Research Guides: Dentistry: Research Issues

Citation for beginners

What constitutes Plagiarism

Copy sentences from a web page, a blog, a book, or an article and insert them into your paper without citing them.
Copy large chunks of text from one or more original sources and insert it into work.
Use an image or video from any source and do not cite it properly.
Quote or paraphrase from another paper without crediting the original author.
Cite data without crediting the original source.
Propose another author’s idea as if it were your own.
Fabricating references or using incorrect references.
Submitting someone else’s presentation, program, spreadsheet, or other file with only minor alterations.

Test your knowledge: take Indaiana University's plagiarism quiz

What do you know about Fake News/Disinformation

What is Fake News?
According to the fact-checking website, Politifact, "Fake news is made-up stuff, masterfully manipulated to look like credible journalistic reports that are easily spread online to large audiences willing to believe the fictions and spread the word."

Types of Fake News

Fake/Hoax News - news that is fabricated with the intention of misleading or confusing readers
Misleading News - news stories that report quotes, images, statistics out of context, some of these stories can be old stories that are re-reported with a new misleading headline
Mimic Websites - fake news websites that mimic the look of trusted news sources in order to fool readers into thinking a story is real
Satire - fake and ironic news stories that are intended to be funny or entertaining. Examples: The Onion, The Borowitz Report
Clickbait - news that is promoted with dramatic or misleading headlines that do not reflect the content of the actual story
Alternative/Alternate Facts - A different interpretation of facts, usually derived from a misinterpretation of reports or by focusing only on a subset of the available information

https://researchguides.austincc.edu/c.php?g=612891&p=4257736

Google Scholar Search

Google Scholar is a search engine that provides a broad search of scholarly literature. It covers multiple disciplines and sources.

List of free & open access (OA) databases

African Journal Archive
Provides access to a multi-disciplinary, multi-country digital archive of Africa’s research and cultural heritage contained in its journal literature.
A retrospective digitisation project of full-text journal articles published in Africa, in the Sciences, Social Sciences and Humanities.
African Journals Online (AJOL)
A collection of peer-reviewed, African-published scholarly journals. Open Access Journals offer access to full text articles.
BioMed Central
Publishes 248 peer-reviewed open access journals.
University of Ghana is a Foundation Member, and as an author you can publish in any BioMed Central, Chemistry Central or SpringerOpen journal without any article-processing-charge being payable.
Database of African thesis and dissertations (DATAD)
Contains citations and abstracts for theses and dissertations completed in African universities.
The launching database includes abstracts of theses & dissertations from ten leading universities, including University of Ghana, covering all subject areas.
Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB)
The Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB) is a discovery service for peer reviewed books published under an open access licence. DOAB provides a searchable index to the information about these books, with links to the full texts of the publications at the publisher's website or repository.
Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)
Free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals, covering all subjects and many languages.
Directory of Open Access Resources (OpenDOAR)
The Directory of Open Access Resources (OpenDOAR) aims to provide a comprehensive and authoritative list of academic open access repositories for end-users who wish to find particular archives or who wish to break down repositories by locale, content or other measures. Users can search for repositories by the following regions: Africa, Asia, Australasia, Caribbean, Central America, Europe, North America, and South America.
HighWire Press
A content integration platform meant to support a wide range of scientific and scholarly publications covering a wide range of subjects.
Currently hosts nearly 1200 books, including monograph titles, reference works, handbooks and book series,
InTech
Full text books and journals in the Health Sciences, Life Sciences, Physical Sciences, Engineering & Technology, Social Sciences and Humanities.
A pioneer and world's largest multidisciplinary open access publisher of books covering the fields of Science, Technology and Medicine.
POPLINE
A bibliographic database of the world's reproductive health literature.
Provides access to 350,000 carefully selected publications and resources related to family planning and reproductive health
Topics in Development
A World Bank initiative

Looking for Dissertations/Thesis/Data or Statistics?

Directory of Open Access Repositories
Access to complete list of theses and dissertations around the world by country. (http://opendoar.org/countrylist.php)
Theses and Dissertations at Library of Congress
A rich list of resources to choose from.
UN Data
United Nations Statistical Resources Online. Replaces the UN Common Database on July 31, 2008.
Looking for Data & Statistics on issues?
Rich database that gives you access to data and statistics on varied issues on the Internet. Try it (http://zanran.com/q/)