This is the "UG Titles" page of the "Information Studies" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Information Studies   Tags: archives, information studies, library studies, ugcat  

Academic and Research Guides for Information Studies
Last Updated: Oct 1, 2015 URL: http://libguides.ug.edu.gh/infomation_studies Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

UG Titles Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Some selected books in Information Studies in UGCat

Cover Art
Research Methods in Information and Communications Practice - Alison Pickard
Call Number: Z669.7 P58
ISBN: 9781856045452
Publication Date: 2005-01-01
This unique new handbook guides those in the library, information, and communications fields through the options and possibilities open to them under the heading "research" - everything from discovering and reporting the use and value of a particular service; to designing a project to secure tenure; or even embarking on a dissertation. Coverage includes developing and justifying research questions, establishing aims and objectives, creating a proposal, determining methods and strategies, data collection, analysis, presenting results, and more. Each chapter features examples and exercises that reinforce the text and guidelines that keep readers on track. This is a practical research handbook for professionals, a guide for libraries moving towards an evidence-based model or practice, and an excellent textbook for research classes.

Cover Art
Metadata for Digital Resources - Muriel Foulonneau; Jenn Riley
Call Number: Z666.7 F82
ISBN: 9781843343028
Publication Date: 2008-02-01
This book assists information professionals in improving the usability of digital objects by adequately documenting them and using tools for metadata management. It provides practical advice for libraries, archives, and museums dealing with digital collections in a wide variety of formats and from a wider variety of sources. This book is forward-thinking in its approach to using metadata to drive digital library systems, and will be a valuable resource for those creating and managing digital resources as technologies for using those resources grow and change.

Cover Art
Marketing Today's Academic Library - Brian Mathews
Call Number: Z716.3 M43
ISBN: 9780838909843
Publication Date: 2009-03-01
In this study, Brian Mathews uses his vast experience to speak directly to the academic library practitioner about matching services with user needs. This book proposes new visions and ideas, challenging the traditional way of thinking and providing a framework to target users more precisely.

Cover Art
Reference and Information Services - Richard E. Bopp (Editor); Linda C. Smith (Editor)
Call Number: Z711 .R25
ISBN: 9781591583745
Publication Date: 2006-07-01
Reflecting the dramatic changes shaped by rapidly developing technologies over the past six years, this new fourth edition of Reference and Information ServiceS≪/i> takes the introduction to reference sources and services significantly beyond the content of the first three editions. In Part I, Concepts and Processes, chapters have been revised and updated to reflect new ideas and methods in the provision of reference service in an era when many users have access to the Web. In Part II, Information Sources and Their Use, discussion of each source type has been updated to encompass key resources in print and on the Web, where an increasing number of freely available sources join those purchased or licensed by libraries. A number of new authors are contributors to this new edition, bringing to their chapters their experience as teachers of reference and as practitioners in different types of libraries. Discussions of services in Part I integrate digital reference as appropriate to each topic, such as how to conduct a reference interview online using instant messaging. Boxes interspersed in the text are used to present scenarios for discussion, to highlight key concepts, or to present excerpts from important documents. Discussions of sources in Part II place more emphasis on designing effective search strategies using both print and digital resources. The chapter on selection and evaluation of sources addresses the changing nature of reference collections and how to evaluate new types of sources. Each chapter concludes with an updated list of additional readings to guide further study. A new companion website provides links to Web-accessible readings and resources as well as additional scenarios for discussion and example search strategies to supplement those presented in the text.

 

Reference Resources in Library & Information Studies

Reference sources are useful for gaining background information for assignments and research work.  They help provide basic factual information, clarify concepts and keywords, define terms and provide an overview of a topic. Examples of reference sources include dictionaries, encyclopaedias, handbooks, manuals, among others.  Make use of them at the initial stages of your assignments.

Cover Art
Harrod's Librarians' Glossary and Reference Book - Ray Prytherch
Call Number: Z1006 .H24
ISBN: 9780754640387
Publication Date: 2005-03-01
A dictionary of over nearly 10,000 terms, abbreviations, acronyms, URLs and other useful information relating to library and information management, archives, publishing, knowledge management and e-commerce.

Cover Art
International Encyclopedia of Information and Library Science - John Feather (Editor); Paul Sturges (Editor)
Call Number: Z1006.In8
ISBN: 9780415259019
Publication Date: 2003-05-09
The International Encyclopedia of Information and Library Sciencewas published to widespread acclaim in 1996, and has become the major reference work in the field. This eagerly awaited new edition has been fully revised and updated to take full account of the many and radical changes which have taken place since the Encyclopediawas originally conceived. With nearly 600 entries, written by a global team of over 150 contributors, the subject matter ranges from mobile library services provided by camel and donkey transport to search engines, portals and the World Wide Web. The new edition retains the successful structure of the first with an alphabetical organization providing the basic framework of a coherent collection of connected entries. Conceptual entries explore and explicate all the major issues, theories and activities in information and library science, such as the economics of information and information management. A wholly new entry on information systems, and enhanced entries on the information professions and the information society, are key features of this new edition. Topical entries deal with more specific subjects, such as collections management and information services for ethnic minorities. New or completely revised entries include a group of entries on information law, and a collection of entries on the Internet and the World Wide Web.

 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip