Research Guides: Public Health : Electronic Resources

E-References Resources

Evolution, Medicine and Public Health
Evolution, Medicine, and Public Health is an open access journal that publishes original, rigorous applications of evolutionary thought to issues in medicine and public health. It aims to connect evolutionary biology with the health sciences to produce insights that may reduce suffering and save lives. Because evolutionary biology is a basic science that reaches across many disciplines, this journal is open to contributions on a broad range of topics, including relevant work on non-model organisms and insights that arise from both research and practice
Encyclopedia Britannica Online
Merriam-Webster Dictionary and Thesaurus

Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new window

Oxford Reference
Providing quick and easy access to Oxford's prestigious reference publishing you can cross-search quality A-Z reference at the click of a button.
SAGE Research Methods Online
Explore the method maps, access method lists, browse little green books and use search. Search results include relevant books, book chapters, dictionary and encyclopedia entries, videos, or journal articles from over 175,000 pages of renowned SAGE content in research methods.

Selected Academic Databases

Evolution, Medicine and Public Health
Evolution, Medicine, and Public Health is an open access journal that publishes original, rigorous applications of evolutionary thought to issues in medicine and public health. It aims to connect evolutionary biology with the health sciences to produce insights that may reduce suffering and save lives. Because evolutionary biology is a basic science that reaches across many disciplines, this journal is open to contributions on a broad range of topics, including relevant work on non-model organisms and insights that arise from both research and practice
Royal College of Physicians
Clinical medicine, Public Health - full text
Royal Society online
7 leading journals on Mathematics, Engineering and other physical sciences, All biological sciences; particularly good on ecology, environment, Multidisciplinary and interdisciplinary science)
ScienceDirect
ScienceDirect
is a leading full-text scientific database offering journal articles and book chapters from more than 2,500 peer-reviewed journals and more than 11,000 books.
SciVerse Scopus
The World's largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature and quality web sources
Nature Publishing
sciences
Taylor & Francis Online

EBSCOhost E-Books

A Dictionary of Epidemiology 6th Edition

E-Books Available At EBSCOhost E-Resource Platform - Acquired via the University of Ghana, School of Public Health Library and Morehouse School of Medicine Library Project. These and more are available at EBSCOhost E-Resource Platform

Free Electronic Resources

Evolution, Medicine and Public Health
Evolution, Medicine, and Public Health is an open access journal that publishes original, rigorous applications of evolutionary thought to issues in medicine and public health. It aims to connect evolutionary biology with the health sciences to produce insights that may reduce suffering and save lives. Because evolutionary biology is a basic science that reaches across many disciplines, this journal is open to contributions on a broad range of topics, including relevant work on non-model organisms and insights that arise from both research and practice

Academic Journals This link opens in a new window
ACADEMIC JOURNALS provides free access to research information to the international community without financial, legal or technical barriers. All the journals from this organization will be freely distributed and available from multiple websites.....ACADEMIC JOURNALS, breaking new frontiers in the world of journals
African Journals Online This link opens in a new window
African Journals OnLine (AJOL) is the world's largest and pre-eminent collection of peer-reviewed, African-published scholarly journals.
Historically, scholarly information has flowed from North to South and from West to East. It has also been difficult for African researchers to access the work of other African academics. In partnership with hundreds of journals from all over the continent, AJOL works to change this, so that African-origin research output is available to Africans and to the rest of the world. AJOL is a Non-Profit Organisation based in South Africa. Use AJOL To: Browse peer-reviewed journals from Africa. Download full text articles from journal homepages.
BioMed Central This link opens in a new window
BioMed Central publishes 250 peer-reviewed open access journals. University of Ghana is a Foundation Member, and as an author you can publish in any BioMed Central, Chemistry Central or SpringerOpen journal without any article-processing-charge being payable. The cost is covered by our open access waiver fund.
Your institution also has access to additional products. Articles from your institution. Benefits of publishing. Submit a manuscript

University of Ghana is a Foundation Member, and as an author you can publish in any BioMed Central, Chemistry Central or SpringerOpen journal without any article-processing-charge being payable.

Highwire Host
HighWire hosts:
1767 Journals, Books, Reference Works & other Scholarly Publications

POPLINE This link opens in a new window
POPLINE provides access to 350,000 carefully selected publications and resources related to family planning and reproductive health. POPLINE provides free full-text copies of most of the documents found in its database to users in low- and middle-income countries and development-supportive agencies?

Provides access to 350,000 carefully selected publications and resources related to family planning and reproductive health

Greenstone Digital Library
Social Science Library: Frontier Thinking in Sustainable Development and Human Well-Being