Citation Management using Zotero: Home

Quickly download the Zotero Firefox Add-on:

• Open Firefox
• Click on Tools > Add-ons > Get Add-ons
• Search for the following:
  • "Zotero" and click the 'Add to Firefox' button or 'Install'
  • "Zotero WinWord Integration" and click the 'Add to Firefox' button or 'Install'
  • "Zotero Scholar Citations" and click the 'Add to Firefox' button or 'Install'
  • "Readability" and click the 'Add to Firefox' button or 'Install'
• Restart Firefox to apply the Add-ons'
• Start Collecting Sources and get organized by creating collections!

Zotero can support research projects both large and small in scale from wherever you are working. Since Zotero is web-based and uses your Firefox profile to store your data, it's easy to sync your entire Zotero library to any computer with an Internet connection and Firefox as a browser option. You can use Zotero for collecting snapshots of the web, as you might a bookmark. The nice thing about Zotero is that it's there when you need it and hidden when you don't. With Zotero, citing resources within your work and generating bibliographies are both very easy tasks. You can also easily share your resources and collaborate with other researchers by using Zotero Groups.

Since Zotero works from within your Firefox web broswer, you can use Zotero with any operating system: Windows, Mac, and/or Linux.

Advances on the Zotero Everywhere project has given way to Standalone Zotero 3.0 Beta which allows you to use Zotero with browsers other than Firefox (currently Chrome, Safari; Internet Explorer is in the works).

Zotero has also overhauled their web interface and you can now edit and collect sources through your Zotero.org webpage. This functionality works great and allows users to sync collections to the cloud and access them with any browser, any time. 

Zotero Support Documentation:

• Zotero Quick Start Guide
• Get Help with Zotero
• Zotero FAQs
• Compatible Databases
• Citation Styles
• User Forums
• Zotero training course on Moodle (login as Guest)

Zotero Tutorials:

These screencast tutorials provide a nice overview of Zotero, courtesy of zotero.org

• Tour of Zotero
• Quick Bibliographic Demo
• Getting Stuff into Zotero
• Import Resources from RefWorks into Zotero
• Retrieving Metadata from PDFs

• Full list of all Zotero screencast tutorials

Zotero [zoh-TAIR-oh] is a free, open source, easy-to-use Firefox add-on (and now works with Chrome and Safari) to help you collect, manage, cite, and share your research sources. It lives right where you do your work - in your web browser. Designed to be intuitive and unobtrusive (it looks a lot like an iTunes library), Zotero is a powerful and handy tool for any academic.

Zotero works on all three major operating systems: PC, Mac, and Linux.

• Zotero Quick Start Guide: The A, B, C's of "Z"
• Zotero Standalone Alpha

Zotero is a production of the Roy Rosenzweig Center for History and New Media at George Mason University and is funded by the United States Institute of Museum and Library Services, the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation, and the Alfred P. Sloan Foundation.

Here is a list of some common uses for Zotero.

• Automatically capture citations
• Remotely back up and sync your library
• Store PDFs, images, and web pages
• Organize with collections, tags, and related
• Access your library anywhere
• Fully searchable PDFs, notes, and citations
• Cite from within Word and OpenOffice (link)
• Take rich-text notes in any language
• Import/Export your library
• Collaborate with private or public groups (link)
• Open source, free, and updated constantly

Zotero Demo,
Watch now!

See more videos @
Screencast Library.

Zotero is comprised of three components:

• Translators - Interpret meta-data from websites, databases, videos, images, etc.

• Styles - Choose from over 20 standard citation styles and add more if necessary.

• Storage - Zotero lives in your browser using your Firefox profile; you are given 100MB of free storage.

Once you get Zotero installed on your Firefox browser, look for the Zotero icon on the lower right side of the browser.

What does "Zotero" mean?

'Zotero' is based on the Albanian word "zotëroj," which means “to acquire, to master,” in terms of learning.

Getting Stuff Into Zotero:

Getting Stuff Into Zotero from zotero on Vimeo.

Manually Adding Items to Zotero:

Manually Adding Items to Zotero from zotero on Vimeo.

Sorting Through Your Zotero Library:

Sorting through your Zotero library from zotero on Vimeo.

Download Zotero and associated plug-ins using these links:

• Firefox:
  Download Firefox to get started with Zotero

• Zotero:
  Download the Zotero add-on for Firefox

• Zotero Word Processor Integration:
  Download the word processor plug-in to cite Zotero items in your Microsoft Word and/or OpenOffice documents

• Zotero Scholar Citations:
  Download Zotero Scholar Citations to retrieve metadata for your PDFs using Google Scholar

• Portable Firefox:
  Don't have Firefox? Download Portable Firefox to use Zotero on a flashdrive

• Zotero Mobile Apps: (New!)
  iOS and Andriod developers have been hard at work creating apps so that you can get the most out of Zotero on your mobile devices!

• Zotero 3.0 (Standalone): (New!)
  For Mac, Windows, and Linux; conncectors for Chrome and Safari

• Readability:
  This free add-on makes sites Zotero-friendly if they aren't already

• Qnotero:
  This free program lives in your system tray and offers you quick and easy access your Zotero PDFs and references
   
• Zotero training course on Moodle (login as Guest)
  
  
• Follow @Zotero on Twitter
  @ZoteroSupport
  
  

Croxall, Brian. "Zotero vs. EndNote." ProfHacker 3 May 2011. Web.

Fitzpatrick, Jason. "How to Clip, Sort, and Cite the Entire Web with Zotero." LifeHacker 3 Feb 2010. Web.

Mullen, Lincoln. "Taking Better Notes in Zotero." ProfHacker. The Chronicle of Higher Education. 10 Oct. 2011. Web.

Niemann, Michael. "How to Create Bibliographies with Zotero." MacLife 7 Mar 2011. Web.

Puckett, Jason. "Superpower Your Browser with LibX and Zotero." College & Research Libraries News 71.2 (2010): 70 -97. Print.

Sample, Mark. "Taking Zotero out of the Browser with the Zotero Standalone Beta." ProfHacker 29 August 2011. Web.

Sample, Mark. "Your Zotero Library on Your Android Phone with Zandy." ProfHacker. The Chronicle of Higher Education. 4 Oct. 2011. Web.

Sample, Mark. "Zotero Roundup: Zotero 3.0 and ZotPad for the iPad." ProfHacker. The Chronicle of Higher Education. 9 Feb. 2012. Web.

Sample, Mark. "ZotFile Awesomifies Zotero Attachments." ProfHacker. The Chronicle of Higher Education. 18 Oct. 2011. Web.

Williams, George. "Teaching with Zotero Groups." ProfHacker. The Chronicle of Higher Education. 11 Aug. 2009. Web.

Puckett, Jason. Zotero: A Guide for Librarians, Researchers and Educators. Association of College and Research Libraries, 2011. Print.

available from the ALA Store in print, ebook, or as a print/ebook bundle, and at Amazon.

Zotero is only one option for managing your citations.
You may consider other programs such as EndNote and Mendeley.
Here is a helpful table for comparing citation managers.