Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Set up by WHO together with major publishers. Enables developing countries to gain access to one of the world's largest collections of biomedical and health literature. Contains 11,400 journals, 18,500 e-books and 70 other information sources. Full text access is available after logging in. Endnote web is provided. Do your keyword search using pubmed from the content page.
Set up by FAO together with major publishers. Gives developing countries access to an outstanding digital library collection in the fields of food, agriculture, environmental science and related social sciences. Provides a collection of more than 3000 journals and other useful resources. You must log in to get full text access.
Online Access to Research in the Environment (OARE)
OARE is a result of a partnership between UNEP and leading science and technology publishers. Gives developing countries access to one of the world's largest collections of environmental science research. Provides access to over 4,150 peer reviewed titles in a wide range of disciplines.
Access to Research for Development and Innovation (ARDI)
ARDI is coordinated by the World Intellectual Property Organisation (WIPO) and its partners in the publishing industry. The aim is to increase the availability of scientific and technical information in developing countries. Access is provided to nearly 10,00 journals, books and reference works. It is a must to log in to gain full text access to this rich resource.
How to access HINARI
Hinari Dos and Don'ts
Describes what users are allowed as they use HINARI and the three other Research4life databases.
Hinari may be accessed by first signing up for off-campus access.
Subsequently you will use your off-campus username and password to access Hinari which you will find among an alphabetical list of databases.
Research4Life is the collective name for four public private partnerships (HINARI, AGORA, OARE, ARDI) which seek to help achieve the UN's Millenium Development Goals by providing the developing world with access to critical scientific research, empowering universities, colleges, research institutes and government ministeries as well as non-governmental agencies, extension centers and hospitals among others.
Access to content in these four databases is given to public funded non profit institutions in low and middle income countries after registering.
University of Ghana has access to these databases. Access is by username and password. Please get the username and password from your subject librarian.You must log in with the username and password to get access to fulltext and other rich resources like Endnote Web, the bibliographic management tool from Thomson Reuters. There are Dos and Don'ts that govern the use of these resources which all users must adhere to. You will find this information in the HINARI usage policy.