Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Foundations of Sport and Exercise Psychology 6th Edition with Web Study Guide by
Call Number: GV706.4 W43
Publication Date: 2014-11-11
As the leading text in sport and exercise psychology, Foundations of Sport and Exercise Psychology, Sixth Edition With Web Study Guide, provides a thorough introduction to key concepts in the field. This text offers both students and new practitioners a comprehensive view of sport and exercise psychology, drawing connections between research and practice and capturing the excitement of the world of sport and exercise. The internationally respected authors have incorporated feedback from teachers and students to create a text that builds on previous editions, making the material accessible to readers. In-depth learning aids have been refreshed, including chapter objectives and summaries, sidebars, key terms, key points, anecdotes, and discussion questions to help students think more critically about applying the material. Other updates to the sixth edition include the following: - More than 40 new video clips integrated into the web study guide to better demonstrate the core concepts addressed in the book - Additional emphasis on hot topics, including mindfulness, cultural diversity, ethics and professional issues, and transitions in sport - New ancillaries to help instructors teach their courses, including an image bank, chapter quizzes, and more than 122 instructor videos - Updated references, including more contemporary sources The text provides students with a unique learning experience--taking them on a journey through the origins and goals, key concepts, research development, and career options available in the field--in seven parts that may be studied in any sequence. Following an introduction to the field, the text then shifts focus to personal factors that affect performance and psychological development in sport, physical education, and exercise settings. Situational factors that influence behavior, group interaction and processes, and the use of psychological techniques to help people perform more effectively are covered, as well as the roles psychological factors play in health and exercise. The final section deals with topics of psychological development and well-being that are important to both society and sport and exercise psychology, including children's psychological development through sport participation, aggression in sport, and moral development and good sporting behavior in sport and physical activity contexts. The updated web study guide serves as an important learning tool to support the educational journey. With more than 100 engaging activities, it works directly with the text in guiding students to complete the related activities for each chapter and apply knowledge gained from the text. The study guide activities require students to do the following: - Use actual sport and exercise psychology instruments to assess their skills. - Determine how to respond to real-life scenarios (with short answers or essays). - Review research studies and experiments. - Search the Internet for relevant information. - Apply and test their understanding of principles and concepts of sport and exercise psychology. Many of the study guide activities offer compelling audio and video clips that provide an interactive look at how sport psychology consultants communicate with athletes and coaches to improve athletic experiences. These clips feature esteemed experts from the field discussing course concepts that they have studied and refined during their professional careers. To further emphasize practical application, portfolio activities can be integrated through a full semester, turning course units into a unified whole that builds upon itself for greater understanding of the field. To aid instructors, instructor ancillaries have been updated and expanded. The instructor guide, test package, and presentation package are now supplemented with an image bank, gradable chapter quizzes, and in
Personality Psychology by
Call Number: BF698 .L32
Publication Date: 2006-11-29
Larsen and Buss's Personality Psychology is based on a framework of six important domains of knowledge about personality functioning. These six domains are the dispositional domain (traits, trait taxonomies, and personality dispositions over time), the biological domain (physiology, genetics, evolution), the intrapsychic domain (psychodynamics, motives), the cognitive/experiential domain (cognition, emotion, and the self), the social and cultural domain (social interaction, gender, and culture), and the adjustment domain (stress, coping, health, and personality disorders). This book is based on the notion that these domains of knowledge represent the organizing structure of contemporary personality psychology.
Introduction to Psychology by
Call Number: BF121 .K12
Publication Date: 2004-07-19
Jim Kalat's best-selling INTRODUCTION TO PSYCHOLOGY takes a critical thinking approach to the major theories and concerns of psychology. By prompting students to ask themselves questions like How was this conclusion reached? and Does the evidence really support it?, Kalat encourages the use of scientific principles. He walks students through the hypothesis-method-results-interpretation steps that psychologists use when attempting to answer questions about human intellect, emotion, and behavior. Kalat's approach is proven to help students separate what merely sounds plausible from what is scientifically provable-both in the psychology classroom and beyond it. With his humorous writing style and hands-on Try It Yourself exercises, Kalat puts students at ease and gets them involved with even with the most intimidating concepts. Within each chapter, he chunks the material into a modular format so that students can master one idea at a time, building confidence as they go. This format makes it convenient for instructors to assign material to match the way they teach the course. Kalat's supplements package includes substantial resources for professors and students alike. Students receive a free CD-ROM with the text, free access to the Book Companion Web Site (featureing a personalized Self-Study Assessment program--see below), free access to InfoTrac College Edition, and free access to vMentor online tutoring. Instructors receive an Instructor's Resource Manual (now in a three-ring binder format), Test Bank with item analysis, and much more. See below for details.
