Regional Institute for Population Studies: Electronic Resources

These databases will provide you with scholarly articles you need for your research, particularly in RIPS.
 

• Academic Search Complete: This multi-disciplinary database provides access to a wide range of full-text articles, including those related to population studies.
• Annual Reviews: Offers comprehensive reviews in the social sciences, which can be very useful for understanding trends and developments in population studies.
• Cambridge Journals: Provides access to a wide range of subjects, including social sciences and population studies.
• ElgarOnline: Covers law, business, economics, and social sciences, which can include population studies.
• JSTOR: Known for its extensive archive of academic journals across various disciplines, including sociology and demography.
• Oxford Journals: Covers a wide range of subjects, including social sciences, which are crucial for population studies.
• Palgrave Macmillan Journals: Offers peer-reviewed journals in social sciences, which are directly relevant to population studies.
• Policy Press Journals: Focuses on social policy, social welfare, and public policy, all of which are relevant to population studies.
• Project MUSE: Provides full-text access to humanities and social sciences journals, making it a valuable resource for population research.
• Sage Journals: Includes over 560 journals in business, humanities, social sciences, and science, technology, and medicine, offering a broad spectrum of relevant articles.
• Taylor & Francis Online: A multi-disciplinary database with full-text access to journals across various fields, including social sciences.
• Web of Science Core Collection: A comprehensive citation database that can help track research trends and influential studies in population studies.
• Wiley Online Library: Offers full-text access to journals across all subjects, including social sciences and population studies.

Research 4 Life Databases

• Agora: Focuses on food, agriculture, environmental stress, and related social sciences, which are relevant to population studies.
• OARE: Covers environmental science, which can intersect with population studies, especially in areas like population-environment interactions.

Free and Open Access Databases

• Academic Journals: A multi-disciplinary database that includes a wide range of subjects, providing valuable resources for population studies.
• African Journals Online (AJOL): Offers access to a variety of subjects, including social sciences, which are crucial for population studies in the African context.
• Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ): Provides access to a wide range of open-access journals across all subjects, including social sciences and population studies.
• Google Scholar: A multidisciplinary database that can help you find scholarly articles across various fields, including population studies.
• World Bank eLibrary: Offers resources on development and social sciences, which are highly relevant to population studies.

Keep in mind that databases can be accessed on Campus using any device connected to UG network (Cable or Wireless). With the exception of AGORA and OARE, you can access UG journal databases while on campus without an account or password. When you are off campus or accessing the Internet using a personal mobile device, you must register for off-campus access in order to access all other databases.

To register for off-campus access, follow these steps:

1. Go to the Balme Library Website
2. Click on Off-Campus Access 
3. Click on To Register Click here under the Student Section
4. Fill the form that appears and submit
5. Take note of your BARCODE and PIN/password you chose while registering. You will require this to log in after you have completed the registration process.

NOTE: Send your enquiries via e-mail to eresources-support@ug.edu.gh for support.