Research Guides: Dentistry: Electronic Resources

Search UGSpace

UGSpace is an open access electronic archive for the collection, preservation and distribution of digital materials.

University of Ghana Digital Collections

Advanced Search

Search All UG Catalogue & Databases

Electronic Journals

Dentistry and Oral Diseases
Directory of Open Access Journals
Free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals, covering all subjects and many languages
Free Medical Journals
Over the next years, the most important medical journals will be available online, free and in full-text. The unrestricted access to scientific knowledge - the new standard in medical publishing - will have a major impact on medical practice.
Journal of Dental Education
Journal of Medical Ethics and History of Medicine

Health/Medical/Science Search Engines

@Dental
Dental Gate
Try the Medline Search Designed for Dentistry with FAST results
EviDents
Search Engine for evidence-based dentistry
iMedisearch
Search engine of reliable medical information, Searching with confidence from over 60,000 reputable sites!
Mednar
Pubmed
PubMed comprises more than 22 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
Search blekko
Search Medica

General Electronic Resources

Biomedical Search
BioMedSearch is a biomedical search engine that contains NIH/PubMed documents, a large collection of theses, dissertations, and other proprietary publications not found anywhere else for free, making it one of the most comprehensive and powerful free biomedical searches.

BioMedSearch also provides advanced account features that allow saved searches, alerts, saving documents to portfolios, commenting on documents and portfolios, and sharing documents with other registered users. Registering for BioMedSearch is free.
Emedicine
Medical Dictionaries
In Medicine, words have very specific meanings and are carefully used.
Medical-Dictionaries.org is a lookup guide to the essential language of Medicine. Medical-Dictionaries.org is easy-to-use and comprehensive - the ideal quick reference guide for health care professionals and laypersons alike. It provides clear and instructive definitions, abbreviations, phrases and acronyms.
Medline Plus
A service of the U.S. National Library of Medicine
From the National Institutes of HealthNational Institutes of Health
Medscape
News, Perspectives & Full-text Journal Articles
Oral Health
BMC Oral Health is an open access, peer-reviewed journal that considers articles on all aspects of the prevention, diagnosis and management of disorders of the mouth, teeth and gums, as well as related molecular genetics, pathophysiology, and epidemiology.
Webmd

Free Internet Sources

Centre for Evidence-Based Dentistry
Institute of Health Services, Oxford
Dentistry On-Line
Maintained by Dr. Rob Glenning, this site provides links to other dentistry sites, patient and professional forums, as well as an online bookstore.
Health Professionals Portal - Dentists (Singapore)
A one-stop healthcare portal produced by the Ministry of Health, Singapore delivering the latest happenings in dentistry and the related healthcare developments. Provides links to Medical Acts and Statutes and safety information on drugs and health products, guidelines on medication and clinical practice etc.
HIVDent
A great resource for HIV/AIDs oral healthcare information. It has a large picture gallery, infection control, post-exposure protocols, pediatric/adolescent care, medications, funding and other resources.
MEDLINEplus health information
Compiled by the U.S. National Library of Medicine, extensive coverage of consumer health topics which include dental health, child dental health, cleft lip and palate, dentures, gum disease, head and neck cancer, mouth disorders, oral cancer, orthodontia, salivary gland disorders, tooth disorders, etc. It has also a medical encyclopaedia, a medical dictionary, information on prescription and non-prescription drugs.
National Center for Chronic Disease Prevention & Health Promotion. Oral Health Resources
Dental resources and information on infection control in dentistry, oral cancer, children's oral health, research and surveillance efforts, water fluoridation, and publications and educational materials.
P&G Dental ResourceNet
Maintained by the Procter & Gable Company, this site provides information such as patient education, resources for dental students, and even a "Library Online" with selected abstracts on dentistry from major journals, as well as full-length articles on dentistry-related topics. Access to some links requires registration.
World Health Organization - Oral Health Databases
Provides access to the Global Oral Health Database, Oral health country/area profile, and Periodontal country profiles.