Atkinson and Hilgard's Introduction to Psychology by
Call Number: BF121 .At5
Publication Date: 2002-12-24
This smart and thorough text offers a fresh and up-to-date-view of the dynamic nature of contemporary psychology. The authors build a strong foundation in the fundamentals of psychology while featuring the most innovative and groundbreaking research of our day. The authors are active researchers whose work has charted new territory in the psychology landscape. Organized around a discussion of the significant achievements of psychological research, this compelling text excites students as they discover psychology from the perspective of pioneering researcher. Also featured are debates by leading authorities over hotly contested issues in contemporary psychology. With plenty of supportive pedagogy, experiments are explained in engaging detail, and the charts and figures add to an understanding of the results. This text offers an integrated biological orientation, a trend that is changing the way psychological topics are viewed, exemplified by the coverage of bio-evolutionary research. While maintaining this orientation, the pedagogical structure of the new edition has been improved in response to reviewer feedback. Additions include a more robust collection of Core Concepts (Key Terms) throughout all chapters, in-text definitions of Core Concepts, interim review summaries at the end of every major section, critical thinking questions which test students' understanding of the content, and Concept Review Tables which consolidate important subjects into one table. Other additions include engaging chapter opening paragraphs and thorough coverage of gender and cross-cultural differences.
The Interpersonal Communication Book by
Call Number: BF637 .D49
Publication Date: 2005-12-01
This text provides a highly interactive presentation of the theory, research, and skills of interpersonal communication, with strong, integrated discussions of diversity, ethics, workplace issues, and technology. Recognized for its ability to help students understand the crucial connection between theory and practice, this eleventh edition presents a comprehensive view of the theory and research in interpersonal communication and, at the same time, guides students to improve a wide range of interpersonal skills and to apply these to personal, social, and workplace relationships. Contextually-placed web icons in the text's margins direct students to the book's Companion Website where they engage in interactive exercises or simulations that help them gain a better understanding of concepts presented in the text. Superior coverage of cultural diversity, ethics, interpersonal communication in the workplace, and the workings and effects of technology make The Interpersonal Communication Book the best choice for preparing students to communicate successfully in today's world.
Essentials of Psychology by
Call Number: BF121 .N41
Publication Date: 2007-12-14
The new edition of this brief introductory text retains the hallmark features that have made its parent text unique in the market, while offering a more manageable, student-friendly format. The text's organization breaks down each chapter into smaller instructional units organized around a set of key concepts in a particular area of study. The text also features Nevid's comprehensive learning system derived from research on memory, learning, and textbook pedagogy. This learning model incorporates what the author calls the "Four Es of Effective Learning"--Engaging Student Interest, Encoding Information, Elaborating Meaning, and Evaluating Progress. Nevid's Essentials of Psychology: Concepts and Applications, 2/e, provides a broad view of psychology that includes the history, methods of research, major theories, and research findings of the discipline as well as applications of the knowledge gained from contemporary research to the problems and challenges we face in today's world. Major content revisions cover many of the 1,000-plus new citations of research findings and theoretical developments that have appeared in the scientific literature in the past three years. In addition the text offers the latest research findings in the areas of neuroscience, gender, and positive psychology.
Cognitive Psychology and Its Implications by
Call Number: BF311 .An2
Publication Date: 1999-11-17
"Anderson's acclaimed text offers systematic, accessible presentation of the higher mental processes. Addressing both the information processing and the cognitive neuroscience approaches to the field (with more emphasis on information processing), the book clearly demonstrates knowledge representation as the central issue in cognitive psychology."
Basic Psychology by
Call Number: BF121 .G48
Publication Date: 1999-08-17
This study guide accompanies a textbook which has been updated in order to reflect recent changes in the field. It contains two new chapters devoted to social psychology, including social interaction, cognition and emotion. Greater emphasis is placed on the neurochemical bases of nervous impulses.
Handbook of Research Methods in Social and Personality Psychology by
Call Number: HM1019 .H19
Publication Date: 2014-02-24
This indispensable sourcebook covers conceptual and practical issues in research design in the field of social and personality psychology. Key experts address specific methods and areas of research, contributing to a comprehensive overview of contemporary practice. This updated and expanded second edition offers current commentary on social and personality psychology, reflecting the rapid development of this dynamic area of research over the past decade. With the help of this up-to-date text, both seasoned and beginning social psychologists will be able to explore the various tools and methods available to them in their research as they craft experiments and imagine new methodological possibilities.
Social Psychology by
Call Number: HM1033 .Ar6
Publication Date: 2001-06-21
Highly rated by users, this complete and integrative study of social psychology employs a real-world story-telling approach to convey the science of the field in a fascinating, memorable, and entertaining manner, helping readers understand the whole context of the field--how theories inspire research, why research is performed as it is, how further research triggers new avenues of study--and how all of this impacts their everyday lives. Brings material to life with real-life vignettes and "mini" stories within every chapter that include detailed descriptions of both classic and modern research (complete with hundreds of current references) plus example of a real-life phenomenon. Offers thorough chapters on methodology, social cognition, social perception, self-knowledge, self-justification, attitudes and attitude change, conformity, group processes, interpersonal attraction, prosocial behavior, aggression, and prejudice--with concluding sections on social psychology and heath, the environment,and the law. Includes "Try It!" exercises to promote critical thinking and help readers apply concepts to their everyday lives, and offers an interactive website for additional support and enrichment. For psychologists or those interested in an engagingly written, scientifically-oriented introduction to social psychology.