphasizes cutting-edge sociological inquiry as well as explores realms the discipline shares with psychology, anthropology, political science, history, and economics.
Available online at: Social Forces | Oxford Academic (oup.com)

The American Journal of Sociology (AJS) presents pathbreaking work from all areas of sociology, with an emphasis on theory building and innovative methods. AJS strives to speak to the general sociology reader and is open to contributions from across the social sciences—sociology, political science, economics, history, anthropology, and statistics—that seriously engage the sociological literature to forge new ways of understanding the social.

Available online at: American Journal of Sociology | Vol 130, No 1 (uchicago.edu)

The Journal of Marriage and Family (JMF) publishes original empirical research that makes substantial contributions to understanding all aspects of families. We welcome contributions using single-discipline and interdisciplinary critical and intersectional approaches and methods reflective of the full range of social sciences. JMF also publishes brief reports that provide significant or timely empirical results.

Available online at: Journal of Marriage and Family - Wiley Online Library

These databases will provide you with scholarly articles you need for your research, particularly in Sociology.
 

• Academic Search Complete: A multidisciplinary full-text database, providing a broad spectrum of research and information in sociology and related fields.
• Annual Reviews: Offers comprehensive reviews in the social sciences, including sociology.
• Cambridge Journals: Provides access to full-text articles across all subjects, with a strong collection in the social sciences.
• EBSCOhost: A versatile database platform providing access to various social science journals and articles.
• ElgarOnline: Includes journals and e-books across law, business, economics, and the social sciences.
• JSTOR: Offers extensive archives of academic journals across all subjects, with significant sociology content.
• Oxford Journals: Provides access to a wide range of journals in social sciences.
• Palgrave Macmillan Journals: Offers peer-reviewed journals in social sciences, management, urban design, and architecture.
• Project MUSE: Full-text access to humanities and social sciences journals.
• Sage Journals: More than 560 journals in business, humanities, social sciences, and science, technology, and medicine.
• Sage Research Methods Online (SRMO): A resource for research methods in the social sciences, providing materials on qualitative and quantitative research techniques
• Taylor & Francis Online: A multidisciplinary database with extensive resources in sociology.
• University of California Press journals: Journals covering social sciences and humanities.
• Wiley Online Library: Full-text access to a wide range of subjects, including sociology.

Open Access Sociology Journals

• Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB) (All Subjects)
• Google Scholar (Multidisciplinary)

Reference Sources

• Oxford Reference Online: Dictionaries and encyclopedias in all subjects, including sociology.
• Merriam-Webster Dictionary: Comprehensive language reference source.
• Oxford English Dictionary: Authoritative dictionary for understanding the historical development of the English language.

Keep in mind that databases can be accessed on Campus using any device connected to UG network (Cable or Wireless). With the exception of AGORA and OARE, you can access UG journal databases while on campus without an account or password. When you are off campus or accessing the Internet using a personal mobile device, you must register for off-campus access in order to access all other databases.

To register for off-campus access, follow these steps:

1. Go to the Balme Library Website
2. Click on Off-Campus Access 
3. Click on To Register Click here under the Student Section
4. Fill the form that appears and submit
5. Take note of your BARCODE and PIN/password you chose while registering. You will require this to log in after you have completed the registration process.

NOTE: Send your enquiries via e-mail to eresources-support@ug.edu.gh for support.