It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Academic Databases: Free & Open Access databases/journals
There are many free and Open access (OA) research databases. Some of which are full text and others are bibliographic. OA literature is digital, online, free of charge, and free of most copyright and licensing restrictions.
This guide will list a few OA databases. It will be updated periodically.
I would be happy to receive suggestions of free/OA research databases (full text or bibliographic) from you by email to add to this list.
The Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB) is a discovery service for peer reviewed books published under an open access licence. DOAB provides a searchable index to the information about these books, with links to the full texts of the publications at the publisher's website or repository.
The Directory of Open Access Resources (OpenDOAR) aims to provide a comprehensive and authoritative list of academic open access repositories for end-users who wish to find particular archives or who wish to break down repositories by locale, content or other measures. Users can search for repositories by the following regions: Africa, Asia, Australasia, Caribbean, Central America, Europe, North America, and South America.
It is a project of Sabinet Gateway, a non-profit organisation promoting and supporting library and information services in Africa.Provides free access to research information to the international community without financial, legal or technical barriers. It is a multi-disciplinary resource. Provides access to full-text articles in the Medical Sciences, Social Sciences, Biological Sciences, Agricultural Sciences, Physical Sciences, Engineering, Arts & Education and Legal Studies .
It is a discovery service for peer reviewed books published under an Open Access license. DOAB provides a searchable index to the information about these books, with links to the full texts of the publications at the publisher's website or repository.
A nonprofit publisher and advocacy organization with a mission of leading a transformation in scientific and medical research communication. Every article published is open-access – freely available online for anyone to use.
WorldWideScience.org is a global science gateway, providing one-stop searching of over 90 national and international scientific databases and portals from more than 70 countries. Users can search and translate 400 million pages of science and technology information. Resources available via WorldWideScience include DOAJ and all the Journals Online projects (JOLs).