This is the "Research Issues" page of the "Engineering" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Engineering  

Academic and Research Resources for Engineering
Last Updated: Jan 13, 2016 URL: http://libguides.ug.edu.gh/engineering Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Research Issues Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Referencing Books

Referencing Tips

When you are reading a book, a book chapter, journal article, document on the web etc., it is important that you note down the bibliographic details (author, title year of publication, URL etc.,) of the material. This is because you will have to cite the resources you used in your work. Failing to cite or reference the resource you used to complete your assignment or project work, is a breach of copyright law and you can be charged for plagiarism. Remember to always cite your sources of information at the end of your work.

The following books can link you to different styles of referencing or citation.

Cover Art
The Complete Guide to Referencing and Avoiding Plagiarism - Colin Neville
Call Number: PN171.F56 N41
ISBN: 9780335241033
Publication Date: 2010-02-01
This excellent new edition of The Complete Guide to Referencing and Avoiding Plagiarism continues to demystify the referencing process and provide essential guidance to make sure you are not committing plagiarism. It provides clear guidelines on why and when to reference as well as how to correctly cite from a huge range of sources.

Cover Art
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association - American Psychological Association Staff (Contribution by)
Call Number: BF76.7 P96
ISBN: 9781557988102
Publication Date: 2001-06-01
Description xxviii, 439 p. : ill. ; 27 cm.
Bibliography Includes bibliographical references (p. 363-377) and index.

How to search Databases

This site will be of help to guide you do your searches.

 

How to Create a Library Account

My Account is one of the feaures on the OPAC page. When you create this account it will let you view your library account details.  Details such as items you have borrowed and their due dates.  It will also enable you request for a book that is checked out and you may want to request for it.

The Process of creating the account.

 

1.      Click on the login link or My library Account

2.      Enter your barcode in the space provided. Your barcode is made up of your student/staff number and date of birth, as follows:

- your staff or student number

- your date of birth (DD)

- First three letters of the month (MON)

- The year in full (YYYY)

Your barcode will look like this: 10286397DDMONYYYY

3.      Leave the PIN box blank

4.      Click the submit button

5.      You will be prompted to create a pin

6.      Create your pin (your pin should be alphanumeric, not less than 8 characters. Choose a pin you will remember)

7.      Submit

NOTE

Our library records DO NOT display your PIN information. Library personnel cannot view your PIN.

 

Some Relevant Research Method Books

Cover Art
Doing Your Literature Review - Jill Jesson; Lydia Matheson; Fiona M. Lacey
Call Number: H62 .J49
ISBN: 9781848601543
Publication Date: 2011-03-14
This highly accessible book guides students through the production of either a traditional or a systematic literature review, clearly explaining the difference between the two types of review, the advantages and disadvantages of both, and the skills needed. It gives practical advice on reading and organizing relevant literature and critically assessing the reviewed field. Contents include using libraries and the internet, note making, presentation, critical analysis, and referencing, plagiarism, and copyright.

Cover Art
Qualitative Inquiry and Research Design - John W. Creswell
Call Number: H61.C86
ISBN: 9781412995313
Publication Date: 2012-03-14
In this Third Edition of his bestselling text John W. Creswell explores the philosophical underpinnings, history, and key elements of each of five qualitative inquiry traditions: narrative research, phenomenology, grounded theory, ethnography, and case study. In his signature accessible writing style, the author relates research designs to each of the traditions of inquiry. He compares theoretical frameworks, ways to employ standards of quality, and strategies for writing introductions to studies, collecting data, analyzing data, writing a narrative, and verifying results.

Cover Art
Basics of Qualitative Research - Anselm Strauss (Editor); Juliet Corbin (Editor); Lidwien de Wijngaert
Call Number: HA29. C81
ISBN: 9781412906432
Publication Date: 2007-11-19
The Third Edition of the bestselling Basics of Qualitative Research:Techniques and Procedures for Developing Grounded Theory continues to offer immensely practical advice and technical expertise to aid researchers in making sense of their collected data. Authors Juliet Corbin and the late Anselm Strauss (co-creator of Grounded Theory) present methods that enable researchers to analyze and interpret their data, and ultimately build theory from it. Highly accessible in their approach, Corbin and Strauss provide a step-by-step guide to the research act--from the formation of the research question through several approaches to coding and analysis, to reporting on the research. Full of definitions and illustrative examples, this book concludes with chapters that present criteria for evaluating a study, as well as responses to common questions posed by students of qualitative research. Significantly revised, Basics of Qualitative Research remains a landmark volume in the study of qualitative methods. Key Features of the Third Edition: Allows for students to develop their critical thinking skills in the "Critical Issues" section at the end of each chapter. Shows the actual steps involved in data analysis (from description to grounded theory) and data gathering by means of theoretical sampling. Provides exercises for thinking, writing and group discussion that reinforces material presented in the text.

 

Relevant resource to writing your dissertation

Cover Art
The Dissertation Journey - Carol M. Roberts
Call Number: LB1742 .R54
ISBN: 9781412977982
Publication Date: 2010-08-23
The dissertation is a tough mountain to climb; half of all doctoral students never make it to the top. To overcome the practical, emotional, and psychologcal obstacles along the way, you'll need the right tools and a knowledgeable guide. This informative and inspirational book readies you for each step of the dissertation process, including choosing a topic, selecting the committee, getting acclimated to academic writing, preparing for your oral defense, and publishing your research. This second edition of The Dissertation Journey offers new and updated feautes, including: a chapter on ethical considerations; expanded coverage of digital data collection and using the Internet for research; more detailed information on conducting the literature review; and a discussion of how to develop a theorectical or conceptual framework. With graphics, checklists, inspirational quotes, illustrations, and sample forms, this valuable resource is your essential guidebook to preparing, writing, and defending your dissertation.

Database in Research Methods

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip